We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's like you're on a little farm!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Giants' Table and Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Giants' Table and Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Katoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It's like you're on a little farm!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Best bits:
Quiet, lovely gardens and animals, owner lovely and helpful, price, comfy beds, spa, spacious!!
Worst bits:
Probably not the most nice-looking cottage on the inside but the warmth, price and comfort soon made up for it.

More detail:
Giant's Table was a great, restful place to stay. I loved the fact that outside there was a gorgeous property with beautiful little ponds everywhere and ducks and hens, and mini goats and chooks. And also nice views to the distant hills and mountain ranges.

The cottage was big, and although was chilly when we first arrived, was soon really toasty warm with all the heaters cranked (1 heater per room plus 1 in the lounge), which we were initially a little worried about, being the middle of winter!

Simple but clean furnishings with everything you'd need to be self-contained. I appreciated the thoughtful extras such as glad-wrap in the drawer, large bottles of good shampoo and conditioner in the bathroom, a really handy carwash bucket with window cleaning squeegy hanging outside. Also the rooms were set up well, with bedside tables, lamps, racks for hanging clothes/ putting items, and enough electric sockets.

I loved having a spa, so relaxing, although you need to be careful of using up all the water in 1 full bath if anyone else wants to have a shower afterwards as it takes 2 hours for there to be hot water again.

Loved this place, would definitely come back again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Chudleigh" cottage. This was nice and comfortable. It did adjoin to anot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Szivem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    18
    13
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
32
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Thank you for a warm and friendly welcoming. Thank you for decorating the room with balloons for our daughters birthday. The little chocolates and bracelet were so thoughtful. Love the goats, pigs and chooks. The surroundings are great for a walk. Very reasonably priced, very clean, comfortable and spacious. We had a great time and would come back again.

Room Tip: We chose the deluxe room with spa and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Chiily winter weather needs the cabins heaters turned on before arriving to make them more cosy. Plenty of kitchen room and self-catering facilities. Peaceful, clean, but the supplied chicken casserole was overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tasrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had two great nights here. The accommodation was homely and comfortable and the hosts very helpful and friendly. Maydena is a quaint little village but go prepared with food and drinks as there is only a small take away. You can buy alcohol and other staple items at Reception. The grounds are beautiful and peaceful with platypus in the lake (they were hiding on our visit!). A visit to Marriotts Falls in this area is a must, it isn't in the National Park and a little rugged but certainly worth the effort to get there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellcee8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stayed in April. Lovely and homely. Very comfortable bed and facilities. Nice solid timber furniture. Had breakfast by the lake. Great for families. Would have loved to stay longer. Mis-understanding well rectified.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

This is a very late review, as we stayed in December 2013. The cottages are well laid out - furnishings aren't "lush" or expensive, but they show care and love and are comfortable and attractive. Pond is great. Hosts offered lovely advice and assistance during the trip, without being obtrusive. Would love to stay again.

Room Tip: the rooms are all unique - the differences in location are probably less important than the faciliti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We received one of the more updated cottages with all the modern requirements and clean feel of an updated cottage along with anything that you may need in the kitchen.
Putting the cottage aside, upon our arrival we were greeted by the owners who were not only friendly, but also helpful to explain what we should do in the surrounding area, considering the weather was actually pretty rough.
Also took us to see where the platypus usually are.
View from the cottages is fantastic. Beds are comfortable with a separate room for the kids.
Dinner was really good and highly recommended. Would definitely recommend anyone coming into the region to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadav77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maydena
0.3 mi away
Maydena Country Cabins
Maydena Country Cabins
#2 of 2 in Maydena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hamlet Downs Country Accommodation
10.6 mi away
Duffy's Country Accommodation
Duffy's Country Accommodation
#2 of 7 in New Norfolk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Curringa Farm
Curringa Farm
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
10.1 mi away
Sassafras Springs
Sassafras Springs
#1 of 1 in Ellendale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
1.0 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giants' Table and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giants' Table and Cottages

Property: Giants' Table and Cottages
Address: Junee Road, Maydena, Tasmania, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Maydena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Maydena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Giants' Table and Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 7 self-contained houses available, a 1 bedroom spa cottage, a 2 bedroom spa cottage, two x two bedroom houses, three x four bedroom houses and a five bedroom house. We are situated 10 minutes from Mount Field National Park and on the edge of the South West Wilderness World Heritage Area. The Styx Valley with its Giant Trees is nearby and we are en-route to Lake Pedder and the Gordon Dam. We are surrounded by wildlife and have platypus in our lake and wetlands. We have an on-site restaurant, open in summer for dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Giants' Table and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giants' Table And Cottages Maydena, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing