We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms / Average food”
Review of The Talbot Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Talbot Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Eynsham B&B and Inns
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice rooms / Average food”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Booked based on Pub website and reviews on here. First impressions from outside a bit disappointing as looked much nicer on website. Check in was Ok, could have been a bit friendlier but room were very nice which was the main thing. Thought being right by a busy room it might be noisy but it was fine and I am a light sleeper. We had booked a table for the evening but when we had a quick look at the menu there wasn't much on there that looked exciting and limited for vegetarians. It was a shame as we had been spolit after having a lovely lunch at the Angel in Burford. Decided to have a quick walk to Enysham to see if there was anywhere nicer but Ensham was horrible. There was one pub (Queen's Head in the Good beer guide) and that was very friendly and nice but doesn't open until 6pm. The food at Talbot was average with over cooked veg on a meal on the specials board and soggy pastry in the Apple pie, but the service was good and friendlier than earlier. They had a live band on which to be honest weren't bad but couldn't be classed as great either. breakfast was pretty much the same, average. However, compared with the ridiculous prices of hotels & B&Bs in the surrounding areas, this was not a bad place to stay and I would consider staying again as the rooms were OK. We did a lovely couple of walks around Burford & Minster Lovell and called in at Whitney on the way home.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back if you want a quiter room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    60
    27
    8
    10
See reviews for
38
64
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We stayed at the Talbot Inn for a couple of nights. Throughout the whole weekend the staff were incredibly friendly and any request we had they were happy to cater to. The room was very clean and spacious and the bed was very comfatable, we both had a good nights sleep. The food was exceptional and was good value for money. We would highly recommend the steak and ale pie. The bus stop is right outside the inn and commuting to the centre of Oxford is a doddle, approximate journey time is 20 mins. Overall we would highly recommend the Talbot inn.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Young_Couple_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

We were meeting friends in Oxford but left it late so couldn't find anywhere short notice in town, so we found this pub outside Oxford by chance really and so happy we did , great food , lovely big room , great ale , and really attentive staff , so whether your staying or passing well worth a stop

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zarky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Last weekend we wanted to enjoy a quiet weekend near Oxford and to join friends for a Birthday celebration. My wife found The Talbot Inn somehow online and booked through "Late rooms".

We arrived Friday evening and had a very warm welcome, were shown to our room (which was really pleasant). The reception reserved us a table in their little restaurant for dinner and made us feel very welcome.

The dinner was superb, great home cooking - and very large portions!

The breakfast was basic but traditional - and must have used local ingredients cos the sausages were lovely!

The beer was great - for those who like a pub to serve good ale!

No issues with noise and despite being very busy - parking wasn't an issue.

I should imagine in the summer the proximity to a small river with a platform to eat and drink away the evenings would make it a real joy!

If you are in the area - its well worth a visit!

Room Tip: All seemed good - tucked away from the road behind the main pub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Stayed here for a couple of days recently. Room, in the annexe, was super, nicely laid out, very clean and comfortable. A little traffic noise but nothing too bad. Staff very good and helpful. Only downside was the evening meals - very basic pub grub, enormous portions. Would have preferred half the amount of better presented food. Overall good.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a lovely 2 night break at the Talbot Inn. The local village is a short walk away with some traditional English pubs which are worth a visit.

There is a bus stop just outside the Talbot which runs directly into Oxford and is really convenient. There is also a late night bus service from Oxford so on the Saturday night you can get a late bus back to outside the pub, saving on expensive taxi fayre!

Room really nice, really large and comfy beds..

We ate an evening meal at the Talbot and it was lovely, great value for money, very friendly staff.

Breakfast was lovely, only criticism is the coffee was a little weak for my tastes!

In summary a great place to stay to enjoy Oxford and the surrounding area at a great price.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Stayed the night whilst visiting family. My Mum recommended it as she lives near in Farmoor. Excellent food, really comfortable bed, the room had all the facilities required, spacious too. Breakfast was cooked to order and filling, set us up for a day shopping in Oxford. Really recommend this Inn, close to Oxford, but not too close and a regular bus service late into the night for those seeking the night life.
Excellent Beer too!
Parking a bit tight but available. It is on a main road near a toll bridge so egress in the morning can be slow during rush hour

Room Tip: Double room was great and spacious enough with all you need facility wise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eynsham
3.6 mi away
Travelodge Oxford Peartree Hotel
3.7 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,272 reviews
3.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#13 of 44 in Oxford
1,067 reviews
5.2 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#10 of 44 in Oxford
1,758 reviews
5.6 mi away
Oxford Witney Hotel
Oxford Witney Hotel
#4 of 7 in Witney
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbot Inn

Property: The Talbot Inn
Address: Oxford Road, Eynsham OX29 4BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Eynsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Eynsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Talbot Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Talbot Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Talbot Hotel Eynsham
The Talbot Inn Eynsham, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing