We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Patio & garden area of The Old Shippon
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Patio & garden area of The Old Shippon
spacious dining kitchen Kitchen diner in The Old Shippon
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
82 reviews
Patio & garden area of The Old Shippon
spacious dining kitchen
Kitchen diner in The Old Shippon
Fully fitted kitchen
Fantastic view from the cottage
living room with great views over the fields and doors leading onto patio & garden.
one of the lovely bathrooms
spacious twin bedroom
Twin room with fab views over the fields
Double room with great countyside views
Sofa bed in upstairs mezzannine
Upstairs living room mezzanine
Patio area
View of sunrise from the cottage
Front view of The Old Shippon & Churn cottage
large garden/patio area
View from the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Newport, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 82 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jodenkel1...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect Retreat”
Reviewed 16 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Four of us stayed in the cottage for 3 nights as we were playing golf and our friends were attending a school renunion. The cottage was prefect , both in terms of location and standards. the view from the lounge could be. Constable picture and the cottage offered every amenity, including underfloor heating.

Sarah could not have been nicer and kindly left us a half a doz eggs which were polished off for breakfast.

Ther are plenty of good eateries within a 10 minute drive and the local pub does a fine range of high quality dinners.

We have no hesitation in recommending the property and intend to return with our grandchildren who will love the sheep and cows outside the cottage windows !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill C
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect weekend for 70th birthday celebration”
Reviewed 11 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this cottage for 10 people for my dad's 70th birthday because of the fantastic reviews and we weren't disappointed! Firstly we contacted Sarah (the owner) to see if we could increase the party to 11 to accommodate another child (with us taking our own mini mattress) and Sarah agreed this straight away with no quibbles. When we arrived, it was absolutely spotless (and I'm fussy!) and looked as though it had only been recently renovated, even though I knew it hadn't! Salt, pepper, eggs, fruit, washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets and many more things were supplied, saving that dash out to the supermarket. We were even impressed with the little touches like hotel type soaps, shower gels and hairdryers being supplied. The owners were really welcoming and even brought over a baby lamb to the children so they could bottle feed it. Which they loved! There's a lovely garden (with fantastic views) to sit or play in, with lots of garden games supplied. There's also lots of games and books supplied indoors, with dvd's and a Wii! To top it all off there's a lovely pub in the village, with a friendly owner, a nice roast and a good beer garden with a goal and swings for the kids. All in all, I can't fault the cottage or location for a family weekend away!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 May 2016
The view is great in any season so it's lovely that we can share it with our guests. Thank you for your fab review, we are lucky to live in such a beautiful spot and have a village pub within walking distance which serves great meals is definitely an added bonus, we would love to welcome you & your family back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenny d
Aldridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A beautiful cottage, wow!!!!”
Reviewed 5 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed over the bank holiday weekend for my Dad's 60th and on arrival we were excited before we even opened the door to the cottage as the village driving through was lovely. As soon as the door opened, the space hit you and also how clean and well kept it was. Everything had so much character with the wooden beams and homely feeling. Sarah was lovely and told us all we needed to know and was very kind to give us some birthday banners and pins to put up for my Dad. She also left fresh fruit, milk and eggs, which was lovely. Within an hour my son was also feeding the baby lamb which was brill! The space outside and views are spectacular. The kids were impressed as there was a wii with games, dvds and games etc. We were impressed with the under floor heating as it made it feel very cosy. Having a party of 9 was no problem in this house as you felt you had enough space to still have your own privacy. Me and my Husband shared the bed in the mezzanine and I have got to say for a pull out sofa, it was actually quite comfortable and what a great view we had from up there! My son also got to name one of the baby lambs and he called her 'Martha', he was very pleased! I left a few things behind and within a couple of days Sarah had sent the parcel to me which was really kind of her. What more can I say... the towels and bedding were fresh the house was spotless and it was so well equipped we couldn't have asked for more. We will def be visiting again!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2016
Thank you for your great review, I'm so pleased you all had a great time for your dad's birthday and the cottage provided a perfect place for you all the enjoy the weekend. Please tell your son that Martha is doing great and is growing very quickly.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul T
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 5 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This was our annual visit to this property and we never tire of coming here. It feels just like home and with such great hosts, (Sarah, Andrew and the children), it is just like being next door to the neughbours.
The property never seems to age and is as new and fresh as it was the first time we came.
It really is a great place just to get away from it all and just relax, yet close enough to activities if you want to do a bit more.
It will not be the last time we come and we will continue to recommend either of the properties to any of our friends.
A great holiday and one we continue to enjoy.
Thanks

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That nothing had changed and it was just as good and exciting as the first time
Liked least: That it had to end
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2016
Thank you for your review, it is always lovely to see you all and we are so pleased you enjoy your stay with us, looking forward to your next stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space & relaxation
Liked least: Wish the TV had been a a little larger - but only because we all gathered around to watch the rugby World Cup !
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Oct 2015
I'm so pleased you all had a lovely stress free break, it was great to meet you all and it was our pleasure to talk to you about life on the farm, we would love to see you back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Caroline...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The Barnes Family doesn't normally revisit a place but this is the 3rd time we have stayed here! Love the peace and quiet of the countryside - listening to the cows, sheep and watching out for herons, swallows and other birds flying over. The view is amazing and the quality, cleaniness of the accommodation is exceptional.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2015
We all love to see you and really pleased that you return, the view is great and I also love watching the Herons & other wildlife,I did see an Otter earlier in the year and we have also just had a pair of Lapwings nesting in the field by the second river which was great to watch. Thank you for your great review & I hope we get the chance to welcome you back again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen O
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We loved the cottage, we changed our original plans for a grown up get away from it all and last minute took our grandchildren. The cottage and area can cater for both. Sarah and Andrew have thought of everything . We loved our stay .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing