We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like home but BETTER”

El Trull d'en Francesc
Reserve with
El Trull d'en Francesc is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$29 - US$47
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The restaurant El Trull d'en Francesc prides itself on being located in a truly enviable setting, in the centre of the Alt Emporda, in a village of 125 inhabitants. Its surroundings are wonderful for strolling, cycling or just admiring their beauty. We have a terrace that is open in summer, overlooking the River Muga with its flocks of ducks and geese, and the establishment has a totally rustic decoration, with a fireplace for the winter. The restaurant El Trull d'en Francesc offers essentially Empordanese cooking. All our products are bought fresh locally, as we are only 20 kilometres from the sea and the mountains. With a youthful, friendly staff who will be at your service from the moment you arrive until you leave, we aim to offer warm and careful attention to make your visit as pleasant as possible. You can turn our Wednesday, Thursday and Friday nights into the most romantic of your life ... From now on El Trull d'en Francesc makes it easy for you.
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The arctic winds were blowing last Saturday and there was no other place to be except at El Trull. Starting with a generous glass of port to warm us up and then we charged onto the specialities of the house of snails and grilled "Calçots".. and topped off our meal with baby goat and crispy duck and a good local red wine from Peralada, what more could we want. The place was packed with all sorts; all ages and nationalities. The waiters were happy and made us feel welcomed. Nobody rushed us. The service was perfect and the food is always GOOD. I highly recommend this restaurant for a winter oasis. They even gave us a free bottle of red wine to keep the glow!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (622)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 622 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2012

One of the best restaurants in the region, the staff are very friendly and help and we have eaten here many times and have never been dissapointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank spanishfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Living just over the border in France, my wife and I are becoming connaisseurs of local French and Spanish restaurants, and without doubt, this is one of the best. The range of menus and the quality/presentation of cooking put it close to Michelin star level, but the service is so much more relaxed and friendly. Set beside a river in an ancient village close to Figueras, the gardens allow for a relaxing aperatif whilst watching the ducks before enjoying a pleasant meal in the modern restaurant. There is a wide range of menus de jour and a generous a la carte. The cooking ranges from classic to country dishes ( foie gras poele, gazpacho, magret de canard, pied de porc) all cooked to perfection. The four course, €25 menu presented ample choice, and the wine list, fairly local, had a good choice at between €15 - €30 per bottle. The total bill including aperos and coffee was €78 for 2. The restaurant was fully booked on a September Thursday lunchtime, so reserve well in advance.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NormanLSerralongue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

we read very good reviews about this restaurant.
The location is brilliant, but unfortunately the service and the quality of the food are rather mediocre. It was much like an industrial kitchen. Moreover, the price is on the expensive side.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank canpatiras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

I had heard a lot of good things about dining at Trull d'en Francesc and was quite intrigued and amused to learn that our luncheon on a sunny Sunday would be "Cherry" themed throughout.
Cherries are in abundance throughout May and the prime growing area of Baix Llobregat is just down the road. I guessed we were in for a treat.
But upon reflection, it was a rather pathetic attempt at a themed menu, when armed with such wonderful fruits. My starter was a cherry gazpacho - the only thing cherry about it was a solitary
cerise bobbing in the middle of a very average tasting gazpacho. Nul points. Duck with a really well prepared cherry sauce could have been a killer dish - but was nowhere to be seen. I had a piece of OK cod with a strange sauce that may or may not have had cherries in it. I had a wonderful cherry souffle in Paris some years ago and was hoping something like that may appear - but no chance. I had a creme Catalan, standard fare, again with a solitary cherry. In my opinion the chef really blew it, as this wonderful, and all too brief, fruit lends itself so well to all kinds of creative confections that top spanish chefs normally handle so well. My hosts were mortified, having had many excellent experiences at this restaurant, their own choices were equally disappointing. I would only go back if cherries are off the menu. A mention of the House red is important as we all enjoyed it and were presented with several bottles as we left!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mike j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrullFrancesc, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Trull d'en Francesc, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Dear Mike,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

First of all, our sincerest apologies if the cherry Menu hasn't met your expectations. After 4 years from creation, we have always tried to adapt the menus to the our customers tastes and introduce any changes every year. We love to receive your feedback because it helps us to improve and continue to adapt the menus to the tastes of our customers, because the most important for us is that everyone enjoyment a perfect meal.

We hope to have it very soon in our restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Trull d'en Francesc also viewed

Macanet de Cabrenys, Province of Girona
La Jonquera, Province of Girona
 
Pont de Molins, Province of Girona
Figueres, Province of Girona
 

Been to El Trull d'en Francesc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing