We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
An Chuirt, Gweedore Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gweedore
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good value break”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The hotel is located in a very scenic area about 10 minutes drive from the seaside village of an Bun Beag. The rooms are fairly spacious, well equipped and clean. We found them to be comfortable and quiet even though the hotel was fully booked. The rooms were very warm throughout our stay and without a thermostat to turn down we had to open the windows. The food was good not great. The carvery main course on the Sunday was nice but the starters and deserts we had were not great. Breakfast again was satisfactory. The entertainment in the bar was enjoyable. The staff in the bar and restaurant did seem very rushed, then again it was busy. Those on the front desk were very pleasant and helpful. Bun beag is close by and is well worth a visit, particularly if the weather is good. The front garden of the hotel is a lovely location to spend a few hours relaxing in the sun with what has to be one of the best views in ireland. All considered, it is a good value break at An Chuirt. I hope to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thompsonsbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    116
    53
    25
    18
See reviews for
153
167
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Just returned from a two night stay with my sons their wives and our seven young grandchildren We all had a brilliant time. The hotel was great.The receptionist was more than good to everyone she went out of her way to ensure that the children enjoyed themselves. The rooms were great ,had everything you could want We also had great service in the dining room where we had dinner both nights. Food great. Had a fabulous time thank ypu

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adelaide H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

As a regular visitor to the area(inlaws live nearby) we often stay and eat in the hotel and we have used their pool several times with the family. On this occasion I wanted to use the gym as i am in training for marathon. Myself and my nephew arrived at the spa and were told there was no gym only rate it was 10 Euro for use of health club. We both felt this was a little expensive for just using the gym but we paid and off we went. Whilst the gym is very spacious and plenty of machines and tv on wall the entire place lacked atmosphere and could do with some posters or charts on the body and muscles and stretches . There was no instructor on duty , there were no floor mats or bench in main area beside free weights and ab curlers were broken and a health a safety issue and should be replaced asap. This could be a booming business if a little thought on branding and marketing was given. There is a huge population in the area especially in the summer months with tourists and local Irish colleges and although these people may not necessarily be staying in the hotel I am sure a lot would use the facilities and perhaps a coffee dock if one was available. There is a kids play center which again our son has used with his cousins who live locally so there is an opportunity here to leave kids in play center while parents use gym and or spa. I will not be back as the cost for two visits at weekend is beyond my budget and would be half my monthly membership in my top level gym in Dublin. It is a shame as our summer will be spent in the area as I am sure is the case for many others.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sniloinsigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here over the weekend break and loved every minute of our stay. The hotel is very beautifully decorated, the staff were lovely and very helpful. We drive to Bunbeg just a few miles away and the staff were great at giving us directions.

We ate in the bar both evenings and could not fault the food at all, reasonably priced and excellent service even though it was very busy.


We Would defiantly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a break away from reality and want to unwind for a few nights, among the hills of Donegal.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Danielle06maguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We visited here on Easter Sunday to use the Spa (Earagail Health Club) and had pre-booked the carvery lunch in the hotel.

The spa was great...sauna, steam room, jacuzzi, bubble beds, waterfall showers in the pool. As with most pools/spas it could do with a bit more TLC to keep mould round the wall in check, but it was on the right side of clean!
The separate kids pool and the vigilant pool guard meant that no stray kids ventured over to the designated adults pool (and jacuzzi, sauna and steam room). We didn't bring the kids this time but will do in future knowing that they can splash about as much as they like in their on pool without annoying anyone. Changing rooms could do with some TLC too but they had decent showers and hair dryers so just a minor negative.

Lunch at the carvery in the function room was good. Huge portions of fresh good food. Starter of chicken and mushroom vol au vents were particularly good.
Choices of roast beef, lamb, turkey and ham, salmon and another couple I can't remember with mountains of veg. Puddings - lemon cheesecake was light and tasty, bread and butter pudding was a little disappointing, choc fudge cake as standard.

All in all I would definitely recommend this hotel's spa and restaurant. Location is close enough to investigate the county and far enough out to appreciate the beautiful landscape.

Just watch out for the bar though as we thought it was a bit pricey!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowSully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed here over the Easter weekend. The hotel is beautiful and in a very scenic location overlooking a lake and forest. Our room was on first floor. It was clean and well furnished with beautiful fabrics. Breakfast was buffet style and although busy was very good quality.

The only negative aspect of our stay was the disturbance of children running up and down the corridor when we were trying to get to sleep. The ground floor bedrooms are located close to the reception area and unsupervised children soon found this to be a good play area. Perhaps this would not have been a problem if we had stayed outside the school holiday period or if the parents had taken some responsibility for their children..

Tipi: The hotel should put together details of local walks in the area. We enjoy walking but information on what was available was difficult to get and I'm not sure we found the best walks!

Room Tip: Don't stay on the ground floor. Too accessible to reception and there is a games room at the en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We got married here on January 3 2014 - and it was absolutely fantastic. The food was second to none, the rooms luxurious but it was Lewis, Mary and Ann and the rest of the team at An Chuirt who really made it. We stayed a second night and around twenty guests dined in the bar. The seafood linguini was incredible - and I''m told on good authority that the steak was hard to beat! Not only is the setting of the hotel stunning in the "wilds of Donegal", the hospitality will make you feel at home. Many of our friends said they'd definitely return - in fact one pal's taking his family this week which reminded me to write to Lewis and all to say a huge thanks. We look forward to going back.

T & D

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gweedore
4.5 mi away
Caisleain Oir Hotel
Caisleain Oir Hotel
#1 of 1 in Annagry
400 reviews
6.9 mi away
Carey's Viking House Hotel
Carey's Viking House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kincasslagh
209 reviews
15.3 mi away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Arnolds Hotel
Arnolds Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunfanaghy
388 reviews
22.1 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,101 reviews
8.8 mi away
Waterfront Hotel Dungloe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An Chuirt, Gweedore Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Chuirt, Gweedore Court Hotel

Property: An Chuirt, Gweedore Court Hotel
Address: Gweedore, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Gweedore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gweedore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — An Chuirt, Gweedore Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacularly set in the heart of the Donegal Gaeltacht, amidst breathtaking scenery. This historic country retreat has been completely restored & offers the highest of comfort and service in the area. Facilities include 66 en-suite bedrooms, bar, restaurant,conference & banqueting facilities, M.arina kids adventure play centre, award winning Earagail health club including Serenity hair and beauty saloon. The perfect location for a getaway break with fantastic midweek & weekend offers available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your An Chuirt, Gweedore Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An Chuirt, Gweedore Court Hotel County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing