We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great little place to stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Talbot Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Talbot Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Eynsham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A great little place to stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

A warm welcome, staff very helpful...The room was in an annexe at the back of the Inn so was very quiet, room size was great, had a good nights sleep, shower good (only fault as a previous guest mentioned a shelf in the shower would be helpful) breakfast...plenty of it and very tasty. would definately keep this hotels details for any future trips to that part of the country...

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlm160763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    56
    24
    8
    9
See reviews for
35
62
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

Rooms were clean, modern and comfortable. Adequate storage space, very good power shower. Minor point no shelves in shower to put your soap or showergel. The room we had was very hot as the bed wasn't near the window. So we would have to have another room if we stayed again. We had a baguette for lunch which came with plenty of salad, good portion size and value for money. We had dinner as well which was good but not all the food was homemade. The chips were under cooked and not homemade but the rest of the meal was fine. The staff were friendly. All round good modern accommodation, but another example of a characterful pub with characterless rooms, shame they couldn't have beenmore in keeping with the hotel. But we were well aware they were modern rooms prebooking..

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeeWinkieWillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2011

I'm very upset to report that this lovely place had bed bugs last week when we stayed here. It's a cute place, but just be careful and check your bed and room. If you end up with lots of bites in the morning you might have stayed in the same room we did! Others had no problems so just keep an eye out please. Sad to say won't stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgeek3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2011

We always check the reviews on Tripadvisor before we book just to get an idea of what to expect. All of the reviews were good or excellent for the Talbot Inn and we would agree totally. We drove up from London and once we got into oxford the Talbot was easy to find with plenty of free parking. The pub was empty when we arrived but we were meet by one of the friendly bar staff who checked us in and showed us to our room. The room was very modern and comfortable a good size and nice and quiet with a view onto the river that runs next to the pub. We stayed for 3 nights with a special offer that ment we had one night free and stayed from Thursday through to Sunday. In the evenings the place got busy with a good atmosphere and is very popular as the food is great and the real ales superb. Although we only ate at the pub the one night we were always asked if we required dinner during breakfast as it got so busy. The breakfast was excellent with cereal, yogart and fruit juice as well as the huge full English and toast washed down with tea or coffee. We would not hesitate coming back and staying at the Talbot Inn as it was great value for money and the food and drink was plentyfull. We are thinking of returning in the summer it was that good.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank telwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Builth Wells
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2010

Well suited for us close to the River Thames. Excellent comfortable bedrooms in a new annexe completely in keeping with the original historic building. Traditional range of well priced pub meals - not gastropub.Good car parking.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caerberis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley Kent
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2010

Stayed one night at the Talbot Inn. First impressions on walking into the pub were not great - an ice cream freezer in the bar and a games machine - not really in keeping with a country pub we felt. However, the staff were very friendly and we were shown to our room in the new build behind the pub. The room was of an excellent quality, good size and with a lovely bathroom. However, the Talbot is on a very busy main road which with the windows shut at night was not a problem as the double glazing worked well but it was hot and we could not open the windows as the noise of the road was loud and as we were on the ground floor we did not feel too safe to do this. The windows were the single size with no fanlights. So we did not sleep very well.

The breakfast was average, nothing special, we felt we had to have the full English as no alternative was offered. The evening meal we had on our arrival was also average, quite eatable but nothing to write home about. An OK visit but nothing to rave about.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VivBromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erlangen, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2010

We stayed two nights in one of the 8 newly built rooms behind the pub. The quality of construction is impressive; the new blends perfectly with the old. Trevor is friendly, helpful, and full of stories about the history of the place. Breakfasts were excellent.

The room was smallish but spotless and had everything one could need. If I were the architect, however, I'd have put a window in the bath, and I'd have sacrificed a few square feet of bedroom space for more space in the bath. The mirror lamp in the bath should be improved: too dark to shave easily, though there's a mirror near the window to help with this. Typically curious British plumbing -- the separate hot & cold water taps in the sink!

The immediate proximity to the bus stop (regular service) makes it an easy choice while visiting the city. All in all charming; we'll gladly stay again if we're in the area.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erlangernick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eynsham
3.7 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#10 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
3.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#12 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
4.5 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
7.4 mi away
Premier Inn Oxford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbot Inn

Property: The Talbot Inn
Address: Oxford Road, Eynsham OX29 4BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Eynsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Eynsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Talbot Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Talbot Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Talbot Hotel Eynsham
The Talbot Inn Eynsham, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing