We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new hotel but no kids activy packs!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Newport/Telford Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great new hotel but no kids activy packs!”
Reviewed 24 August 2011

This hotel must be quite new and it is spotlessly clean.

Lovely clean and confortable room, spotlessly clean bathroon, public areas all very clean, beefeater pub next door with great food, lovely quiet location - although not much nearby except the garden centre.

Room very hot and no fan in the room. Can increase room temperature but not cool it down which is bad in summer - especially as they restrict how far you can open the windows.

Had to wait at the reception with another family who were checking in as receptionist not at the desk. Think she was working alone and seemed to be very busy but she was lovely and apologised for the wait (2 mins max - e arrived at same time as other family). Firsttime this ha happened but she got us checked in very quickly so no complaints - she just shouldn't be working alone at night!

Children weren't given their activity packs at this hotel, assumed it wasbecause receptionist was busy and had another family to check in after us but we stayed at another premier inn the next few nights and didn't get one there either. We didn't mind so much at this hotel as we arrived fairly late and children went straight to bed after dinner anyway.

There is a lift in the hotel and it has free parking.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diddyangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    90
    26
    8
    5
See reviews for
100
105
14
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Mold, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We stayed at the Premier Inn at Newport, Shropshire (think it is listed as Telford and Wrekin) and the whole experience was efficient and extremely good value for money. All the staff are very polite and friendly, and nothing is too much trouble. The bedroom was spacious, with nice dark curtains so we slept well from that, let alone the huge, comfortable bed! The en suite was a good size and immaculately clean. The Restaurant (The Three Fishes) was just across the front car park (hardly any distance) and again, was staffed by knowledgeable and friendly staff who were lovely! There was a meal deal for £22 for a selected dinner menu and full breakfast (we booked everything online) and it was astonishing value for money, with bottomless chips!! The food was beautifully cooked and served and we enjoyed every single meal. The room was air conditioned, which was fabulous!!! We stayed here whilst our daughter was at the V Festival at nearby Weston Park, and the staff had tried to arrange all the rooms so those not at the Festival were on the top floor, whilst the rest were on the ground floor and first floor to keep any noise levels as low as possible. We never heard a thing! That was a very thoughtful touch and, as there is a good lift to all floors, no problem at all with a 2nd floor room. All in all, a very positive experience, extremely clean, great food, well-trained and friendly, helpful staff and a distinctly better experience than in a Travelodge (never, ever again...). Well done!

Room Tip: We had Room 219 on the top floor at the far end of the corridor away from the lift, so only a neighb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahBMunster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We are a family of six and had to have two family rooms at the offer price of £29 each room. The family rooms are a great size for the kids. Even with the extra beds and travel cot there was plenty of room for the kids to play with their toys. The room and bathroom were lovely and clean. Crisp sheets. Beds all made. No funny smells. No mouldy bathroom. Plenty of tea & coffee. Shower gel and handwash provided in dispencers. Lovely friendly staff. Quiet. Beefeater next door that does a great breakfast. We paid for 2 adult breakfasts (eat as much as u like £7.99) and all 4 kids ate free and they were eating cereal, toast, sausage & egg. They could have as much as they wanted too. Well worth the money and all breakfasts are freshly cooked. Staff were very friendly in the beefeater too. We are going back in September and will be trying out the dinner - will let you know how we get on. But would recommend this place for families.

Room Tip: We had a room on 1st floor overlooking the garden centre and it was quiet. Automatic doors into rece...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OFamilyOfSix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Our stay was very pleasent largely due to the staff The hotel is virtualy brand new and is well out in the country there is only the Beefeater next door. which you will need to book particualy at week ends when it was very busy .We stayed in very hot weather and took our own lightweight duvet as previously recomended (Many thanks for that ) SAT/NAV problem Garmin is definatly wrong. it carefully directs you up the local golf clubs drive and behind the club house(.It was prob connected at some time) Prem/inn is on the A41/A518 Telford rd 200 yards from the roundabout next to Mear park garden center

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madderdooee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

I stopped here for a couple of nights recently whilst visiting friends. The building is fairly new- only a few months old. It is immaculate. I could have performed open heart surgery in the bathroom it was so clean- infact the only thing that stopped me was my lack of qualification. The room was a good size, and surprisingly quiet considering the main road outside. It's the first time I've seen a good size flat screen tv in a Premier Inn room as well. There was no power in the local area for one of the days that I was staying there, however I had been pre-warned of this by e-mail by the hotel a couple of weeks in advance which was a nice touch. I was also informed of the issue on check in as well. All in all a good experience. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawaiinomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Londonderry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

From check-in to check-out : everything was first class. Staff were helpful, pleasant, knowledgable and efficient (Thank you Jayme). Room was clean, modern, everything you needed. Restaurant (Beefeater) was superb ! Thank you Nick, Rachel and Hannah. Great value for money, location was ideal for visiting in Newport, Telford and travelling to Liverpool. Great access to carpark, CCTV operational and sound security within the hotel. I cannot fault this hotel at all and would definitely recommend it and stay again (Booked a double room for 3 x nights with a fabulous breakfast each morning - £165 GBP !! - where else would you get it?)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WEEROSIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

First visit to a premier lodge - have tried other budget chains before - Very pleasantly surprised room plenty big enough and restraunt next door serving good food if a little on the expensive side. Coutryside location but within easy reach of variuous town centres and some surprising little walks that you would not know where there. Easy commuting made the experience very good. Would consider this hotel again if we were looking to explore the Shrophire area or for a little quiet breakaway. Hotel staff are lovely and dont bother you unless you need to ask them something and they are very welcoming - excellent service and the rooms were spacious and comfortable with luxurious bathrooms and finishings. Well recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank digsy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Telford North Hotel
7.0 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
9.1 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#3 of 21 in Telford
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The White House Hotel and Restaurant
6.6 mi away
Days Inn Telford Ironbridge M54
19.5 mi away
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newport/Telford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newport/Telford Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Newport/Telford Hotel
Address: Stafford Road, Newport TF10 9BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Newport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newport/Telford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short distance from Newport in Shropshire, Telford town centre and the pretty town of Shrewsbury ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premier Inn Newport/Telford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newport / Telford Hotel Newport
Premier Inn Newport/Telford Hotel Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing