We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little cottage & awesome location for fishing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Maydena Country Cabins
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little cottage & awesome location for fishing”
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Best place to stay in Maydena - hands down. Quiet, clean, safe (...very safe in fact since about a block from ambulance/fire & police ....but don't worry as you won't hear sirens in this very quiet town.) Anthea is also such a great host & very informative.

Re: Fishing - If you looking for a place to go fishing the small river at the bottom of the hill (Tyenna River) is one of the very best in the state for trout. Had no luck catching them ....but did see a few so I can assure you they are there. Get your gear in New Norfolk - (Winstons I believe - the owner invented the original Tassie Devil lure believe it or not!) Also saw 3 platypus (platypuses/platypodes?) in river while fishing. You can walk along river through a great agreement Tassie has with landowners. Must go & see Salmon Ponds while in area - feed the trout and they are enormous & voracious eaters! Even if you are not in to fishing my wife & I got such a thrill watching them jump and swarm to the surface to eat the pellets - it may sound corny but it's hilarious! :)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Caloundra, Queensland, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2012

This wonderfully comfortable and welcoming place was the absolute best discovery during our trek around Tasmania. We have stayed in many different places around Australia, however this place really was the very best! Comfortable, cosy, stunning views, wonderful and helpful hosts!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Would love to have stayed longer. This place was just so welcoming. From the friendly owner, to all the touches and extras in the cabin, the wonderful breakfast provisions & the cute alpacas
Absolutely loved it here. Loved the cheesecake too

Room Tip: The drive out to Strathgordon is highly recommended. The views of the mountains & Lake Pedder ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dags111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballina, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed in this exceptional property in the second week of January and could find absolutely no fault. The hosts were welcoming , friendly and more than hospitable. The cabin was fitted out to a higher standard than any 5 star hotel room, with TV, Dvd music centre with supplied cds and dvds, kids games, books and quality dinnerware etc. Our daughter loved feeding the alpacas and still talks about how nice Anthea [the host ] was to her. We could thoroughly recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

I tried to put up a review on Maydena Country Cabins a few weeks ago but it seems to have gone into the ether. So, as we really enjoyed our stay there, I thought I would send in another review.

The cabin we stayed in is a small 2 bedroom self contained cabin on a beautiful alpaca farm with glorious views over the valley towards Mount Field National Park. There is a second cabin on the property. Our cabin was very nicely fitted out although there is little storage space for luggage because the rooms are small (but quite adequate).

Anthea, Derek and the Alpacas are very welcoming and know the area very well. They are informative and caring hosts. The bread and butter pudding on arrival was scrumptious!

There is so much beautiful country to see in the area, and it's only 1 1/4 hrs from Hobart! Nearby, there is the whole of Mount Field National Park with the iconic Russell Falls at the base and great bush walking including the famous Tarn Shelf at the top. Maydena is an ideal place to stay to see Lake Pedder. But the most startling and impressive sights are the giant 400 year old trees and old growth forest of the Styx and Florentine valleys which are within 20 km of Maydena. Many of the trees are between 80m and 90m high and they are the largest living flowering plants. Download the Wilderness society guide for the Styx at http://www.wilderness.org.au/campaigns/forests/styx_walking_guide which will tell you exactly where to go and what to see.

I hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GEOMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

A very small property well off the beaten track between Hobart & Gordon Dam / Lake Pedder located on an Alpaca stud in the south-west wilderness area. The cabin was very well appointed with a full kitchen, TV DVD etc, with nice little touches to make the place feel homely.

Although it was late November when we visited the weather gods arranged for a heavy dump of snow on the surrounding mountains, fairly heavy rain & low temps. The cabin was very cosy & the beds warm + comfortable. There are not much in the way of shops in the area so you need to self-cater to some extent, although eggs, bread, cereal etc etc etc is all provided to prepare yourself breakfast. Our hosts also provided a lovely home made warm bread & butter pudding with berries and custard for supper - a great touch.

Would stay here again if we re-visit the area and highly recommend the property to friends and other travellers.

Room Tip: There are only two cabins so book well ahead if you are planning to visit this part of Tassie.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philnterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

this place is amazing. The views spectacular. The hosts are welcoming, kind and friendly. The cabins are well appointed and comfortable. We stayed in mid july, freakish cold weather all over tasmania for our entire stay. Power went out in the valley and derek and anthea invited all 6 of us into there home for breakfast. Derek in snow gear boiling water on the bbq whist it snowed in gail force winds. A rare find in the styx valley with amazing hosts. It was a great bbq coffee. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cxzazk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maydena
6.8 mi away
National Park Hotel
National Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mount Field National Park
41 reviews
0.3 mi away
Giants' Table and Cottages
10.6 mi away
Duffy's Country Accommodation
Duffy's Country Accommodation
#1 of 7 in New Norfolk
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Hamlet Downs Country Accommodation
1.1 mi away
No photo provided
10.3 mi away
Sassafras Springs
Sassafras Springs
#1 of 1 in Ellendale
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maydena Country Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maydena Country Cabins

Property: Maydena Country Cabins
Address: 46 Junee Rd, Maydena, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Maydena
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Maydena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maydena Country Cabins 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Maydena Country Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maydena Country Cabins Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing