We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm Welcome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boucherie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Coquille
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Boucherie
Ranked #1 of 3 La Coquille B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Warm Welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

My partner and I stayed at La Boucherie during August and even before we got there received a warm welcome in the e-mail correspondence from hosts Victor and Gaynor Gunn, a retired couple from Brighton who really know how to put guests at ease and enjoy their stay in this idyllic corner of the Dordogne. Our arrival and stay of four nights was an absolute pleasure. The accommodation in the old house was full of charm with lovely old beams beautiful wooden floors and private/personal bathroom. Breakfast of continental style was taken in the delightful pergola with scrumptious fresh bread from the village bakery. We decided to eat in one evening and were provided with a delicious feast of tender lamb and suitable accompaniments by very accomplished cook Victor and served by Gaynor, all with good quality local wines. Overall a great experience and highly recommended to those who want something different and easy. Our thanks to Victor and Gaynor for being great hosts and making our stay so pleasurable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
17
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stopped three nights with Victor and Gaynor in their fabulous house. Our Mastiff Murphy loved the place and got on really well with their two dogs and the food was great. Don't even think about it. If you are anywhere near just stay here!
Victor and Gaynor are great hosts and know the area well enough to tell you all the things not to miss and all the places to visit.
When you do just say hello from us.
Richard Caroline and Murphy

Room Tip: The rooms are fine and ours was en suite. If it is available the cottage with its own lake - yes I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasMing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huercal-Overa,Almeria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

We stayed at La Boucherie for 1 night during our removal from England to live in Spain on 17th April with our elderly Rottweiler. We were late arriving but were met with the utmost kindness & hospitality and a lovely meal. We would recommend this lovely place to anyone and especially if you have dogs that you want to take. Can't praise the experience enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CandyandLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed just one night at La Boucherie and felt immediately welcomed into the Gunn home. Arriving after a long hot drive we felt quickly refreshed wandering down to their Lake and walking through the fields. We enjoyed a fabulous restaurant quality evening meal of local produce and sampled some lovely local wine as well and chatted well into the night. Breakfast on the veranda after a great nights sleep in comfy beds topped off a fab stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at La Boucherie. The warm, friendly welcome offered by Gaynor and Victor made us feel very relaxed, and the food was simply excellent, both in quality and value, with no stinting whatsoever. They provided us with good advice on what to do and see in the area, and it was great to have the lake close by and available. I do not hesitate to recommend a stay with them, and would certainly return for another visit myself.

Room Tip: If you are a night-time reader then ask for a room with reading lamps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CustomerOpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed here to attend a friend's party in the community and were immediately struck by the warmth and friendliness of Gaynor and Victor. On arrival, after a long journey, we were offered a very welcome cup of tea and some delicious homemade cake while we relaxed on the shady verandah that provides a stunning open living area to the house. Our room under the eaves was attractive and quirky with an extremely roomy adjoining bathroom and, with the windows open, a cool breeze ensured we slept comfortably both nights. The breakfasts were excellent as was the home-cooked dinner we ordered for our last night; we ate with our hosts and enjoyed the regional produce, generous helpings of wine as well as their entertaining company. La Boucherie is situated in a stunning part of the country - a gentle agricultural area with some woodland and lakes (for swimming in). It's just off the N21 between Limoges and Perigeux so would make a perfect pitstop for those heading south or equally would be a wonderful destination in itself. With Gaynor and Victor to look after you, you would be well and truly pampered.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank janrhian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

Many thanks to Gaynor and Victor for making our stay in their lovely B&B so perfect. The accommodation is stunning and within a few mins of arriving we immediately felt like "one of the family" We were even rewarded with a wonderful night out with our hosts at the local village fete - a truly memorable occasion. The walk down to and around the swimming lake is beautiful we only wish that we could have stayed longer and relaxed more in such wonderful surroundings - our dogs would have loved it. We must return in the future and will recommend this little gem to everyone we know.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ridings63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Coquille hotels
1.9 mi away
Logis Les Voyageurs
Logis Les Voyageurs
#1 of 1 in La Coquille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
2.9 mi away
Le Relais de Chantecor
Le Relais de Chantecor
#1 of 1 in La Coquille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boucherie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boucherie

Property: Boucherie
Address: Lotissement les Fougeres | La Coquille, 24450 La Coquille, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > La Coquille
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in La Coquille
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 2.5kms from the main route RN21 at La Coquille between the major towns of Limoges and Perigueux in the village of St Priest Les Fougeres we have a lovingly restored 200 year old French farmhouse, which is our home and to which you will receive a warm welcome. We offer 3 tastefully furnished and decorated double bedrooms each with private bathroom. On warm days and summer evenings relax and dine on our outside terrace. We have a large enclosed garden and you are welcome to bring your dog. A quiet relaxing environment. Open from mid April to end of October. A minimum stay of 2 nights during July and August. An ideal base for sight-seeing the lovely Perigord Vert or an ideal stop-off for touring. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing