We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeling Chilled!”
Review of The Peacock

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Peacock
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Henton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed at The Peacock for 3 nights over the weekend just gone, as we needed some R&R. We could not have chosen a more chilled out and friendly place to stay than this wonderful country Inn. Martin and his staff offered just the right amount of friendly service and nothing was too much trouble for them all. We stayed in Room 12 and the bed was the most comfortable we have EVER slept in away from home. Fed up with board-like hard mattresses, we were delighted to find ours was really superbly soft yet supportive. With bad backs, we have had holidays ruined through lack of sleep on hard mattresses so 10/10 for the Peacock on that score.

The food at the Peacock is first rate, their steak is so tender, it is like cutting through butter! Every meal we had with them was just lovely. They keep excellent wines and ales too. We are definitely going to return when we next need more rest and recouperation!

Room Tip: Room 12 is large with a huge bath and 4 poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

We came to The Peacock for a family Birthday celebration and immediately felt at home and welcome.
Nothing was too much trouble and from lunch on Saturday, in the garden, to dinner and breakfast in a private room within the restaurant, the food was outstanding and the service very friendly, efficient and professional.
The bedrooms are nicely decorated and furnished and the beds are like those in the Goldilocks story.........not too hard, not too soft, but just right.
If you find yourself in this part of the world, check out The Peacock first, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the open fields
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brettington-14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We have been going to the Peacock for quite a few years but never stayed overnight. I am pleased to say that we were not disappointed. We had a warm welcome from Martin who immediately upgraded us! What a great start !
Our room overlooked fields to the rear and was quiet, clean, comfortable, and more than adequate for our needs. The two single beds had been pushed together and were so so comfortable, we had the best nights sleep, especially after a long soak in the deep bath.... just what the doctor ordered!!
I would definately recommend The Peacock, its a perfect base for a weekend exploring all that the Chilterns has to offer. A traditional English Inn full of olde worlde charm, complete with log fire, traditional English ale and great food....what isnt there to like?

Room Tip: If there is no king size bed option and you like a bed bigger than a double, ask for a twin with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Triumph006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I organised a reunion for 100+ people that I worked with a number of years ago. We had people from all over the country arrive and Martin and his staff could not have done more to make this a fantastic night. We had a great hot buffet that everyone enjoyed. We managed to fill all the rooms in this beautiful Inn. We are looking forward to our next event here next year. Highly recommended for your event.

Room Tip: Room 12!! Lovely room with a four poster bed.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goldeemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

A reunion of a delightful group of people who worked, or used to work in the 'Licensed Trade' met for a very congenial evening at this lovely quaint hotel. A local resident arranged the event, and the venue for 100+ could not have been better. Staff here are friendly and very helpful, costs were very good for what was on offer, and the buffet arranged for the evening meal was really excellent, much more than was expected. Accommodation is becoming a little dated, but everything was very clean and tidy, and everything worked ! Don't expect luxury rooms, but you will never beat it for 'value for money', and the setting is lovely.The owner wants his guests to enjoy their stay and goes out of his way to be helpful. Enjoy your visit !

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We were visiting our Son and his Family in nearby Chinnor and he suggested that we stay here. What an excellent recommendation. Friendly staff, excellent house keeping, open fires, and First Class Food.The Inn is located at the end of a lane and has a large car park. On our visit they were catering for locals and visitors. The staff were particularly helpful with our 4 yr old Grandson who can be a little boisterous. All in all an excellent stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JKD46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Nice friendly place with good beer and food, plus all the mod cons, highly recommend, why go stay in a boring trabel inn somewhere when you can get charm like this, I particularly liked the breakfasts, which really set me up for my day

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Henton
3.9 mi away
Mercure Thame Lambert Hotel
6.9 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
1,756 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel
8.3 mi away
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
8.7 mi away
Five Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waddesdon
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peacock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peacock

Address: Henton OX39 4AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Henton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Henton
Price Range: £128 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Peacock 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peacock is a friendly Country Inn set at the foot of the beautiful Chilterns in the picturesque Hamlet of Henton, near Thame. It's the ideal location for Business and Leisure with easy access to Oxfordshire, Buckinghamshire and Hertfordshire. Our 25 bedrooms are available as double or single and have recently been refurbished to provide comfortable modern facilities all with en-suite bathrooms, flat screen televisions and tea/coffee making facilities. We pride ourselves on being a comfortable and cosy country inn offering warm, friendly customer service in a relaxed environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The Peacock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peacock Hotel Henton
Peacock Hotel Oxfordshire
The Peacock Henton, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing