We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food - shame it's gone! :(”
Review of The Spice Guru - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Spice Guru
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Chalgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Excellent food - shame it's gone! :(”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The Spice Guru was an excellent restaurant in the heart of Watlington, and served superb food. Despite this, due to increased costs and lack of weekday trade, it has now closed down. If you went there before it closed, you know how good it was. If you didn't - sorry, you've missed out!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank soulsease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    1
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food, weird service!”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My Godmother had been raving about the 'other' indian in Watlington so we set off only to find it had shut down. We ended up here. I'm from the North of England and I must admit I found the prices a bit daunting. Having said that the food was good. Fresh ingredients and plenty of it. The service was strange. If anything they were over attentive, moving dishes away too soon, if you put a spoon down someone tried to take the dish away... it was like fighting to keep your food (anyone who knows me knows that trying to take my food is a brave move). The staff were also strangely unsmiling. Not rude, not unpleasant just a bit strange. However the food was good. I'm used to paying around £7 or 8 quid for a main course around Manchester, these prices were more on the £10 - 12 side, but that might be normal for round Oxfordshire. It was quite busy for a Tuesday night so that's a good sign. I would go again, I just wish they'd lighten up and smile a bit more! Maybe the over attentive service was a result of other reviewers saying the service was bad!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tillagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Yes the service can be a bit slapdash but I challengeyou to get better 2Indian" food this side of Birmingham. Eat in or take away we have never been disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tiller115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food, shocking service.”
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Delivery service is shocking, always something wrong. Today he naan was forgotten, they offered to send a new one in 40 minutes...funnily enough I don't want to wait while the rest if my dinner goes cold. The food is good but not good enough...we give up!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JessicaAnnabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Take Away Test”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We recently moved in to the area and were advised that this restaruant was worth a try. We ordered the Chicken Tikka Masala as we use this dish to gauge how good the restaurant is, if you get this wrong we would not try anything else on the menu. We also gave the spicy potatoes a try in the absense of Sag Aloo

This was hands down the worst curry we ever had the misfortune of eating. The Chichen Tikka Masala strangely enough had coconut in the sauce??? Only five pieces of chicken in each of the large dishes. As for the potatoes they were totally tasteless, with no hint of any spice being used.

If this is the best thay can do, we will be making our own from now on! My advise give this place a wide berth.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Spice Guru also viewed

Britwell Salome, Watlington
Watlington, Oxfordshire
 
Watlington, Oxfordshire
Watlington, Oxfordshire
 
Watlington, Oxfordshire
Watlington, Oxfordshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing