We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING”
Review of Green Bamboo Lodge

Green Bamboo Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Green Bamboo Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Dundalk, Ireland
1 review
“AMAZING”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights , location is excellent right beside the river villas are beautiful and authentic , staff and manager are very welcoming and polite. Food is traditional vietnamese ,really nice.
It's also more value for money than the main resort across the river.
Boat readily available to cross river any time.
Great place to chill and central to the park amenities.
It's a good choice.

Brian.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    57
    12
    0
    1
See reviews for
33
105
42
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I stayed there fore three nights in May 2013 and it was exactly as I expected it-fabulous!

I had booked one of the river-front Bungalows. They are basic but had everything that I needed: a mosquito net over the large and comfortable bed, an electric fan, some storage racks, a clean bathroom with a hot shower (which I had not expected) and a private roofed terrace overlooking the river. The river front Bungalows are made out of Bamboo and stand elevated over the ground.

Apart from a number of Bungalows there is a nice larger communal roofed terrace/deck overhanging the river- the perfect spot for dinner and drinks. The food is good and reasonably priced and so are the drinks. The Park is just over the river: 2 Minutes walking distance to the ferry. The staff is expeptionally friendly. They went out of their way to organize a Motorbike to rent and were always super attentive.

I will definitely stay there again. It is just simply amazing to fall asleep and wake up to the sound of the forest and relax on the terrace without traffic noise or karaoke. This place is an oasis in an ever moving country!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa_A5340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in Jan 2014. We were upgraded to one of the bamboo huts by the river. It was unbelievably beautiful. The huts were extremely peaceful to be in - though we were hardly inside during the day. Instead we either spend our days inside the beautiful National Park or relaxing on the communal decking area that faced onto the river, watching the bird life. There is electricity, wifi, and hot water in the huts. Aside from the comfortable living arrangements & spectacular surrounds, I cannot speak more highly of Vung and his family. They were friendly, welcoming, & made sure we were looked after. I felt like we were being looked after by our own family. The next time we come to Vietnam, we will be coming back here! I would & have recommended Green Bamboo Lodge to anyone. I don't think this review does it justice. Loved it!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NatureTraveller5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

First things first the staff at Green Bamboo are exceptionally friendly and helpful. The owner a former park ranger clearly loves the area and is welcoming and informative to visitors.

The area which is green bamboo has several bungalows made from different materials from wood to brick to bamboo.

I stayed in a Bamboo hut which had been newly constructed and it was excellent.

The food was decent and fairly reasonably priced and the drinks also reasonable. One of the dining area over hangs the river and it is an amazing place to eat and drink, whilst watching the sunset and listening to the sounds of the jungle.

Couple of small problems when we arrived given different bungalows than were ordered, however a discount was given and the bungalows changed the following evening which was absolutely acceptable.

The electric appears to run on a generator and during my stay it did cut out a couple of times generally late in the evening, but those not used to the heat of south Vietnam may well struggle when the power for the fan goes off.

The national park is a stones throw away, however its a 2 min boat ride across the river to access it.

I would absolutely return to Green Bamboo as I feel it will go from strength to strength and don't doubt the owners desire to make it a truly exceptional place to visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maleny, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The Green Bamboo Lodge is fairly new and a small low key operation. The people who run the place are charming and several speak good English. They have a range of country style bamboo themed rooms and a nice open dining area. The bamboo bar area juts out over the river for pleasant sunsets. They have good mobile phone coverage in the region. There is good wi-fi available. I enjoyed the food prepared by the team, simple menu but well prepared and cooked. Great value for money, even the beer was vey reasonably priced. They have good quality mountain bikes available for hire, for exploring the national park across the river. Only thing is to consider the time of year you intend to visit. They have a very pronounced wet season and dry season here. We came in early April, the end of the long dry spell, and everything was dusty, limp, dry and listless. Coming here in the rainy season when the rainforest is pumping with life would be great. You need to cross the river by small ferry to access the national park and gibbon sanctuary.

Room Tip: Rooms by the river have a nicer view to wake up to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoi An
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Couldn't speak more highly of the staff and the facilities at this resort. It is simple and basic but comfortable and homely.

The family who run the resort are incredibly friendly and down to earth. Mr Vung and co' were very helpful when we were arranging onward travel and gave us all the information we needed for the national park.

The river front huts look directly across the river to the park and are a lovely vantage point during the sunset.

The huts themselves are perfectly equipped for modern living with multisockets, large fans, tiled bathrooms with proper flushing toilets, sinks and even hot water!

Breakfasts were a choice of baguette with eggs or Vietnamese rice/noodle offerings.

All in all, a very pleasant stay. Relaxing and calm. Exactly what we needed after weeks on the road.

One final note about getting there...

The internet is sketchy and has very little in the way of information about getting to the national park from highway 20 (the most popular route between Dalat and Saigon)

Guide books don't seem to offer much relief either so here is my best advice...

It appears that both Saigon and Dalat operate a public bus which stops just outside the resort. when booking your travel, make sure you ask for a public bus and emphasize the point. We did this, but still ended up on a Sinh Tourist bus for twice the price. When we arrived at Tan Phu (24km east of Cat tien) our only option was to pay another 240,000d for a motorbike ride there. While the drive was incredibly beautiful and a worthwhile experience in itself, the need to 'overspend' is completely avoidable. As we found out too late!

That said, if you do hire a motorbike driver, make sure you haggle. They will quote 400,000d for 2 people when really the ride is worth about 200,000 for two people tops. Have a bit of fun with the drivers, they're usually nice guys just trying to make a living.

Hope this sheds some light.

Room Tip: River front bungalows offer the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here in a bungalow for 2 nights. We have no negative things to say about this stay, but a lot of positives. Incredibly friendly, helpfull and considerate staff. 200 meters to the national park entrance. They have a restaurant and a little bar hanging over the river at around 3 meters height with very nice view of the river and jungle outskirts. Nice wifi, fan and hot water. The bathroom walls and floor are tiled, but the rest of the bungalow is entirely made of bamboo, a genuine jungle experience for us. There are mosqito nets in good condition for the beds, a must since it is right next to the jungle and there are the unavoidable insects like spiders, didnt see any big ones though. Two or three of the bungalows are riverside and since the national park is right in the other side of the river it was a fantastic view and amazing display of animal sound in the morning. One morning we got up at 5 am to see and hear the jungle wake up, so nice experience sitting at the hanging bar and in front of our bungalow, we can recommend that. We didnt know how to get there from Saigon, so we just emailed mr. Vung and he wrote a long email back to us giving us 3 or 4 alternative ways to get there. We chose the option to book a Sihn tourist bus to dalat and ask them to drop us of where mr. Vung told us. He arranged a car to and from that place. A slight warning about this alternative though, nothing to do with the hotel or Mr. Vung, if anything it was the busdrivers fault. Have a phone with you, either with vietnamese simcard or one from home with internstional calls allowed : The Sihn tourist bus dropped us off the wrong place, where there were some motorbike drivers, they hassled us quite a lot and tried to scam us. They gave me a cellhone, and the man in the phone said he was Mr Vung and that we should go with the motorbikes. When we called up the real Mr Vung at the phonenumber we had from our booking confirmation, he sent his driver to come and get us there. Good thing we had a vietnamese sim card. Mr. Vung has worked in the national park and therefore knows alot about the area and the way the park is "run". He gave us very informative advice about what to see in the park and information/help with bookings. He borrowed us his SD card for our camera and his lovely staff took it upon themselves to copy our 2 gigs of pictures from our SD card to our USB on one of their laptops, since they didnt have a computer for the guests at the time. And we didnt even have to ask, they are so helpful and considerate. Would recommend to everybody, wish we could have stayed much longer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lonestar a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cat Tien National Park
18.1 mi away
Memories Hotel
Memories Hotel
#2 of 4 in Bao Loc
33 reviews
0.5 mi away
Green Hope Lodge
Green Hope Lodge
#1 of 10 in Cat Tien National Park
193 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cat Tien Jungle Lodge
Cat Tien Jungle Lodge
#7 of 10 in Cat Tien National Park
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Forest Call Lodge
Forest Call Lodge
#6 of 10 in Cat Tien National Park
59 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lava Rock Viet Nam Lodge
Lava Rock Viet Nam Lodge
#5 of 10 in Cat Tien National Park
25 reviews
0.2 mi away
River Lodge
River Lodge
#4 of 10 in Cat Tien National Park
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Bamboo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Bamboo Lodge

Property: Green Bamboo Lodge
Address: Hemlet 4, Nam Cat Tien ward, Tan Phu district, Cat Tien National Park, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Cat Tien National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Cat Tien National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-owned, modern resort with free-standing bungalows; each room with private bathroom, fridge, fan or AC, twin or double beds with mosquito nets, situated on a spacious area on the riverbank equipped with seating accommodations and hammocks whence you can enjoy the picturesque view over the river and surrounding woods; spacious open-air dining area under bamboo roof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Green Bamboo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing