We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa das Campainhas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights and we were upgraded one we got there as they were having building work done and our room had a bit of dust in the bathroom as a result. Or new room was huge (room 3...beautiful) but I have to say the other was quite small.
The staff are wonderful and can't do enough for you, breakfasts are fantastic (you soon realise there is just too much to choose from, we ended up having huge breakfasts and no lunch!) and the garden/pool area was a quiet oasis.

All in all a great stay, the only reason we didn't give 5 was we would've hoped for the chance to buy a drink by the pool and the croissants at breakfast weren't great but this is probably us just being a little picky.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ElJel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

47 - 53 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

My husband and I spent one week at this guest house during 27th June - 4th July . What a beautiful location and place. The owners and staff are so helpful and kind, they could not do enough for us. We hope to return next year as we had an amazing time! Emma & Gregg

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaEassom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We had the two floor apartment attached to the main house and it was wonderful. Loft bedroom with comfy four poster bed with a nice view was a nice treat. The main house is really lovely and we were sad that it was too chilly to use the pool. Next time.
Breakfast was the best we had our entire ten days in Portugal so when you factor that into the cost, it was an incredible deal. That breakfast, alone, would have been at least 10 or 15 euros each. It's hard to find a spacious space when travelling with an older child and this was perfect for one or two kids. Can't wait to go back

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mamashack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My husband and I stayed two nights at Casa das Campainhas, 14 - 16 June and thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the beautifully decorated home. The staff and owners were very welcoming and assisted us in making our stay in Sintra very memorable and special.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernadette85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The owners and staff treat you like family members and simply can't do enough for you. The breakfasts are excellent and just keep coming - fresh fruit, bacon & eggs, croissants, crepes, home made cakes, freshly squeezed orange juice! The rooms are lovely and very spacious.
Would highly recommend Casa das Campainhas to all!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WarrenJB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

If you would feel the best kind of portuguese hospitality you have visit Cada das Campainhas. Absolutely must be in Sintra. Plus comfortable rooms, exellent home made breakfast, and turist information in neighbourhood.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank magdamas2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We're just back from a 7 nigths Portugal stay and 2 days at this Bed & Breakfeast. Our room was the suite Caledonia, just at the top of the stairs. In fact, everybody must passe there to go in the different rooms of the hotel, even if it's the case; we could think we're alone in the house. We're suprise that was not the case when we found everyboday wake up in the breakfeast room !Very quiet! Even if our room is on the principal road of the city. small noise of cars.... but not too Munch.

Our room is large, but no wardrobe. This was not a problem for a 2 nights stay. The breakfeast was very good. The little terrace beside the pool is very quiet and nice. You could taste different area speciality like pumpkins jam :-) special bread ; and also get a Nespresso coffee on request.

The owners and staff are very welcome and are available to assist you in any plan.

The decoration of our rooms was really nice; the bathroom (no bath) only shower is confortable but a little bit small.

Even if no parking for the hotel, you could easily park in front of the hotel or on the side.
To go in the city, you could pass back of the hotel in very typic street (nice area - and not very touristic).

Sintra is a very small city and 2 days is enough to visit. Sintra Palace is a 10 minutes walk of the hotel (We do not recommand the very busy street in front of the hotel to go). Sintra Palace could be easily visit in a 1-2 hours. Pena Palace could be access through the bus - you pay in the bus 5 Euros per person to go - include the return. (if you want to climb to the Palace, the estimate time is 50-60 minutes walk). We have walk a little bit in the Park and climb to the Palace, really nice (depending of the time you spend in the Park (not really a garder) that could take around 2-3 hours to visit Pena). We have finish our castle visit day :-) by the visite of Quinta Da Regaleira open until 7p.m. in may. We arrived around 5p.m. and pass more then one hour in the park to visit the cave and after all those palace visit (Pena and Sintra), we just have spend maybe 20 minutes to the mansion visit. Enough for us. This is not very large.

We highly recommand this hotel. This stay have meets and excess our high expectations.

Room Tip: Look on the hotel web site to get a description of each room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunshinesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sintra Municipality hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#4 of 15 in Sintra
372 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sintra Boutique Hotel
Sintra Boutique Hotel
#1 of 15 in Sintra
773 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quinta de Sao Tadeu by Casa das Campainhas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#6 of 15 in Sintra
704 reviews
3.7 mi away
Quinta do Scoto
Quinta do Scoto
#1 of 1 in Algueirao - Mem Martins
538 reviews
5.2 mi away
Arribas Sintra Hotel
Arribas Sintra Hotel
#1 of 4 in Colares
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa das Campainhas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa das Campainhas

Address: Largo Sousa Brandao 7, 2710-506, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Sintra Municipality
Price Range: £50 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa das Campainhas 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa das Campainhas is more than a Guest House or a Boutique Hotel, it’s about a new concept of Rural Housing that tries to guide its customers through an unforgettable experience where the Romanticism of this Sintra Vila, UNESCO World Heritage since 1995, mixes with a classical house from early XIX, creating a chic & detailed environment making it perfect to relax and enjoy the “Enchanting Town" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Casa das Campainhas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Das Campainhas Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing