We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some positives, but overall disappointing”
Review of Casa Del Titito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Del Titito
Ranked #1 of 3 Masachapa B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Positives: right on the beach, pool (note: it's saltwater), good breakfast, serve yourself refrigerator of beer, water, and soda was pretty reasonably priced, hired workers are appreciative / friendly, room was spacious.

Not-so-positives: room was block walls painted white with a small picture painted on the wall; overall very dingy-not clean looking at all; water pressure was very poor and the tap and shower are salt water; no TV, radio, clock, etc; no window other than a very small one in the bathroom - and no screen door on the sliding glass door so you have to basically just leave the door wide open to get a breeze which is limited; owner turns on power to the air conditioning only upon request after 9pm and turns off early in the morning; originally told there would be no tax charged if we paid in cash but after disputing a fee on the bill, we were charged tax even though we paid in cash; when owners were "nice", it did not feel genuine.

There are other lodging options in the area that appeared much nicer and the owners of these other places were more helpful and welcoming.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank onlyangie2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eltitito, Owner at Casa Del Titito, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Hi Angie...
when you came visit us ,we present to you different rooms and we explain to you very clear
about AC ,9 pm to 6 am,,the outside door must be close when you open the lights ,,then you always said you have a very nice place,,service food chief was great ,attention great so
why do you whrote whis very bad comments about our place ..
you change your mind ,,,,very strange we think your are friend of maybe competitors in Masachapa
very Strange Angie
we hope you will take off this very bad comment or explain direcltly us why you wrote this
casadeltitito@gmail.com
Gracias
Andre Denise
Owners work Hard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

Not sure how they received so many good reviews. My wife and I stayed here recently and had a not so great experience.

This could be a great place with just a little bit more work and effort. My wife and I booked 4 nights thru one of the booking sites. We booked a room with air conditioning with the intention of using it "when necessary", which for us, is when we are sleeping. There was a discrepancy with our payment the day we arrived. We still haven't straightened this out with the booking site we used.

After we foolishly allowed them to talk us into trying to sleep without the air conditioner, we find out that if you want the air on, you have to ask because the power to it, is not in your control. AND it doesn't turn on until 9pm and shuts off quite early in the morning. Arrived on Monday, left on Friday. The garbage can (not much bigger than a coffee can) was never emptied, floor never swept, no clean towels, not a thing. Nothing done or offered the whole four days. The day we got there my wife found a dead gecko on the floor. The cabinets don't close/lock. There is one small window in the bathroom and then a sliding glass patio door is the entrance door but it has no screen. The only breeze you can get in the room is to leave the patio door open. If you want water, good luck. The shower is a small trickle (and I don't think it's been cleaned anytime recently) and the sink faucet is a light spray. Oh, and it's salt water. Very salty, like ocean salty, and so is the pool. Not a big deal, but you need to buy a bottle of water to brush your teeth.

With the exception of a smile here and there, there is no welcome feeling here, except from the hired help. There is a restroom near the pool. I don't know the condition of it inside, only because we couldn't bear to get close to it because of the smell. Any time we lounged around the pool, we were forced to sit as far away from the restroom as possible and sometimes that wasn't even enough. Fortunately the mornings weren't bad while we had breakfast, which is my only positive note about the place is that the breakfast was very good. We did not eat any meals here as the prices were a bit high. They have a fridge with (somewhat) cold beverages that were priced fair. The bed was just OK. Not very comfortable. There is a section of the ceiling that appears to be falling down. Room 3, do not stay in room #3.

Back in the states we ride cross country on the motorcycle at least once or twice a year as well as do weekend getaways. Because we are only looking for a place to lay our heads, we are not picky and usually pick the cheapest hotel. This place is lower than anything we have ever stayed at. Anywhere (including the rest of Nicaragua). I wasn't expecting a lot for this price, but this place was far below our expectations.

They try to talk us out of using the air at night. The well appears to be too shallow which is why the water is so salty. There was no service to the room whatsoever while we were there. I could go on and on about the lack of services. This isn't our first time in Nicaragua and we are not snobbish types. We are blue collar workers looking for a dream spot to retire. Most if not all of the places we've been, politely ask us, "Electricity is very limited and very expensive here, would you mind not running the air conditioner during the day? It would be much appreciated." Nope, not here. Here they tell you that you are not allowed to use it until a certain hour and there was no mention of the fact that they would turn it off at an early hour of the morning. But why bother say anything at all when you the owner controls the power to the air conditioner at night anyways. The owner was an electrician back in Canada, yet there is cobbled electrical wiring with electrical black tape on everything and I mean everything.

The husband that speaks English was only around at night when we returned from an evening out to eat and a few drinks. Usually by this time they were seated at a table with other French speaking guests and in conversation, and not once did they invite us to have a seat with them.

The very last day/morning before the cab picked us up at 9am, Andre the owner decides we should now visit and act all friendly. In an attempt to not make my mood any worse for having to return to Wisconsin's freezing temperatures, we were polite and held conversation. We even attempted to ask about some area real estate because we heard from others that he was trying to get a real estate business going. My only advice to you is, try elsewhere.

During our walk around the area we did stumble upon a place called Casa Larocque. We ordered a pizza which turned out to be excellent and we had a few beers that were actually cold.
Our advice, go to Casa Larocque. $10 more a night, beautiful place, great food, very nice owner.

You can read my other reviews if you want. I don't normally leave reviews like this. Maybe one other, but that's it. Good Luck and enjoy Nicaragua. Oh, I almost forgot. I will do a business plug for Frank at the Gringo Loco. Pink building, on the beach just before you reach the stream in Masachapa. Had great conversation with him. Very nice guy.

Room Tip: If you plan to stay here, get a room that's in the main building and not the addition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kyle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eltitito, Owner at Casa Del Titito, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Hi Mr Kyle
your negative comment about our hotel is very srtange
when you came here
we explain to you very clear the AC system at your room then you agree
you and your wife was very friendly withs us and you told many times the service and food was very Good
you never complaint front of us and we ask you if everithing was ok then you said alwyas yes Andr we fell very relax at your place so..
Why do you wrote this bad comment about US i think you d ont like Canadian people or...
Thanks for think about this and retired this bad and wrong comment
Andre Y Denise ,,Honest persons work hard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

This hotel is very nice of front of the beach. Great food and the service it was awesome ..
Absolutely I would recommended this hotel . The owner are very nice people .
I enjoyed so much my stayed down there.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tatiana U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We love being with them, are very good and caring people. We have problems with our credit card and they were very patient and treated us like family. Definitely the ideal place to spend a few days of rest. I'm sure back and staying with them again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariajose G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I fully enjoyed my stay at Casa del Titito. The location right infront of the beach is great. The rooms are comfortable. The food is delicious. Service is courteous and respectful. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Great place, great food, wonderfull hosts, what can you ask for more???
More than 10 trips to Central America later, Titito is one of the best place I have been on the Pacific side. Only 1h and hall from Managua it offers a great value for à beach holiday. Definitaly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fwoin1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

After travelling for 4 weeks this was The last stop in Nicaragua, and one of the best experiences we had. It's a nice, calm and save place with great people! Located directly on the beach, very good food and the owners are just awesome. Thank you for everything! - Kati

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kati201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masachapa
10.6 mi away
Los Cardones EcoLodge
Los Cardones EcoLodge
#1 of 4 in Pochomil
102 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Pochomil
Casa Pochomil
#2 of 4 in Pochomil
37 reviews
11.8 mi away
Gran Pacifica Beach and Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vistamar
Hotel Vistamar
#4 of 4 in Pochomil
92 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Escuela Palmeras Resort
2.2 mi away
Barcelo Montelimar
Barcelo Montelimar
#1 of 1 in San Rafael del Sur
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Del Titito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Titito

Address: 70 km south of Managua | Pochomil , Masachapa, Masachapa, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Masachapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Masachapa
Price Range: £36 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shuttle disponible for airport $$ Hotel located directly on the beach Restaurant and Bar Perfect hotel for the family,,, swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Casa Del Titito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing