We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camping Tohapi Domaine des Tours
Ranked #67 of 176 Speciality Lodging in Aveyron
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed on this site in mid -June in a mobile home which we hired direct from the campsite.The campsite is rather remote but set against a beautiful lake and surrounded by lovely countryside.
Unfortunately, the home was situated amongst trees and with no view of the lake though we got tantalising glimpses of it glinting through the foliage!This made for a very dark and damp mobile home and we had to make good use of the heater to ensure the bedroom walls were not running with water in the morning as happened at the beginning of our stay.
Our main complaint was the general air of shabbiness on the campsite as though they were not yet geared up for visitors. I know mid June is not high season but you would expect some degree of preparedness. Our caravan was not ready when we arrived although we were told we were the first in this season and had booked months before.Within an hour, we were told it was ready, only to be met with the floors swilling in water as it had just been mopped.This set the tone of the whole place.The caravan was showing its age and the blankets on the bed were certainly not fresh.To make matters worse, there were newer caravans higher up the site with open aspects and stunning views across the lake.Outside around the caravan hadn't been touched. The table and chairs were filthy and the table was held together with gaffer tape!This was replaced on asking.The small decking area was too small really to sit on and the wood was old and beginning to rot.We got very little sun anyway where we were situated so didn't have the option of sitting out.
It would have helped if it had been made clearer on the website where exactly the vans were situated as they varied so much.
On looking around, the steps leading down to each terrace were not in good repair and I would say they were dangerous in places. Communal wash areas were a disgrace though one was quickly tidied up soon after our arrival. We had friends staying in their own caravan who used these facilities and were not happy with the day- to- day cleanliness of them.Similarly, toilets in the restaurant/bar area were dirty.
The whole place seemed to be operated by a group of young lads who were laid back to say the least. Whilst not wishing to sound sexist, it is never a good idea to leave cleaning duties to young males whose standards generally leave a lot to be desired!They were pleasant enough however when asked for anything but the chef seemed to be the only one to make an effort to be friendly.
We spoke to an English couple who had stayed in the past when the site was operated by Castels and they said how shabby it now was in comparison.We have stayed on many sites in France over the years and this was probably the worst though the potential is there because of the location.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ypumford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2011

Hi,
We visited this campsite in July 2011 as a family of 5 staying in a Keycamp static (Villanova 2 bedroom & 1 wc) This stay was booked as the last 3 days of a longer holiday due to the sites proximity to our return airport Rodez.

NB: The layout of this lakeside campsite is set on a very steep hillside and would not be recommended should you have any concerns about walking uphill to get back to your accommodation, especially should you be pushing a buggy, although parking is available at the pool / bar / shop area.

Location & Travel to Site:
Firstly a car is essential if visiting this site with the use of a sat nav strongly recommended. The site is set in an elevated position approx 750m above sea level on a hillside above the Lot river valley in the Aveyron region of France. Simply search google maps for the town of ‘St Amans Des Cots’ which is the local village 5km away (I’m sure I could retrieve the satellite co-ordinates from my sat nav should anyone need these)
Some of the roads in this region of France are sometimes very steep (1st / 2nd gear) and being only perhaps 4m wide in places meeting an oncoming vehicle on a corner requires confidence whilst (for me) driving on the other side of the road. The main roads are wider although still steep. Saying that this is the price you will pay for some stunning scenery.
We used Rodez as our return airport which is 1hr 15min drive South, this very small airport is served from Dublin using Ryanair. So small in fact it has no shops / bar, simply vending machines, check in desks & car rental counters.

Car hire advice:
The vehicle pictured outside my keycamp van is a Peugeot 308 SW, this is an example of what Avis define as a ‘large’ car & it worked fine for 2 adults, 3 Kids & enough room for all the cases including baby buggy. Booked early in Jan 2011 I secured a price for 10 days rental of £408 which if booked in July would have been £700. Pays to book early it seems. Avis have the best opening hours at Rodez compared to Hertz & Europcar. The large town of Rodez is 15 mins away with many filling stations to re-fuel prior to return.

Site Info:
Having stayed with Keycamp in Italy & Spain this site is on the very small side with keycamp, eurocamp & site owned vans, tents, motor-homes & vehicle pulled caravans.
The site seems to be owned by ‘Village Center’ and accommodation can be booked direct perhaps saving a few pounds. I will stress again that access roads / footways are very steep but not impossible.

Staying with Keycamp in a Villnova was exactly what we expected having used them previous, though much to our dismay it seems the Villanova van does not come with a microwave as confirmed by the reps, we had to boil the kettle to heat the infant’s bottles. Guess we should have checked this prior. Keycamp’s reps were very helpful even to the point that on our last morning we were allowed to leave late as that van was not booked until later in the week. The reps can arrange portable DVD hire with a memory stick including a choice of any 4 movies from their computer list for 10euro / 24hrs, very handy for the young ones should the weather be inclement. They also offer babysitting (non Keycamp regulated)
Within the Keycamp reception all manner of board games, balls, outdoor sports equipment can be borrowed even including the use of a keycamp canoe! Parking for 1 vehicle is included free outside your van with air-conditioning & decking not an option on this site.

Tip: Use the ‘honesty box’ in the keycamp reception to find half jars of coffee, tin foil, cooking oil all of which have been donated by previous campers, leave a small donation & perhaps contribute yourself upon leaving.

Swimming Pools:
Unfortunately during the duration of our 3 night stay it never stopped raining with a max temp on 1 day of only 13deg C, very unseasonal weather I’m sure for the south of France. For this reason we did not venture into the pool, with only the brave seen shivering wrapped in towels!

There is one large life guard manned main pool with various depths adjacent to the bar with sun-loungers available free (I think) Another small shallow ‘toddler’ pool is at one corner with 2 ‘lazy river’ slides making up all the water attractions bar the lake in which swimming is not recommended.

You can make use of the lake by renting canoes, pedaloes & windsurfers all from the wooden hut near the pool. The lake has a ‘beach’ of sorts though not sure of the water temp!

Site Facilities:
Table tennis tables, boules area & a volley ball court make up the ‘dry’ sports with equipment available for hire.

The reception area, restaurant, take away & bar are all under the same roof.

The restaurant opened at 18:45 hrs offering a simple menu including pizza, burgers, ‘chicken’ nuggets & more, having used the take away (which has the same kitchen & service) we decided not to venture into the restaurant. Opening hours seemed to depend on the punctuality of the chef(s) with some nights only offering a restricted menu choice from the full listed.

At the end of the day, if pizza & ‘chicken’ (allegedly) nuggets keeps the rug-rats happy, then take away it is!

The bar becomes busy at night as the kids disco starts about 9pm for 30 mins with an additional feature every night to follow: quiz, kids show etc etc. Due to what it seems a lack of management structure the service can be hap-hazard, un-informed, under stocked & on one occasion downright rude! The adolescent staff it seems require some training! Ice cream from freezers is available & a few kids coin ‘machines’ are in the corner, pinball etc. Crepes are served in the bar from 15:00 – 18:00
Prices: small G&T – 4 euro & a glass of house red 2 euro.

A ‘Campsite Run’ kids club was available based at a small wooden shack with daily activities posted on a large board down at the bar.

Play Park: Very small with an attention span of max 10 mins (see pic)

Half way up the hill you will find toilets, sinks for your dishes & laundry machines more aimed at the tent dwellers

As for the shop, it is well known that more than often on-site shops can be expensive, this is very much the case here perhaps as the site is so isolated that they have a captive market. Example: 1 ltr of Perrier water in supermarket – 75cents, on site 1.20 euro.
Although very small it offers newspapers, fresh bread, of which only the early birds can catch the croissants, wines, spirits, dairy products, soft drinks, toiletries & confectionary.

For a larger shop & as you will have a car, visit the town of Espalion 35km (40mins drive) to the South along some beautiful scenic roads where you will find a large supermarket named ‘Super-U’ providing all your needs in the form of provisions & more!

Local Area:
You will find yourself in a very picturesque region with steep river valleys, the nearest town of St Amans des Cots has 2 small cafes, a spar shop, tobacconist & an ATM.
Between the site & Espalion you will pass through the very old riverside village of Estaing which dates way back with small winding streets, cafes & old bridge, beautiful & charming indeed!
This town can be seen nestling in the valley in one of my pics.

Conclusion:
A relatively small remote site offering limited activities with still a few points to score on the service aspect, fine for an ‘en route’ stay though difficult to endure a 2 week duration.

I have provided pictures and should you require any more info simply contact me, glad to help.

Prior to this we enjoyed a weeks stay at a delightful ‘Gite’ (cottage) with private pool which I would highly recommend, simply email me for details.

If this review has 'Informed' your decision please tick the 'Found this review Helpful' box

Enjoy your trip

Les & family

Room Tip: Only Mountain Goats Need Apply!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank Further_The_Better
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Granted, we were not blessed with the weather ( it rained nearly every day) but even so, something was missing. It did not live up to its' description. I imagined a medium sized camp with loads of activities.

I came here with my mother and 2 children aged 12 and 8. We travelled with Ryan Air ( enough said!- not the most pleasant company to travel with and were charged £80 for extra luggage- we should have known)

We have stayed in the Dordogne ( St Avit de Loisirs) and in the Loire ( L'Etang de la Breche) which were described as 'small' and they were both lovely holidays, with a lovely ambience and many happy times. At these locations, the staff were full on in their entertainment and committment, the facilities were all open when they said they would be, and the layout of the camps meant that we could communicate with others and make friends. Both these camps were fantastic and I have no complaint about either.

The location: Absolutely stunning. No complaint here.

The site: Nearly all mobile homes and eco lodges are on a steep incline, somen quite a long way from the centre. Pitches near the lake, but some pitches are interspersed with mobile homes and appear small. The trouble is that the pitches are all very private, facing away from everyone else, which is fine if you like privacy, but it means that there is no cause to talk to anyone else. The open spaces are quite away from the pitches. We are used to having a veranda and watching the world go by, and we did not have this this year. We did not realise what a difference this would make.

Mobile home: Brand new, spacious, but the tap was broken in the kitchen and whilst the staff noticed this on inspection, nothing was done about it during our stay.

Staff: Mixed response- some great, some less so. The bar staff were busy chatting to their mates and serving themselves drinks before realising that there was a paying customer. Most were polite, but there seemed to be a very relaxed attitude by most of them. They were young, and we were patient, but I just got the feeling that the management of the place was generally lacking. For instance, I paid 20 euros for internet access for a week. The card did not work. I went to the accueil to be told that I should return the following day. It was raining hard that day. I asked if I could have another card, but she just told me to return tomorrow, not getting the point that I was losing a days' access that I had paid for.

The waterslides: Great, very exciting, but only available from 2.30 until 6.30. One big crazy river with floats that you go down in( hair raising) and two chutes that were decent. However, they often started them late and closed them when they felt like it. When we complained that the waterslide staff were chatting to their mates at the poolside, they finally opened the gates. Why limit access though?

The pools: The toddler pool was fine and the main pool was decent. The surrounding area was clean and non slippy.

Other activities such as bungy, zip-wire and tree walking: bungy was available from 1-6 but zipwire is only once a week on a Friday at 11am. The tennis and table tennis tables were located quite far away.

Entertainment: we did not bother as the bar area was very small for the amount of people that they were trying to occupy. Cant put my finger on it. It just lacked atmosphere.

The shop was reasonably well stocked, but again closed between 2-5.30. That was OK.

Barbeques are charged as additional rental.

Generally, the site was clean and appeared to be reasonably well maintained.

In all, we chose this campsite because we felt that it had more on offer than the others that we had been to, but it was in fact a lot quieter and lacked that campsite feeling in a way that we had not experienced before.

I think that this campsite would suit a young family looking for a very peaceful holiday, and it IS a nice place. I think that I was more mislead by the write up of it than anything else. If you want a quiet, peaceful camping holiday, in a beautiful location, then this is the place for you. We were simply hoping for more action and a little more communication. The children were, simply quite bored. ( Note: my mother is 67 and not inclined to leave the campsite, so that did not help either!)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank rosiegibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lucr379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Maxime B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank didier H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aveyron
8.6 mi away
Best Western Le Relais de Laguiole Hotel & Spa
14.8 mi away
Herve Busset Le Moulin de Cambelong
19.9 mi away
Marmotel
Marmotel
#4 of 6 in Saint Geniez d'Olt
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Glamping Camping Terre Rouge
Glamping Camping Terre Rouge
#1 of 1 in Villecomtal
81 reviews
15.8 mi away
Camping de Saint-Urcize
Camping de Saint-Urcize
#2 of 3 in Saint-Urcize
11 reviews
20.5 mi away
Residence Goelia le Village Goelia
Residence Goelia le Village Goel...
#1 of 6 in Saint Geniez d'Olt
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Tohapi Domaine des Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Tohapi Domaine des Tours

Address: Lieu Dit les Tours, 12460, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Aveyron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 176 Speciality Lodging in Aveyron
Hotel Class:4 star — Camping Tohapi Domaine des Tours 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Camping Tohapi Domaine des Tours reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camping Tohapi Domaine Des Tours France/Aveyron

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing