We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lunch Stop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Killingworth Castle Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Four of us were on a 2 day cycling tour around the Cotswolds and the Killingworth Castle was a convenient lunch stop. We locked our bikes to the metal fence at the side of the pub - hardly any pubs have any suitable secure place for bikes.

It was a Thursday lunch time and the pub was reasonably busy which was a good sign.

The choice of local beers was great. I had a pint of Abingdon Bridge bitter which was delicious. We had sandwiches for lunch and they were delicious and ample.

Great atmosphere and very friendly staff behind the bar.

Great pub.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank BrianTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

We used to enjoy the Killie years back for the excellent beer, friendly company, good food and top class landlord (and his dogs). Music sessions were varied and enjoyable with everyone in the pub joining in. It was so sad to see this wonderful pub close and we are so grateful to the new owners for spotting the potential and recreating a little gem in Wooton. Good beer, excellent food and friendly efficient service on our recent return visit which will be the first of many. Well done!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ianphot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Thirteen from our Northamptonshire Ramblers group met at the Killingworth Castle on a Thursday morning. We walked to Blenheim and back. Lovely weather, superb walk and a warm welcome back at the Inn for chilled drinks and well presented, delicious tasting lunch. I would like to visit again for lunch or dinner: worth the hour's drive!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Thea99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We drove from London to stay with a friend overnight in the Cotswolds and had reached the region just after lunchtime. The game was on to find an atmosphere gastro pub for a late lunch. We drove along Glympton Road - once the main road to Worcester from London, now just a country lane, really - and saw this stone pile, with quite a few cars parked outside, which is usually a very good indication for a Monday afternoon. We went in to a long room with beams, stone floors and a fireplace with about five tables of diners and ordered the local sausage with bubble and squeak and the biggest piece of fish I've ever seen for a fish and chips dish. It was delicious! I was intrigued to see how old it was and the pub dated back to 1676. Fantastic service and great atmosphere, complete with farmers in traditional dress (seriously, they seemed to have stepped out of the 19th century, complete with mutton chop beards). Would definitely return again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank visitrequisites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I Have visited a number of times since it reopened in December and it has been great each time. The food is excellent, there is a good menu with a varied choice, and excellent quality. The service was prompt and staff are friendly.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank TerryOX20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Great locally sourced food from an ever changing menu. Friendly staff and an open fire. I believe the accommodation and beer garden will be complete in summer 2013. Definitely worth a visit if you are in the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Haven't been into this pub for at least 2 years despite the fact that its 1/2 a mile from where we live - it was just so awful. At last its been taken over by professional people so we thought we'd check it out and see if we finally have a pub worth going in.

What a difference - we've just had supper and its was fab! I had a smoked duck starter that was to die for and hubby's beef main course was excellent. The service was brilliant, very friendly and attentive but not so 'in your face' that it becomes a pain. The pub was really busy and there was a great atmosphere

If you've been in here prior to December 2012 and are wary of going again then don't worry - its a totally different place. And if you've never been before then all I can say is - give it a go, its well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wootton by Woodstock
2.3 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,671 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel and Restaurant
2.3 mi away
Feathers Hotel
Feathers Hotel
#2 of 6 in Woodstock
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Dashwood Hotel
The Dashwood Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirtlington
233 reviews
5.7 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,365 reviews
0.9 mi away
Duke of Marlborough
Duke of Marlborough
#1 of 13 in Woodstock
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killingworth Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killingworth Castle Inn

Address: Glympton Road, Wootton by Woodstock, Woodstock OX20 1EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Woodstock > Wootton by Woodstock
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wootton by Woodstock
Price Range: £108 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Killingworth Castle Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Killingworth Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killingworth Castle Inn Wootton By Woodstock, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing