We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Talbot Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Jurys Inn Oxford(Oxford)(Great Value!)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Oxford(Oxford)(Great Value!)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Travelodge Oxford Peartree Hotel(Oxford)(Great Value!)
US$52
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Feathers Hotel(Woodstock)
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Kings Arms Hotel and Restaurant(Woodstock)(Great Value!)
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
92
64
29
9
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
92
64
29
9
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubspecials boardthames pathstaff were friendly and efficientbooked a tablestayed one nightbusy roadtwin rooman evening mealpiebus stopvisit oxfordgood nights sleepblenheim palacecouple of nightsfollowing morningpark and ride
Filter
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Just returned from a three night stay at the Talbot. We used it as a base from which to explore rural Oxfordshire and, especially, Thames walks. We couldn't have been happier. The staff at the inn were uniformly efficient, helpful, cooperative and, probably more important, friendly and cheerful.
Our room (Pink Hill) was very comfortable. Yes, there is an awareness of traffic noise, but it is in now way intrusive or disruptive. The pub is a lovely old building, a pleasure to eat and/or drink in, whilst the decking area by the wharf stream, but overlooking a meadow to the Thames and Eynsham lock and the lock-keeper's cottage, is a real bonus. We also experienced the temporary menu, but found the choice good and our evening meals were all most enjoyable. The service was spot on, too. On the subject of food, the breakfasts were also first-rate, with particular praise going to the full English!
Strongly recommended and we wouldn't hesitate to return.

Room Tip: As mentioned, no 4, Pick Hill, is fine - one of the wharf side rooms.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Booked this hotel because my husband had previously stayed here on business. New people are now running the place so things seemed to have changed. Location was perfect and we were able to have our dog with us. We had a room in the annexe which was very nice, although very cheap coffee on offer in the room. Food was pretty poor, for lunch we had a large ploughmans to share, not enough bread,pickle and apple missing although included in the menu description, evening meal basic pub grub no sign of a vegetable on the menu everything comes with salad, ' steak & ale pie with salad???' Chilli & rice was cold. breakfast was good, coffee again disgusting. New owners have a lot of work to do. Staff need to be more engaging & smile.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the annexe
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swilco0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I've stayed here several times and have always been pleased with the rooms, food and friendly service. However, this was not my impression this time.Good service but higher prices, poor menu, poor lighting on staircase/landing to rooms and rooms in need of redecorating. It's all very well the new owner/manager saying on a previous review that he has just taken over. Well, why not reflect that in the price until everything works! Poor service at breakfast was a joke; not a fault of the staff. One person cannot be expected to welcome guests, cook breakfast, offer extra tea/coffee & toast and also deal with everyone wanting to check out. Evening meals were poor value with little chicken but plenty of (cheaper) vegetables in the pies, tikka marsala etc. Will need to improve if I am going to stay again.

Room Tip: Don't have rooms 1 or 5 in the annexe, nor a room above the bar. Noisy traffic from before 6.00 waiting to use the toll bridge nearby will wake you unless you want an early start
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

The location is fab and my first impression, after checking their website, was that this would be a good place to eat. But the service was patchy, some things on the menu were not available and we were never even offered dessert. The coffee was not great either. The price was fair in relation to the quality of the food but overall I was disappointed.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Ciara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodiebic, Owner at The Talbot Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Good Evening.
Thank you for your review of The Talbot.
I took over here in early May and have already started addressing some of the issues you raised.
We have started with a temporary menu until we find our feet. We will be launching our full menu in early June by which time we will have revitalised the gardens and decking area.
The Talbot has a lovely location and we aim to really make use of it over the coming years.
Please do visit us again soon

Many thanks

Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Although i have stayed in a lot of rated hotels & B&B's over a 16 year period since i left Oxford, this one suits my personal needs more than adequately. I am 6 foot tall - and it's really nice to have a proper full length bath. Everyone is friendly. MY 5 star recommended!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews