We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NEW YEARS EVE - Adderbury” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Adderbury
Southampton
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“NEW YEARS EVE - Adderbury”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Firstly I have to congratulate the 'minimal' staff working over the New Year period. They worked long and hard to do their very best for the customers - well done guys !. Now as for the condition of the hotel - it feels very 'unloved ! The room though comfortable size and obviously a recently refurbished bathroom and very nice to look at the shower was pathetic - i'd have got wetter by going outside ! Having booked a New Year break with Dinner B&B we only actually got dinner on 30th as NEW YEAR changed to a buffet........as buffets go it was pretty poor and I do not feel this is the fault of the staff and my moan is aimed at HIGHER MANAGEMENT who do not seem to be able to look after the staff they have or give them the tools to work with. Sad to say though the staff were great in particular Claudia, as a party of 10 we will not be returning and in fact after 7 new years spent at Old English Inns we will not be giving Greene King anymore of our hard earned cash

Room Tip: Check which room in advance - some are extremely small ! All showers seem to need looking at !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
I am sorry to here that we didn't meet your expecting this year at the Red lion. We will be looking into the issues you have raised & will look at doing things differently next year as clearly the buffet option didn't work well at the hotel this year. However I am glad to here you feel the staff are great & will pass on your feed back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    147
    56
    21
    12
See reviews for
68
232
14
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Level Contributor
105 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

I have wanted to stay here for a while as my parents live in the area. But this was the first time I managed to get a room!
Stayed over Christmas and booked a single room. Usually that means being consigned to a box room with a single bed, but at the Red Lion I was delighted to find a small double bed in a quiet room with plenty of room. A small staircase led up to a mezzanine level bathroom - massive -with a delightful rolltop bath in the middle. I was on my own so this arrangement was perfect. Though I suspect lack of privacy might be an issue if there were 2 people as the toilet is effectively in your bedroom. Still, as I say, this was a lovely quirky arrangement and I did enjoy a luxurious bath!
Breakfast was really good. I only wanted fruit and cereal but there is a full menu of cooked breakfasts. Served in a charming dining room which combines old English charm with a modern country feel. Service is friendly and not in your face.
I didn't drink in the pub and I didn't have any other meals there, but the atmosphere seemed really nice.
The pub is situated on the main road opposite the village green. I have known Adderbury for years and it is still a lovely village with plenty of nice walks to be had. I would definitely return if I can get a booking! It seems very popular and I would say deservedly.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room at the back away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OverworkedUnderpaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
It is good to here that you feel the places has lots of charm & was good value & we will look forward to seeing you again soon if you are in the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

First of all we were a place short on our table of 13. We were told they had supply issues and some of us could not have the meals we had to pre-book at the start of Dec but looking at the menu those meals were not on there so clearly the menu had been changed. The white wine was far too warm. A couple of us didn't get our sides the way we asked for them for example no pomegranate in a salad. I asked for a medium ribeye steak after my pre-booked choice was unavailable this came out well done and pretty tasteless and was for sure the worst ribeye steak I have ever eaten. Most of the staff that served us were very polite bar one lady who was a bit grumpy and definitely seemed like she would rather be elsewhere. All in all pretty poor experience wouldn't recommend won't be going back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
I am disappointed to here that your post Christmas family meal didn't meet our normal standard & am sorry to here that you will not be coming back. But do hope that you might change you mind & give us a 2nd go
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Good food and in a pleasant atmosphere. Old world pub and restaurant serving food that is more homely than 3 star. Prices are good - and you should not be disappointed. Early meals attract a great discount. Fish and chips are great!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
I am glad to here that you feel the Red Lion has Good food and in a pleasant atmosphere. We also happy to hear that your Fish and chips are great
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

to all fellow tripadvisors.

We stayed at the Red Lion on the 17th of October for 3 Nights. Great Location for Oxford or Banbury and Bicester. the staff are very friendly staff couldn't do enough for you. Food was
very nice couldn't fault it. Jack makes a great Mojito. accommodation very clean and spacious
cleaned everyday maid very friendly, we actually stayed in one of the mezzanine suites which was very nice but the walls were very thin. The actual pub is really quaint, i would defiantly stay here again.

i hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susiebears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
I am glad to here to have a lovely weekend and would like to Thank you for your great comments hope we get the opportunity to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level Contributor
132 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We often stop off at the Red Lion on week days as the bar food is good and they have very good offers (two main meals for £10). The Red Lion is an attractive old coaching inn with cozy public rooms and an open fire in winter. Food is good 'pub grub' and service is friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oxforduser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Many thanks for your comments, we are really glad you enjoyed your meals. We aim to offer great value dining to all our customers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

really enjoyed our stay stayed in room 1, arrived around 8:45pm after travelling down from somerset greeted by very welcoming staff and check in was very easy.

Room was clean if I am totally honest not my sort of style very old fashioned could do with a little updating and the bathroom had a shower but not on a bracket on the wall, little disappointed in this but was only there for a quick stay as we were off again early so did not raise with staff.

Had a good nights sleep.

very nice breakfast could not fault and hot fluffy pastries at 7am.
staff all very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PresleyAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Many thanks for your comments, we have a geat team here at the Red Lion & always appreciated when someone takes the time to leave feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adderbury
2.5 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Cromwell Lodge
Cromwell Lodge
#7 of 10 in Banbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Property: Red Lion Hotel
Address: The Green, Adderbury, Banbury OX17 3NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury > Adderbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Adderbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Banbury
Banbury Red Lion
Red Lion Hotel Adderbury, Banbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing