We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ta Lai Longhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We really enjoyed our 2-night stay at the Ta Lai Long House. Although were were in the rainy season, we were lucky to have no rain in the mornings to enjoy our hike into the forest, and kayaking on the lake. The best part of the hike was the visit to a bat cave and the walk along a stream. Also, getting to know how leeches look like without being beaten (because we were given a good gear with protection) was interesting.
George, Matt and their team were both professional and friendly. They shared with us the story of good cause behind the Ta Lai project - making us feel happy that we were making some contribution while having fun. They also shared with us their knowledge of the plants and animals in the forest - helping us learn new things. They told us about their personal lives and dreams, and even sang for us while waiting for the rain to stop.
We just got back from our trip, and are already planning our next trip when dry season comes.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nganlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Ta Lai Longhouse. The people were very friendly and cooked wonderful dishes. The house of bamboo we stayed in was very beautiful, comfortable and clean. Good information about the tours in Cattien Nationalpark.
Down the hill there is beautiful lake in which you can kayak and swim. It is possible to rent mountain bikes to bike to cattien nationalpark. We had a wonderful four day stay.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sander G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I have just come back from staying in this beautiful long house and must had to write about our great experience straight away. I booked the longhouse for 25of my friends who all live in HCMC and George (the manager) was simply excellent and so helpful at every stage of our booking and our stay.

We rented excellent mountain bikes, went kayaking and trekking. All the equipment is excellent and the price very reasonable. The longhouse has beautiful lounge areas to relax in hammocks or on bean. We also had a bonfire at night and the breakfast was excellent (with delicious coffee!).

Every aspect of our stay was wonderful. The staff were unbelievably friendly, accommodating and efficient.

It was a great experience and i would highly recommended staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catherine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George A, Manager at Ta Lai Longhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Hi Cathy

Thanks for taking the time to review us and for your positive feedback. We are very happy to hear you all enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure having you hear and I hope to see you all back here in the future. We are always improving our facilities, services, equipment, food, tours and other areas so it will be even better than your first stay!

Thanks again and please come stay with us soon.

Yours sincerely

George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed for four nights and can safely say we enjoyed every minute. From its stunning location overlooking the lake, to the wonderful food cooked by the charming crew of local ladies. Kayaking and swimming in the lake, birdwatching and bicycling in nearby Cat Tien. Just relaxing in one of the hammocks, thoughtfully strung up in various strategic locations for those in need of a little rest! Having a contemplative beer on the balcony as the sun sets.

One night we had the Longhouse to ourselves, the next we shared with 16 others, but we never felt cramped or crowded. Be warned, though, that there will be lots of interesting bugs and insects, but these are all part of the experience and are to be embraced as such.

The toilet and shower block was being renovated while we were there, once that is completed it will be even better.

To George, Ha and the team who looked after us so well, thanks - we didn't want to leave.

If you' re thinking of visiting Cat Tien, go to the Longhouse - you'll love it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Part_timer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George A, Manager at Ta Lai Longhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Hi

Thanks for your feedback and kind words. From all of us here in Ta Lai we are really happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us and i will let the ladies know that you enjoyed their cooking.

We have now finished the bathrooms and they look great so we hope you have the chance to return and see it for yourselves.

thanks again for reviewing us and we hope to see you again.

Your sincerely

George Abraham

On-site Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I found the Longhouse to be just about the perfect antidote to Saigon and to the touristy-chaos all too common in many popular parts of Vietnam (and Southeast Asia). Cat Tien has not quite marked it's spot on the main tourist-trail. If you visit on a weekday--it's particular pleasant/quiet.

Do not go to the Longhouse expecting it to be like a traditional guesthouse or hostel. For the right type of person, it is far better. In a lot of ways I'd call it fancy camping. However that's not completely accurate either.

The pleasantly rustic longhouse with it's comfy mattresses, downy-fresh sheets and mosquito net definitely beats sleeping in a tent. Though it's a shared space, bamboo curtain dividers and a spacious interior make the place feel pretty private and comfortable. It's one of the better dormitory style rooms I've slept in (and I've slept in literally hundreds). The modern bathrooms and showers (which were hot) were kept spotless by the incredibly friendly staff. Fresh, delicious and homemade family style meals add to the friendly nature of the place. Though I visited Ta Lai alone, I was easily able to meet other people to join and explore the park with.

Also notable is that you can feel good about spending your money at the Longhouse–with a generous portion of each night stay going directly to a community fund which helps Ta Lai Village & surroundings.

I already miss falling asleep to the peaceful sounds of the jungle, reading in the comfy hammock, and taking a sunset swim in the lake... Such a positive experience; I will return!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lwjubeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I was travelling for three months - and the stay in the longhouse was the best on my whole trip! Everybody was very friendly, and George is just a great hoster!
Of course it's not a luxury hotel, it's a simple longhouse right next to a national park. But I found everything I needed: Helpful and friendly staff, a very clean and comfortable area to sleep, very clean shower and toilet, amazing food and a wonderful area!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
Thank whoever_ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

I simply cannot fault the Longhouse and it's staff, nor praise it enough. I stayed here with a friend for several nights in April 2014 and it was incredible. With their own lake and waterways for swimming and kayaking in, hammocks to relax in and great views of the surrounding landscape the location is spectacular. The food was sourced locally and cooked fresh each day and was of high quality covering a variety of meat, fish and vegetable dishes to cater for all tastes.

George, the on-site coordinator, was more than happy to help arrange any activities we wanted to do but above all was a very friendly, laid back and knowledgeable host, sharing stories and local information over dinner and jokes round the campfire. He even went lengths to get me a phone charger and managed to get the football scores up for us! Top guy!

I must recommend the half day jungle trek and the kayaking, but even resting on the (surprisingly comfy) beds listening to the jungle sing it's way through the night is more than worth the very reasonable price per night.

Absolutely brilliant experience in both location and hospitality, a must for anyone coming to Ho Chi Minh or surrounding areas of Vietnam.

Kieran, London 17/04/14

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank KezSpez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cat Tien National Park
5.9 mi away
Lava Rock Viet Nam Lodge
Lava Rock Viet Nam Lodge
#2 of 4 in Cat Tien National Park
34 reviews
6.2 mi away
Forest Floor Lodge
Forest Floor Lodge
#3 of 4 in Cat Tien National Park
146 reviews
5.8 mi away
Green Bamboo Lodge
Green Bamboo Lodge
#2 of 9 in Nam Cat Tien
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Green Hope Lodge
Green Hope Lodge
#1 of 9 in Nam Cat Tien
205 reviews
6 mi away
Cat Tien Jungle Lodge
Cat Tien Jungle Lodge
#7 of 9 in Nam Cat Tien
49 reviews
6.4 mi away
Forest Call Lodge
Forest Call Lodge
#6 of 9 in Nam Cat Tien
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ta Lai Longhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ta Lai Longhouse

Address: Ta Lai Road, Cat Tien National Park 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Cat Tien National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Cat Tien National Park
Price Range: £11 - £19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a great night's stays surrounded by the jungles of Cat Tien National park (only 3 Hours from Ho Chi Minh) in our Longhouse. The Ta Lai longhouse is an adventure heaven overlooking Cat Tiens forests and steeped in the culture and history of the S'Tieng and Ma minorities. Pitched on the top of a hill, overlooking a lake our traditional longhouse offers a great jump of point to explore the surrounding areas. We offer a range of activities such as trekking, mountain biking, kayaking,animal watching and much more. If you don't fancy this then chill out and just relax in a hammock or swim in our lake only meters away. We have Morden facilities with showers, hot water, toilets, high speed internet for those who need to stay connected and a kitchen cooking amazing food!We collaborate with WWF (World Wide Fund for Nature) by supporting a fund set up for various community based projects running in Ta Lai and Cat Tien. Your stay will directly contribute to helping develop these! We hope to see you soon!Ta Lai Longhouse Team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Ta Lai Longhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing