We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing Easter Sunday Roast, this place never disappoints, Always love our visits :)”
Review of The Peacock

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Peacock
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Henton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Wow, thank you all for an amazing Easter Sunday Roast... Again the food was delicious.. We had Roast Beef and Roast Pork with crackling all served with the biggest and the best tasting Yorkshire Puddings ever.. (why can't I get mine at home to rise so big!) Cauliflower Cheese and Fresh Garden vegetables served on the side. Huge tasty Roast Potatoes, Gravy to die for.. The table is ready with a jug of iced water, crusty bread is served with butter , Apple sauce, Horseradish sauce, and the most attentive and friendly welcome and staff whilst there, they can not do enough to make your lunch one you will enjoy, Can't wait to go back. Can truly recommend although don't want to tell everyone .... As it's so popular, and you can tell why, need to book in advance and that tells a story of itself... :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 420holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
There are newer reviews for The Peacock
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

We chose The Peacock at random for our three day touring break of The Chilterns. Well, exploring "Midsomer Murders" territory really. We took notice of the comments in other reviews, and as most were positive, made our choice. And what a good choice that proved to be.
This is a comfortable country inn, and not a swish hotel, but the personal and efficient service is of the highest standard. Martin, the owner/manager is very hands on, and you are as likely to find him serving breakfast, or manning reception, as stopping for a friendly chat on your stay or your plans for the day. This not an indication of too few staff, as Martin is ably supported by his team of waitresses, barmen, chefs,and housekeepers.
Our room, on the upper floor, was rather plain but was warm and spotlessly clean. The bed was extremely comfortable. A kettle, biscuits, and a choice of beverages was provided. A multi-channel TV was also provided, it was a little dated, but adequate. We were able to open a window, which looked out on to fields and a white-washed thatched cottage. The bathroom was well equipped, with a good sized bath and shower over, also spotlessly clean.
A varied menu was offered at reasonable prices. The food was well prepared and presented, both at dinner and at breakfast. There is a limited but adequate choice of house wines, though full marks here for pricing policy, a bottle of house wine at dinner comes in at about £16, and not with the inflated mark-up that I have experienced in some other hotels.
Martin was genuinely interested in our stay, and was keen to help in any way that he could. He is extremely knowledgeable about the area and was instrumental in making our exploration a great success. He even presented us with a Midsomer Murders guide book to help us find places more easily.
All in all, this is a lovely place to stay, staffed by a great team who are eager to please, and visibly led and motivated by the hotel owner. If the formality and anonymity of a Hilton Hotel or a Crowne Plaza is your preferred choice, then The Peacock is not for you. But if you want a warm welcome, personal service, and a pleasant stay in comfortable surroundings, then this surely is the place.

Room Tip: If you have the slightest difficulty with stairs, then you may wish to reserve a ground floor room...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank granfavas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Visited on a busy Sunday lunchtime and had a fabulous roast - huge Yorkshire pudding and great selection of vegetables. Sorry we didn't have room for desert as they looked delicious. The service was very good and the atmosphere was warm (dogs welcome too!). A proper Sunday lunch at a proper country pub - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank MKG1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed at The Peacock for 3 nights over the weekend just gone, as we needed some R&R. We could not have chosen a more chilled out and friendly place to stay than this wonderful country Inn. Martin and his staff offered just the right amount of friendly service and nothing was too much trouble for them all. We stayed in Room 12 and the bed was the most comfortable we have EVER slept in away from home. Fed up with board-like hard mattresses, we were delighted to find ours was really superbly soft yet supportive. With bad backs, we have had holidays ruined through lack of sleep on hard mattresses so 10/10 for the Peacock on that score.

The food at the Peacock is first rate, their steak is so tender, it is like cutting through butter! Every meal we had with them was just lovely. They keep excellent wines and ales too. We are definitely going to return when we next need more rest and recouperation!

Room Tip: Room 12 is large with a huge bath and 4 poster bed.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We came to The Peacock for a family Birthday celebration and immediately felt at home and welcome.
Nothing was too much trouble and from lunch on Saturday, in the garden, to dinner and breakfast in a private room within the restaurant, the food was outstanding and the service very friendly, efficient and professional.
The bedrooms are nicely decorated and furnished and the beds are like those in the Goldilocks story.........not too hard, not too soft, but just right.
If you find yourself in this part of the world, check out The Peacock first, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the open fields
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brettington-14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We have been going to the Peacock for quite a few years but never stayed overnight. I am pleased to say that we were not disappointed. We had a warm welcome from Martin who immediately upgraded us! What a great start !
Our room overlooked fields to the rear and was quiet, clean, comfortable, and more than adequate for our needs. The two single beds had been pushed together and were so so comfortable, we had the best nights sleep, especially after a long soak in the deep bath.... just what the doctor ordered!!
I would definately recommend The Peacock, its a perfect base for a weekend exploring all that the Chilterns has to offer. A traditional English Inn full of olde worlde charm, complete with log fire, traditional English ale and great food....what isnt there to like?

Room Tip: If there is no king size bed option and you like a bed bigger than a double, ask for a twin with the...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Triumph006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I organised a reunion for 100+ people that I worked with a number of years ago. We had people from all over the country arrive and Martin and his staff could not have done more to make this a fantastic night. We had a great hot buffet that everyone enjoyed. We managed to fill all the rooms in this beautiful Inn. We are looking forward to our next event here next year. Highly recommended for your event.

Room Tip: Room 12!! Lovely room with a four poster bed.....
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goldeemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Henton
3.9 mi away
Mercure Thame Lambert Hotel
6.9 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
1,747 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Five Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waddesdon
560 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel
8.3 mi away
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peacock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peacock

Address: Henton OX39 4AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Henton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Henton
Price Range: £107 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Peacock 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peacock is a friendly Country Inn set at the foot of the beautiful Chilterns in the picturesque Hamlet of Henton, near Thame. It's the ideal location for Business and Leisure with easy access to Oxfordshire, Buckinghamshire and Hertfordshire. Our 25 bedrooms are available as double or single and have recently been refurbished to provide comfortable modern facilities all with en-suite bathrooms, flat screen televisions and tea/coffee making facilities. We pride ourselves on being a comfortable and cosy country inn offering warm, friendly customer service in a relaxed environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Peacock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peacock Hotel Henton
Peacock Hotel Oxfordshire
The Peacock Henton, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing