We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent holiday cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Patio & garden area of The Old Shippon
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Patio & garden area of The Old Shippon
spacious dining kitchen Kitchen diner in The Old Shippon
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
79 reviews
Patio & garden area of The Old Shippon
spacious dining kitchen
Kitchen diner in The Old Shippon
Fully fitted kitchen
Fantastic view from the cottage
living room with great views over the fields and doors leading onto patio & garden.
one of the lovely bathrooms
spacious twin bedroom
Twin room with fab views over the fields
Double room with great countyside views
Sofa bed in upstairs mezzannine
Upstairs living room mezzanine
Patio area
View of sunrise from the cottage
Front view of The Old Shippon & Churn cottage
large garden/patio area
View from the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Newport, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 79 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alex H
Maidstone
1 review
“Excellent holiday cottage”
Reviewed 30 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We hired the cottage for one week in June and were not dissapointed.
We are family of 4 with 2 children- 2yrs old and 9weeks, we went away with our friends who had a 3 year old and 3 month old baby. The cottage catered exactly for our needs and baby cots were provided which were far better than any travel cot.
All rooms are ample sizes and it's nice that the kitchen splits the two sleeping areas each with their own bathroom which makes sharing the accommodation really easy.
We had a food shop delivered and although it arrived early we were very lucky that Sarah was there to help.
The outside space was perfect. Completely fenced in and safe for our children and great for them to look out over the fields with sheep and cows in. Some toys were already at the cottage which was great for the kiddies.
Wi-fi is provided but unfortunately we had a few connectivity issues, although we were too fussed and isolated us from the normal rat race!
I can't fault the service we received from Sarah. Our little girl left her bunny behind and Sarah did a little search and rescue and kindly posted bunny back to us which was really appreciated and so very kind.
We would most definitely recommend this cottage and will be looking to book again.
Thank you
The Patterson's and Wards.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2017
It was really nice to meet you all (briefly) I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us the cottage is well laid out for two families and the garden is a great space especially for little ones to let off a bit of steam , I hope the friendly sheep in the field came to say hello. Also really pleased I could return the much loved bunny to your daughter. Hope to see you all again at Sambrook Manor cottages.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zbecky
UK
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 29 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

A fantastic time was had. Great cottage , very attentive hosts. Lots of little lovely touches such as toys left out for our daughter and the opportunity to bottlefeed the lambs. The only problem we had was that the cottage wasn't very sound proof so our baby's crying woke up the whole house!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Linda H
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old Shippon”
Reviewed 30 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Lovely property. Well stocked and clean. Stunning views. A great family holiday. Definitely going back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2017
Thank you for your review it was great having you all stay with us & would love to welcome you back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
r0bgillia...
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Old Shippon”
Reviewed 26 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We had a lovely stay in 'the old shippon' cottage. We had a warm welcome from Sarah and Andrew, along with some yummy fresh eggs. Very comfortable luxury accommodation. Great underfloor heating. Some very nice walks in the beautiful countryside surrounding the cottage. Thanks for the lamb feeding, the kids loved it! Don't hesistate to book here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b0wie7
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Exellent”
Reviewed 1 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Stayed at the old shippon with my wife 2 kids and my friend and his kids. The accommodation was spotless, well decorated, clean and homely. The views are amazing from the garden. Sarah was there on my arrival and showed me around. Sarah's daughter also showed the kids around the farm, and let them feed and hold the farm animals. The local pub is friendly and food is amazing. Can't rate this place highly enough will book again if we can find a free week!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2017
Thank you for the great review, it was great to meet you & my daughter loves for show other children the animals. Hope to see you again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul T
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Continues to excel”
Reviewed 28 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

the cottage continues to be ageless and immaculate. Everything was clean throughout and with the underfloor heating it ensured that the tempature was maintained at a comfortable level despite the cold weather outside.
The hosts as always were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble. The local pub remains a friendly place to go for a drink and a nice bite to eat although the option now to get lamb and/or beef reared on the farm from the owner is a great addition as it tastes wonderful.
Location is great for those quiet walks round the village or for travelling to Wales. It is a place to visit any time of the year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2017
Thank you Paul, always great to see you all & I'm pleased you enjoyed the beef reared and on our farm. I will pass your comments on to The Three Horseshoes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing