We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and great location”
Review of Green Hope Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Green Hope Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Vejle, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and great location”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Even though this resort is not at the park itself, i can recommend it because of the clean rooms, friendly staff and excellent food. If you have any requests, like fishing or renting bikes, they are more than happy to help you. A good place to go before and after having visited the park.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreaOmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    21
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
89
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The staff cant do enough for you ,cold beer close to national park .and not a bad price .
the rooms are clean .and you can relax by the river in hammocks .cold drink served when you get back from the park food good try the hot chips .the best ,,

Room Tip: get room on the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Green Hope is right on the river with seating and hammocks to sit back upon and listen to nature. Watch the river flow by and listen to the incredible variety of bird song as you sip on a cool drink. Hear the wild Gibbons sing their territorial song in the early mornings across the river in the park.

Green Hope is perfectly situated to access the park. You walk 5 minutes to the little boat that takes you across for about $2 US return. The boat starts early in the mornings for early-walkers...a good idea as it becomes very hot and steamy through the day.

We travelled from Dalat to Nam Cat Tien by motorbike. Green Hope Lodge welcomed us at the end of the ride with cool drinks in the open air, undercover bamboo dining area. We
were then taken along little raised -up paths to our bungalow, which was one of two joined by a common wall side by side, with wide front steps and a verandah that looks out over the river. Bliss!

One of the beds had a rock hard mattress (you find this a lot in Vietnam), and staff were happy to change it for us. There were two fans and mosquito nets in new condition...important in the jungle area! Tiled bathroom with hot water, which is strangely delicious after a long hot day out cycling and walking in the National Park...even if it is still nearly 30 degrees at night!

You can stay over in the Park itself but I didn't see that it mattered either way. The boat starts early and takes a couple of minutes to cross. The helpful staff and the new condition of the bungalows make Green Hope a first choice for me. There are bamboo bungalows down beside the boat, but remember this is jungle, and I advise a solid wall between you and jungle inhabitants at night. There are no large creatures, but plenty of small ones!

Don't expect luxury unless you go to Forest Floor Lodge over in the Park and pay for it...still reasonable prices but about 10 times Green Hope rates. Breakfast at Green Hope is basic. Packed lunches they kindly provide contain a lot of white-flour products and rice. Dinner options were quite good and we pre-ordered the hot pot to look forward to after our 45km cycle and trek in the forest.

I have no criticisms of Green Hope but I must warn you the walls are thin between rooms. So, be prepared to hear everything going on in the room beside you! Including toileting. This means of course that you are being heard too! It can be quite funny at times! Most people who make it to Nam Cat Tien are walkers and nature lovers who are a accustomed to the natural environment, so keep your sense of humor. I nearly lost mine due to the village "morning announcements" blaring over loud speakers just before 6am as I sat mesmerized by the birds and Gibbon calls. And again in the evening. Unbelievable. This is beyond the ability of Green Hope Lodge to change I presume.

Another test to my sense of humor came after our 20km journey to Crocodile Lake to the bird watching tower. The lake is lovely. The heat shimmered, the birds came and went...and the three young men who 'work' there shriek at each other while playing cards, completely shattering the ambience. Their cat sleeps soundly in the day and does god-knows-what at night to the local animal population. You can stay overnight at Crocodile Lake in order to catch the evening and morning bird fiesta...which would be an amazing experience...but we met a couple who tried it, and they warned us that the young men watch television at night and are generally enormously loud, all day and into the night. The overall condition of the tower suggests they don't do much else.

But back to Green Hope...go there. The staff are just so helpful and calm and will make your arrangements easy. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Very beautiful people. They know the area well and can organize ongoing transport for you.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loufinnegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed at Green Hope Lodge for 2 nights and it was the best choice we have made! Luan and his family have been very kind and made sure we had the best experience in Cat Tien as they provided information about the park and were very helpful with our questions. We arrived late in the afternoon and they had cold refreshments ready for us. Our room was spacious enough for the 2 of us (could fit 4 people) and was clean with fresh sheets and towels. Food at the lodge was delightful. We even played some card games with Luan and his family in the evening and were just enjoying and having a good laugh the whole time! Green Hope Lodge is a few hundred meters from the ferry terminal so there was no hassle going to Cat Tien National Park. Overall, a relaxing experience and when you are going to Cat Tien, I highly recommend Green Hope Lodge. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheryl1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Describing Green Hope you really have to use some of the superlatives... First of all, it is on a great place, few mins from the river you have to cross to get to the park. In an orchard. Near the river. Calm. Nice. Also, the place is quite new, hence the accomonadtion is very comfortable, generous in space, hot water, clean...Good food (recomend tofu with tomatoes!). Also, as all the guys here say, the stuff is very polite and - honest (to illustrate: I left my mobile phone in a car that took us from Green Hope to the airport in HCMC and realized after almost an hour after the car had left. I called the lodge, the lodge called the driver, the driver found my phone and after an other hour the driver arrived to the airport with my phone, smiling - well, at Green Hope, they are really great...)


Some hints
How we got there: We took a bus from HCMC, particularly from Mien Dong bus station (you get the tickets for the bus to Nam Cat Tien at the window no 4 or 5. It was 85 000 dong each ). The bus was leaving at 2 pm, I think. Naturally, it was comfortable enough, but do not expect any air con or so...
We showed the gentleman whose job was to get peoople on and off the bus the sign of Green Hope and asked him to kick us off the bus there, he did so and so it was easy :). The journey took about 5 hours or so.

Park:
Well, once you stay behind the borders of the park, it will not be easy to get to the park before 6 am, uness you booked a guided tour. With the guide you can go as soon as 4.30. Without the guide the first boat crossing the river is there for you at 6:30 am or so.

Animals:
We saw a hudge elephant and one family of gibbons... Ok, we didnt. But we saw the rare pheasant, that was nice. And heard the gibbons. That was also nice.

Crocodile Lake:
Went on bikes rented from the park - well, také your time to choose the right bike, half of those seemed to be broken. The lake is wonderful. No crocodiles, of course, but if you love lakes, you will love this one, too. :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

My partner and I are riding through Vietnam on our own motorcycle. We rode from Saigon up to the national park. We stumbled across the Lodge by door knocking for accommodation. The staff here are fantastic, very friendly and accommodating. Our river view bungalow was very spacious and comfortable and we had everything we needed. We were luck to share our bungalow with a huge geko who lived in the eves of the ceiling in the bathroom. He was very noisy at night with his mating call. But this made our stay even better and unique. We woke up to the sound of Gibbons calling each other over the other side of the river. The breakfast was superb in fact all the food was freshly cooked to order and drinks were very cheap. We paid $25 for a night stay which was reasonable as other accommodation we found was around $25 per person. The while experience was fantastic if we could of stayed longer we would of, however we needed to ride to Dalat and its over 5 hours on the bike so we decided to hit the road and stay half way in Bao Loc. The ride up to Bao Loc is also amazing and defiantly worth the trip.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly-BenMak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

It cannot be overstated - this has to be one of the nicest experiences a traveller could ask for. The rooms are spacious and comfortable - most overlooking the river and if you're lucky you'll also get to hear the gibbons too. You're also right next to the entrance to the park so it's a perfect base for a day trip.

The staff may just be the nicest people we've ever met. Very helpful and welcoming. A stay here will be the highlight of your trip.

Fin and Kirsty (UK)

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank foswan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cat Tien National Park
17.8 mi away
Memories Hotel
Memories Hotel
#2 of 4 in Bao Loc
32 reviews
0.5 mi away
Green Bamboo Lodge
Green Bamboo Lodge
#2 of 10 in Cat Tien National Park
276 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cat Tien Jungle Lodge
Cat Tien Jungle Lodge
#7 of 10 in Cat Tien National Park
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Forest Floor Lodge
Forest Floor Lodge
#9 of 10 in Cat Tien National Park
144 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lava Rock Viet Nam Lodge
Lava Rock Viet Nam Lodge
#6 of 10 in Cat Tien National Park
23 reviews
0.7 mi away
River Lodge
River Lodge
#4 of 10 in Cat Tien National Park
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Hope Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Hope Lodge

Property: Green Hope Lodge
Address: Hamlet 4, Nam Cat Tien ward | Tan Phu district,, Cat Tien National Park, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Cat Tien National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Cat Tien National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Hamlet 4, Nam Cat Tien Commune, Tan Phu District, Dong Nai Province, Green Hope Lodge was situated along stretches Dong NaiRiver separates The villages and the Cat Tien National Park. With total area of 1.5hecta, the lodge next to Tien Island is a place to rescue and protect rare species of primates in Vietnam as well as in the world, especially the golden-cheeked species. Covered around the lodge are mountains, Orchards and bamboo trees swaying in the wind. With its location and quiet atmosphere from fresh steam of Dong Nai river with Gibbon or dawn chorus by hundreds of species ofbirds will give you an unforgettable experience when you enjoy at Green Hope Lodge. The lodge consists of six rooms near a river and four garden view rooms. Moreover, Greenhope was designed and built to take full advantage of the classical style with ancient wooden houses but still convenience. The professional staff and attentiveservicewill bring satisfaction to you in GreenHope. GreenHope is nearby Cat Tien National Park with a 10-minute walking to explore the largest remaining primeval forest in Vietnam. Let's join with us to protect the environment, rare plants and extinct animal species. Welcome to GreenHope ! You will have a full of interesting and useful trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Green Hope Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing