We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£21
Hotels.com
Priceline
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (414)
Filter reviews
414 results
Traveller rating
53
172
122
36
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
53
172
122
36
31
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
219 - 224 of 414 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We only stayed one night in Chiang Mai, but we really enjoyed our stay at this place. The room was large, clean, and comfortable, and a great value. The hotel is close to the night market and the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. I would stay here again.

Date of stay: April 2012
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank NanPan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Nice rooms, clean and confortable. Bathroom ok, also clean.
Don´t have safe in the room.
Good location near enough the market but without the noise of it.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ilandere
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 April 2012

If you pay rack rate for this hotel it is over priced at 2000 baht however they seem to have good promotions on their website and also other hotel booking sites have good prices.

The hotel rooms are clean and comfortable in a kind of normal hotel room way. There is nothing spectacular but you are not paying spectacular prices.

The hotel is in a great location for the night bazaar (2 min walk), which tourists seem to love, it's close to the river (5 or so min walk), and about an 8 minute walk up to the moat area. There are loads of restaurants and laundries and everything nearby so it really is a convenient place to stay. If you don't want to use taxi's you don't need to. If you do then they are close by.

Breakfast is a buffet breakfast and not super fantastic but it has cereals, toasts and croissants and your standard egg and sausage plus a selection of asian dishes, which are actually quite good.

Knowledge of local prices for taxi's by those at the front desk would be helpful instead of just saying I don't know and trying to edge people towards the in house tour company but that is probably the only disappointment I found.

Room tip: I chose a deluxe room and it had a nice big window looking out to the mountains around Chiang Mai with a (very) comfortable sofa to sit on and relax. I looked into a superior room and whilst it looked nice the view from a deluxe was better
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BTTPres
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Following my review in August 2011 the hotel has now got a new owner and the hotel is currently undergoing renovation. It is also noted that the friendliness of the hotel has much improved overall.
During my last visit I stayed in one of the big spacious corner deluxe room which had a good view of Chiang Mai and on this occasion decided to stay in a Star Deluxe room. I must confess that I was a little disappointed that I was placed in a standard size room with little view of Chiang Mai, saying that the room had been fitted out to a modern standard which is not evident to other rooms in the hotel.
Standard of breakfast has not improved and I only ate their once during my stay. Having stayed in many hotels in the Chiang Mai area over the past 10 years I have found a few hotels who have provided a reasonable standard of breakfast.
As stated the hotel is currently under renovation the noise during my stay was very minimal except for around 30 minutes on one day where the noise was excessive but this not to say that this disrupt my stay at the hotel.
Will I return back to the hotel when I return back in 2013 the answer is yes.
Further email has been sent via hotel web site

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank witty92
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Starhotel_CM, Manager at Star Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. We do apologize for any inconvenience that occurred. Star Hotel is in the process of improving our services and standard we do looking forward to welcome you again in a near future. Please feel free to contact us via our hotel website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews