We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Cozy Little B&B in the English Countryside”
Review of The Fat Fox Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Fat Fox Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Watlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Whitby, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Cozy Little B&B in the English Countryside”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My wife and I recently took the kids on a three week trip to Rome and various places throughout the UK. After leaving Rome, our first stop in the UK was Oxford. Our Travel Agent recommended staying at The Fat Fox Inn. Her Reco was spot on!

The Fat Fox Inn is a brilliant little place nestled in the Oxfordshire countryside about 20 minutes outside of Oxford. We stayed here for two nights and it was lovely! The Room we stayed in was separate from the Inn. It might have been part of an older barn at some point in the past but has now been tastefully remodelled into cozy little cabins. Upon entering the room, we were greeted with a tasteful and warm decor that felt instantly relaxing and cozy. The room was impeccably clean and the separate bathroom had great mod cons and a very relaxing shower.

The Fat Fox Inn resides in the town of Watlington, about 20 minutes south of Oxford. The town itself lends its own beautiful scenery and sense solidarity in the English countryside. Combined with the ambience of The Fat Fox Inn, the town and Inn connect to create a truly memorable occasion.

We had a proper English Breakfast the first morning at the Inn. We were greeted by John who is the owner and proprietor of The Fat Fox Inn. The meal itself was truly delicious and the conversations we had with John added to our overall enjoyment. It turns out that John was originally born in Canada and it was lovely to meet someone from back home whilst away in another country.

After our two nights at The Fat Fox Inn were over we packed up and moved on to our next destination in the UK. Turns out that my son forgot two of his jackets in the room. We hadn't even realized this yet when John reached out to us via email to inform us. He arranged to have the jackets couriered to one of our upcoming locations that we'd be staying at so that we'd have the jackets for the rest of our vacation... and he didn't even charge us for the courier costs!

Overall, our experience at The Fat Fox Inn was truly exceptional! A warm and cozy little environment nestled in the English Countryside. We will definitely be returning to stay for future vacations abroad and would definitely recommend to anyone who wants to experience proper English Charm!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a Cappuccino with the English Breakfast.. delicious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    64
    16
    7
    2
See reviews for
41
63
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Meriden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Despite us paying in advance, upon our arrival the friendly and helpful manager/owner informed us that we would be getting a refund (actually £30) because their prices had been recently reduced... an honest thing to do, I reckon, as we had already accepted the price when making the booking! The price correction was probably overdue as it was originally a little expensive, but there is little other choice in Watlington (if any).

We had 2 rooms, a twin and a double. The double was fine, but the twin was very disappointing... paint in poor condition, bathroom shelf hanging half off, shower door feeling like it was about to fall off, directly off the noisy patio area and - worst of all - a pungent smell similar to that of a tomcat! But the rooms were clean and otherwise comfortable.

The bar is very nice, the beer good and the evening meal was excellent. Contrary to previous reviews, our cooked breakfasts were served promptly and were pretty much perfect!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Gozzers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

brilliant stay will be back really enjoyable comfy bed and lovely interior and service. Will recommend to my friends hope to see you soon. What a lovely atmosphere thoroughly cccccenjoyed the shower. Feel relaxed and comfortable after the visit

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenpaxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Had a delicious meal on a Saturday evening in the bar, with some different offerings from the usual bistro type food on the menu. Staff were friendly, helpful and attentive and the setting was relaxed and informal. Food delicious and not overly expensive.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bushbaby050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

I was all set to give this place a five star review as I woke up, slightly hungover, in my comfy bed on Sunday morning. Then I went down to breakfast.

The inn is very pretty, with a great bar/restaurant area and the rooms are nicely done. We had a twin room in the annexe and it was great - a kit kat and hot chocolate in the room, nice toiletries, clean and comfy duvets.

Dinner was great, we were well looked after by the staff. The scotch egg was delicious if somewhat large, and steak and chips just what was needed before a hen do in Oxford.

However, on going down to breakfast the next morning (9.15) we were greeted by a very pleasant if somewhat inefficient young waiter. He took our drinks orders piecemeal (how hard is it to bring out pots of tea and coffee, and some juice and water?). After a lot of faffing around with this we eventually ordered food. It shouldn't have been complicated. We waited. And waited. And waited. And then asked for interim toast. And waited some more. Food eventually appeared an hour and a quarter later. Unfortunately it was the wrong order. So the we waited some more. Eventually the right food came out although it was a slow process and somewhat burnt in parts. They did apologise for the catastrophe and refunded us our breakfast cost.

If they could get the service sorted then this place would definitely get a higher score.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank K8NSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Annes-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Visiting family we had a two night stay ate in the dining room eclectic mix of furniture cosy fire , food to die for would recommend any day , staff friendly and helpful rooms bright clean and cosy

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tagbacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My Wifes kids live in Chinnor so we visit the area 4 or 5 times a year and have stayed at most places around the area Thame, Henton, Prices Risbrough,Aston Rowant,Stokenchurch our favorite is the Crown @ Radnage but as this visit was short notice and on a Sat night it was full we had never tried the Fat Fox before first impressions of the Fat Fox are great really nice rustic pub with great rooms in a converted barn we did have a problem with a Family of Children who were allowed to run riot banging and shouting running up and down stairs while we were trying to get some sleep i admittedly it was in the afternoon so we didnt complain as this is not the fault of the Pub the parents were in the pub and left the kids to it nice of them!

We had dinner in the restaraunt this is where the Fox lets itself down I found the food to be a tad pretentious for what is lets face it a Pub with rooms also the portion sizes left a lot to be desired the service was haphazard at best in mitigation they did have a large party of 14 in so maybe I am being harsh but every guest deserves the same treatment in my opinion the staff were very polite and kept aplogising I didnt pay for dinner so have no idea what the cost was!

Breakfast we asked for it to be served at 8.30 as we had a long journey back to Manchester to be met with a locked door this was opened very quickly with an apologly again and breakfast was not set up ie no milk for cereals this again was rectified very quicky breakfast when it came was excellent I must say!

To sum up great rooms no fantastic rooms with really comfortable beds this place could be 5 stars if it wasnt for a couple of niggles would I stay here again maybe?

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watlington
3.0 mi away
Mercure Thame Lambert Hotel
4.9 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nettlebed
605 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Kings Hotel
The Kings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stokenchurch
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorchester-on-Thames
696 reviews
6.2 mi away
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
13.8 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wendover
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fat Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fat Fox Inn

Property: The Fat Fox Inn
Address: 13 Shirburn Street, Watlington OX49 5BU, England (Formerly The Fox and Hounds Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Watlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Watlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fat Fox Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fat Fox Inn, formerly the Fox and Hounds, is a country pub with dining and accommodation in the village of Watlington on the northern edge of the Chilterns in Oxfordshire. The pub is easily accessed from the M40 at Lewknor. Watlington is only 15 miles from the heart of the City of Oxford and 35 minutes from Blenheim Palace and the Oxfordshire Cotswolds, as well as the Thameside town of Henley on Thames, home of the Royal Regatta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Fat Fox Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fat Fox Hotel Watlington
The Fat Fox Inn Watlington, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing