We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Welcoming, Great Hospitality, A lovely Place to Stay”
Review of The Fat Fox Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Fat Fox Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Watlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Warm Welcoming, Great Hospitality, A lovely Place to Stay”
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We ( family of 5) stayed here overnight on 28th May. When we arrivd we parked outside the accommodation area, which I believe is a converted barn, at the back to the pub. On enetring the pub, we were greetd by hapy smiling staff. We checked in and were shown to our room. The rom was clean and tidy, with all the usual tea and coffee making facilities with an added bonus of Twix bars for the children. Considering that the accommodation is situated right next to the car parking area, there was very little noise.
The owners were very accommodating in providing an early breakfast on the Sunday Morning (well early for us). The breaksfast was fantastic, the owners managed to accommodate the often awkward tastes of the children.

Overall a great place to stay. The new owners clearly care about the place and have clearly banished the experiences that guests have had under previous ownership.

From the moment f booking they were friendly and kept in touch, even offering th eopportunity tpo change to a self contained flat shold the refurbishments be completed by the time of our stay. Unfortunately they weren't completed, but the room we had booked was perfect for our needs. We look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samshell65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    64
    16
    7
    2
See reviews for
41
63
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Stayed at the Fox and Hounds for one night as a we were walking the Ridgeway for charity. 5 Yummy Mummy's all greeted with warm smiles and a welcoming drink after our 26mile walk. Accomadation was spotless with tea, coffee, mineral water, biscuits,a Kit Kat ! and lovely toiletries. Main meals in the pub were tasty and fresh and the puddings were sent from heaven !! We all ordered sandwiches for the morning and were treated to crisp's, fruit, drink and chocolate bar !
Would recommend this to anyone looking for a great B&B or just a place to stop for a good honest meal.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2010

We stayed in an outbuilding which housed a number of bedrooms. The sound insulation was non-existent and my first night was sleepless because the family in the room above me had a poorly baby who coughed and cried the whole night through. The second night was sleepless because of a couple who came in late, drunk and amorous.

The bed linen was horrible. Lumpy old pillows and a polyeser duvet.

Bathroom designed so that there was no way of turning on the shower (which took 2 hands) without actually standing under it and getting doused with freezing water. The radiator was red hot and situated so close to the lavatory that there was a risk of serious burns with every visit.

Breakfast very mediocre and some altercation as to the room rate when I came to pay the bill.

All in all, a pretty unpleasant experience.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

The Fox & Hounds is the sort of place that's fine if you're passing through for one night on the way to somewhere else. We had a large room with a comfortable bed, the staff where friendly and helpful and everything was generally in order. I wouldn't call it a destination hotel and it doesn't have that special something, but it's absolutely fine for Ridgeway walkers.

The main bad point is that my partner is over 6ft tall and couldn't stand up properly under the shower. There is a bath though, which is always a good thing after a long day of walking.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UkHolidaygirl2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2010

We had a lovely stay and where made very welcome. The Children loved the Garden at the back with it's only bouncy castle and play area. We enjoyed a quite bottle of wine watching the red kites in the sky. Great value, service, food and very easy from the motorway

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jollyjellyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kabul, Afghanistan
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed in the Fox and Hounds while walking the Ridgeway Path.

The rooms are in a separate building about 100 metres behind the pub. We arrived to check in before the pub had actually opened, but the landlord appeared from the back door and showed us to our room. The rooms being separate from the pub is good for peace and quiet, although some slight noise does carry from other guests' rooms.

The bedroom was large and the bed comfortable. It was a chilly, clear day outside and the room was well heated by both a portable electric fire and gas central heating. The bathroom had a good shower, over a decent-sized bath. The hot water was plentiful.

We had a nice pint in the bar, but didn't eat there (although the pizzas sounded good). The inn is close to a good curry restaurant, the co-op (where we bought sandwiches for the next day of our walk) and other pubs.

At £48 per night, it is perfect for walkers.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Flying_Scotsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2009

We booked this hotel a quiet getaway for one night. When we arrived I was told by a member of the bar staff that we didn't have a room there and we had to go down the road to a nearby village where a room was booked at another hotel. We were told that a discount had been arranged and we would be looked after. At the next hotel they had no knowledge of us arriving and we were given a room the size of a small bathroom to stay in. On complaining we were moved and given a slightly bigger room. This was not acceptable. The hotel was in a town on a main road and not what we had wanted. We went home as we were very disappointed. I would not recommend this place at all.

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watlington
3.0 mi away
Mercure Thame Lambert Hotel
4.9 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nettlebed
606 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Kings Hotel
The Kings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stokenchurch
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorchester-on-Thames
698 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Cherry Tree Inn
The Cherry Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Row
260 reviews
6.2 mi away
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fat Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fat Fox Inn

Property: The Fat Fox Inn
Address: 13 Shirburn Street, Watlington OX49 5BU, England (Formerly The Fox and Hounds Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Watlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Watlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fat Fox Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fat Fox Inn, formerly the Fox and Hounds, is a country pub with dining and accommodation in the village of Watlington on the northern edge of the Chilterns in Oxfordshire. The pub is easily accessed from the M40 at Lewknor. Watlington is only 15 miles from the heart of the City of Oxford and 35 minutes from Blenheim Palace and the Oxfordshire Cotswolds, as well as the Thameside town of Henley on Thames, home of the Royal Regatta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Fat Fox Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fat Fox Hotel Watlington
The Fat Fox Inn Watlington, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing