We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely restaurant”

The Pickled Ploughman Pub
Reserve with OpenTable
The Pickled Ploughman Pub is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Adderbury
Price range: US$9 - US$26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: ABOUT US For fabulous food, friendly service and quality ales, The Pickled Ploughman is a great choice. We have a firm focus on fresh local ingredients. Whatever you want, whatever the season, The Pickled Ploughman is sure to have something on the menu to whet your appetite. For more private dining our private dining room is available and seats up to 20 diners or more for a more casual reception celebration, it's perfect for birthdays, anniversaries or just for getting your friends together. Our fabulous bar is the perfect place to meet family and friends for a pre-dinner drink or morning coffee and afternoon tea. With a welcoming log fire for the chilly days, you may find it hard to leave. What is great local food without a friendly local service? We're committed to delivering service that is a welcoming and efficient. Our staff wants you to enjoy your meal and aim to be as attentive as they can be, so you can be assured you will be greeted with a smile and receive the best local service in an easy, relaxed atmosphere. Offers Reduced drinks prices from3-6 Monday to Friday Friday Beer Sale £1.00 Off all ales Pre Fixe menu 12-6 Monday to Thursday Sunday Lunch choice of Roasts from £10.00 Per head 2 FOR 1 On all main courses from the 5th January 2 FOR1 Pizza from 3-6 Monday to Thursday Childrens menu Gluten Free Menu
Banbury
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

A family visit for my daughters birthday. The specials board had a very good selection. The main menu also has a good selection. The staff were extremely welcoming, friendly and helpful.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PamLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    93
    56
    49
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place to meet for great Food & Atmosphere!”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Met with a friend for lunch not having been here before. The Pub is well presented with welcoming staff a great choice of food at great prices. Was a very pleasant experience and sure to be back again. The "Eton Mess" was delightful!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S1a3C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pickled Ploughman”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Have been here on several occasions. The second time was in March to treat our daughter in law for a birthday lunch. We had our 8 week old grandson along and he was made most welcome . The staff as lovely without being in your face. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Grub”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

How nice to find a superb local history. Excellent food and caring staff. Good value for money and lovely decor. Been twice recently. Once for lunch with "The Girls" and then the following week for our daughter in laws birthday. We took with us our 8 week old grandson and he was made most welcome. This could be our new favourite eatery! Well done to all the staff. Great team.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“What has changed?”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We visited last summer and had a delightful time due to the amazing menu and very friendly waitresses. I don't often post negative reviews but I want to know whether the owners have changed because I didn't recognise anyone, we had become friendly with the bar man Adrian and many of the others and now they are no where to be seen. On this visit the staff were average and showed us to a table with minimal customer skills. Our order was wrong the first time around and in all fairness the chefs did quickly deal with this concern. The menu also didn't seem to have such a good choice as it was slightly more fancy. In general, we feel that the pub has gone down hill from last summer and us and our friends that visited are unlikely to return to a now average pub.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pickled Ploughman Pub also viewed

Banbury, Oxfordshire
 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Pickled Ploughman Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing