We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Children's Fun” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Railtrack Riders

Railtrack Riders
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Maydena
Type: Rail Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Children's Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

My children had a wonderful experience in travelling along the Maydena Rail-riders. There were many giggles and a great adventure spent by both of them. The operators were very friendly and I would recommend everyone staying at the 'Maydena Chalet' to have a ride. You are able to book the accomodation at stayz.com or booking.com and the the rail-ride at the Hub in Maydena.
Kind regards and happy holidays
Jen

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    7
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Worth the drive from Hobart”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

This is an enjoyable trip. You can ride as hard or as easy as you like, with the push tractor never too far behind. The hosts are knowledgeable and friendly. They are looking to extend the journey down to National Park, and I'll definitely do the longer journey when it's available.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Hansie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Something a bit different”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Great fun, riding along a section of disused rail track in pedal carts, with a helping push from a repurposed ride-on lawnmower for the uphill parts or when you are feeling lazy. We had two 2 person carts and had a nice 90 minutes or so. At the end of the track where you turn around there is an informative display on local forestry history, and a nice little bushwalk. If you are up in this area visiting Mt Field, this would be a great addition to your day. Hopefully their plans to extend the track will work out.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Tism99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caboolture, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“WOW - what fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

You just have to do this. You pedal a special pedal car through the Tasmanian rain forest. All fairly flat so easy to pedal but if you have any difficulty they have a little powered cart to push you. Ron the assistant was brilliant, he was well informed and had a great laconic Tasmanian personality. At the turn around point you get to go for a walk through the rain forest and whilst we didn't get to see the platypus we did get to see where its nest in the bank was. The ride and the walk are a must do. We couldn't stop talking about it for the rest of the day.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank avromark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The must fun you can have in Maydena without getting arrested!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013 via mobile

We had a great time here.

It's a great way to see some of the local history and get a little bit of exercise!

I'm glad they give you a little push up the 'steep' sections! The rail carts are a clever bit of local engineering and ire good to see someone preserving a bit of this now unused rail infrastructure.

The operators were friendly and had a lot of knowledge of the area and the kids loved looking for the 'secret' at the end of the line.

A must-do experience. Make due you book beforehand to avoid disappointment!

Helpful?
2 Thank Craig_tas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Railtrack Riders also viewed

Maydena, Tasmania
Maydena, Tasmania
 
Mount Field National Park, Tasmania
Mount Field National Park, Tasmania
 

Been to Railtrack Riders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing