We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A friendly pleasant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Newport/Telford Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“A friendly pleasant hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

I always enjoy this hotel. Staff are always friendly and helpful. Also the staff in the Beefeater are very ready to help and advise. Good location. Clean. Usually good value for money. Breakfast in Beefeater always tasty and well staffed

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 813PatC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    84
    26
    8
    5
See reviews for
95
97
12
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
LANCASTER
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Paying over £100 per night for an average b&b isn't what I tend to do, but needs must. Staff at the hotel were polite, room was clean. Bathroom was half painted (room3 is half beige half light green), black mould in corner of shower and wet room. Intermittent electricity meant sometimes the key card worked for the lights, sometimes total darkness. The wifi that we paid £10 for didn't work in the whole week I was there. Plenty car parking.
Then we get in to the meals at the associated Beefeater. Where do I start? Up to ten minute wait to be noticed waited to be seated, then a 30 minute wait to actually get a table. The food was only average pub grub. In the morning if you requested white toast no butter you received brown with butter regardless. I witnessed this on 3 separate occasions. Then the tea in the urns, stale tasting isn't even the word- disgusting. The staff weren't rude really they were just inefficient and inattentive (except bev who was great). I would however refer to how rude the manager at the beefeater was 11/4/14 but he didn't have a name badge on. He was exceptionally unsympathetic to the genuine feedback we were providing. I suggest customer service training is needed!!
I know it's how high turn around chain hotels are set up to be able to get margin/ customer but all in all disappointing for what we paid!

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank katej150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Newport/Telford Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed provide this. Please be assured that your comments will be duly followed up by Guest Relations and the Management Team at this hotel. We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Good clean hotel and restaurant, friendly helpful staff. The staff made the who exec experience worthwhile. Easy to find, in the right location for visiting the Royal British Legion Battle Back Centre.



  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Great experience friendly welcome , breakfast excellent and amazing value for money , rooms modern clean with all you need for a short stay , beds really comfortable and bedding good quality , would recommend,

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Constance J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Shropshire
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Booking was quick and easy
Had a text to ask if I wanted a table for dinner which I thought was a nice touch and easy to do
Check in was smooth and informative
Room was clean and spacious and the bathroom wash very clean and the towels were clean and fluffy
Dinner starters very nice main coarse lots of choose mixed grill was lovely and my partner said hers was lovely to the staff were checking we had everything and if we needed anything
Overall was a lovely meal
We had a lovely sleep bed and pillows were very comfortable
Shower was very refreshing
Breakfast was well worth the money great choice and we'll cooked
Check out was easy and quick

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Clean, comfortable room and courteous staff. Good value. Will stay again. Plenty of free parking. Stayed 2 nights. Had a grab and go breakfast on one of the days which seemed good value. Would have had a full breakfast on last day but I felt 8.25 a bit steep.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank HantsGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

The Premier Inn is situated next door to a small retail park and not far from the small town of Newport. In the park is a really nice garden centre and here you can get a good full breakfast, or just a nice bacon nutty. Next door to Premier is the usual eatery, Beefeater etc. with a good meal selection for the evenings. We went into the local town for a curry and counted four restaurants and all reasonably priced. Parking in the town is free, just by Waitrose.
We stayed for three nights as we wanted to visit Shrewsbury and Iron Bridge(both good) and the room was comfortable, quiet and a good base for getting out and about.
The receptionist was really friendly and gave us information about the local area. The Railwayman pub was particularly lively, especially for a Sunday night!
We were able to get as much extra tea/coffee as we wanted from reception, which was very welcome.

Room Tip: A top room may be a little quieter at busy times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiftytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Telford North Hotel
9.1 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#3 of 21 in Telford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
7.0 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Premier Inn Telford Central Hotel
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
4.0 mi away
The White House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newport/Telford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newport/Telford Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Newport/Telford Hotel
Address: Stafford Road, Newport TF10 9BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Newport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newport/Telford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short distance from Newport in Shropshire, Telford town centre and the pretty town of Shrewsbury ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Newport/Telford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newport / Telford Hotel Newport
Premier Inn Newport/Telford Hotel Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing