We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New and falling apart”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fuente Mayor Hotel & Resort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Tunuyan
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“New and falling apart”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

Great location in south central Mendoza (Uco Valley) wine country. Management must be asleep. Indoor pool really filthy with green covering bottom. Outdoor pool closed due time of year. Nice rooms with central control of heat/ac though each room has a temperature control on wall, it does not control heat or ac. So if you don't want to swelter when heat goes on in AM while you sleep, better open window! Might even be nice to have a waste basket in guest rooms! Tiny one in bath. Certainly get impression that ownership doesn't have a great deal of experience in hotel management. Hopefully will pull it together as this hotel location is a wonderful idea.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    149
    61
    21
    10
See reviews for
75
157
4
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
153 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

New hotel so everything is in new condition. We had king bed with a view of the mountains. The view is wonderful--worth a second floor request. The bathrooms are spaciaous enough with adequate counter space, but the lighting was dim. The beds and linens were all okay, nothing special. Room lighting was also minimal and at night more lights would have been helpful.
There are also limited electrical oulet to plug in electronics. I would have expected a new hotel to account for electronic baggage with more outlets. But they were behind or under tables and nightstands--the table lamps did not even have an outlet.
Since you are away from town you are captive to the hotel restaurant. The service and food varied greatly. One night we had superub food and service (excellent waiter two of the nights but not others) the next night the wait staff and kitchen were different and our dinner was not nearly as good--a disappointment to say the least. The breakfast buffet was acceptable.
Biggest reason to stay: located close to many Uco Valley vineyards and the view.
Biggest problem with hotel: room heat. The rooms facing the mountains get the full afternoon sun and the temperature in our rooms was well over 80F, the three days we stayed there. It was really uncomfortable and apparently it could not be remedied. This and the mixed experience with our dinners is the primary reason for the 3 instead of a 4 rating.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BluDragonFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

This hotel was only a couple of months old when we stayed so everything was almost new. Rooms are large and comfortable and the amenities were well equipped. However, It's strongest point is location: perfectly central for visiting all the wineries of the Uco Valley. We recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ale-n-Demi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcelo R, Gerente at Fuente Mayor Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Thank you for write a reiew !!! As you mention Our Premium location in Uco Valley , our facilities and our staff are part of our Identity , and one of the reasons why the Fuente Mayor Resort & Casino is a great choice for a Stay in Mendoza The land of Malbec , providing Value for Money, and being recommended by over 90% of the travellers. Yet, we are constantly working on enhancing our facilities and services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

New hotel, 3 months, 4 star and a much needed capacity hotel in this region of Uco Valley where very good hotels are hard to get into in high season.

What a shame, the rooms are large, the corridors and communal space are very Ibis or motel like but forgivable. Pool was well cleaned and some of the staff where very professional.

We have to explain we were inspecting this hotel and were offered one night free and one night with a discount.

We were travelling with Friends who are not in the business and were told anyway that they were going to be given a discount on their rooms. Our Friends could not arrive as the one is pregnant and had been shaken around too much and I only gave them 18 hours notice that they couldn't come.On check in we were told no problem an administrative fee would be levied and not to worry.

Dinner. Sweetbreads/ Mollejas are a neck gland that is extremely popular delicacy in Argentina and I love them so we ordered two to start with. They were the size of Human Heart on entering our knifes into them blood come and then we hit Ice, Frozen inside. Never had the pleasure of anything so disgusting in my life and the staff were very gracious but the damage was done to our minds and stomachs . The Salad that came after was carefully picked through after that and yes the tomato had be eaten by worms, the lettuce was browned transparent in places and we left with good grace but hungry as there is nothing else close by and couldn't face more food. Things happen I get that, but that was not only a hygiene danger its was unforgivable.

The mini bar had lots of little animals underneath it that mist be attracted to the light or something but was not very inviting.

Checking out was the fun part. We were charged full rate for the two nights in a virtually empty hotel despite begin told we had a discount and the discount was from 710 pesos to 694 pesos.. that's 1.2% and then we started on about the Administrative charge and No the hotels management says you must pay for 100% of the room as we did not give 48 hours notice. We gave 24 and explained about the pregnant friend again but to no avail. Well the receptionist started crying , criticised my partner and I's Spanish, one fluent and one reasonable after 8 years in Argentina.. A total farce and real shame. and all for 160 USD a night... NO bargain here, this is an expense account Ibis and I hope they get things right in the future. But they wont.

Room Tip: Yes go to another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertsonTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcelo R, Gerente at Fuente Mayor Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Our clients’ feed-back is welcome and we take your comments and suggestions into account to help us improve our service and we are very sorry to hear that your stay was not the most enjoyable one !
We hope you give us a chance to prove that we are still a convenient value- for- money option for travellers visiting Mendoza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
602 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

Just what wine country in Argentina needed. A english friendly, modern restaurant and hotel with Argentine flare. You have to have the ice cream (helodos)!! They have complimentary wifi and if you have stayed at a Four Seasons lately, that is a $40 perk.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nvlinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcelo R, Director Comercial at Fuente Mayor Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Thank You for taking the time and write a Review, we hope to have you as a Special Guest on your next visit to Mendoza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tunuyan
8.0 mi away
Casa de Uco Vineyards & Wine Resort
18.0 mi away
Auberge Du Vin, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
13.0 mi away
Posada Salentein
Posada Salentein
#3 of 5 in Tunuyan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Vines Resort & Spa
The Vines Resort & Spa
#1 of 5 in Tunuyan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
2.3 mi away
Postales Boutique Wine Hotels - Valle de Uco
18.6 mi away
Hotel Chardonnay
Hotel Chardonnay
#1 of 2 in Tupungato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fuente Mayor Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fuente Mayor Hotel & Resort

Property: Fuente Mayor Hotel & Resort
Address: Ruta 92, km 15 Vista Flores, Tunuyan, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Tunuyan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Tunuyan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fuente Mayor Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fuente Mayor Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fuente Mayor Hotel & Resort Province Of Mendoza/Tunuyan, Argentina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing