We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great surprise in rural Oxfordshire”
Review of The Fat Fox Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Fat Fox Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Watlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

From the welcome from the young staff to my departure, the friendliness of the staff was wonderful. Room clean with all amenities, food excellent and wine list to behold. Congratulations, I will be back !

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed at the inn whilst walking the Ridgeway which is conveniently situated half a mile from the hotel. The welcome was very friendly and our room was spacious and clean. We like the trend towards purpose built accomodation outside the main building as it means that both bedroom and bathroom are larger than if both rooms had to be squeezed into an existing bedroom in the inn itself. Unlike one of your reviewers we had an excellent steak served as requested with hardly any waste. Our breakfast too was excellent and we left feeling well able to face the next 16 miles! John was a marvellous host and we felt like a friend rather than a customer. All in all a lovely country inn with friendly staff, great food and spacious clean accomodation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnDaniels51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Great, quirky b&b. A nice change from the usual Travel Lodge or Premier Inn to stop somewhere with character. Great service from checking in to ordering food to checking out. Food in the bar was great and a decent selection of wines and beers.
So close to the M40 you would be daft looking anywhere else!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hcirBirminghamUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My wife and I recently took the kids on a three week trip to Rome and various places throughout the UK. After leaving Rome, our first stop in the UK was Oxford. Our Travel Agent recommended staying at The Fat Fox Inn. Her Reco was spot on!

The Fat Fox Inn is a brilliant little place nestled in the Oxfordshire countryside about 20 minutes outside of Oxford. We stayed here for two nights and it was lovely! The Room we stayed in was separate from the Inn. It might have been part of an older barn at some point in the past but has now been tastefully remodelled into cozy little cabins. Upon entering the room, we were greeted with a tasteful and warm decor that felt instantly relaxing and cozy. The room was impeccably clean and the separate bathroom had great mod cons and a very relaxing shower.

The Fat Fox Inn resides in the town of Watlington, about 20 minutes south of Oxford. The town itself lends its own beautiful scenery and sense solidarity in the English countryside. Combined with the ambience of The Fat Fox Inn, the town and Inn connect to create a truly memorable occasion.

We had a proper English Breakfast the first morning at the Inn. We were greeted by John who is the owner and proprietor of The Fat Fox Inn. The meal itself was truly delicious and the conversations we had with John added to our overall enjoyment. It turns out that John was originally born in Canada and it was lovely to meet someone from back home whilst away in another country.

After our two nights at The Fat Fox Inn were over we packed up and moved on to our next destination in the UK. Turns out that my son forgot two of his jackets in the room. We hadn't even realized this yet when John reached out to us via email to inform us. He arranged to have the jackets couriered to one of our upcoming locations that we'd be staying at so that we'd have the jackets for the rest of our vacation... and he didn't even charge us for the courier costs!

Overall, our experience at The Fat Fox Inn was truly exceptional! A warm and cozy little environment nestled in the English Countryside. We will definitely be returning to stay for future vacations abroad and would definitely recommend to anyone who wants to experience proper English Charm!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a Cappuccino with the English Breakfast.. delicious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Despite us paying in advance, upon our arrival the friendly and helpful manager/owner informed us that we would be getting a refund (actually £30) because their prices had been recently reduced... an honest thing to do, I reckon, as we had already accepted the price when making the booking! The price correction was probably overdue as it was originally a little expensive, but there is little other choice in Watlington (if any).

We had 2 rooms, a twin and a double. The double was fine, but the twin was very disappointing... paint in poor condition, bathroom shelf hanging half off, shower door feeling like it was about to fall off, directly off the noisy patio area and - worst of all - a pungent smell similar to that of a tomcat! But the rooms were clean and otherwise comfortable.

The bar is very nice, the beer good and the evening meal was excellent. Contrary to previous reviews, our cooked breakfasts were served promptly and were pretty much perfect!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Gozzers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

brilliant stay will be back really enjoyable comfy bed and lovely interior and service. Will recommend to my friends hope to see you soon. What a lovely atmosphere thoroughly cccccenjoyed the shower. Feel relaxed and comfortable after the visit

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenpaxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Had a delicious meal on a Saturday evening in the bar, with some different offerings from the usual bistro type food on the menu. Staff were friendly, helpful and attentive and the setting was relaxed and informal. Food delicious and not overly expensive.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bushbaby050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watlington
3 mi away
Mercure Thame Lambert Hotel
4.9 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nettlebed
641 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Cherry Tree Inn
The Cherry Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Row
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fat Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fat Fox Inn

Address: 13 Shirburn Street, Watlington OX49 5BU, England (Formerly The Fox and Hounds Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Watlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Watlington
Price Range: £80 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fat Fox Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fat Fox Inn, formerly the Fox and Hounds, is a country pub with dining and accommodation in the village of Watlington on the northern edge of the Chilterns in Oxfordshire. The pub is easily accessed from the M40 at Lewknor. Watlington is only 15 miles from the heart of the City of Oxford and 35 minutes from Blenheim Palace and the Oxfordshire Cotswolds, as well as the Thameside town of Henley on Thames, home of the Royal Regatta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your The Fat Fox Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fat Fox Hotel Watlington
The Fat Fox Inn Watlington, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing