We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 5 star B&B with a gorgeous view”
Review of Lalaria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lalaria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I cannot imagine a B&B that can beat Lalaria with its combination of a glorious view over the Indian Ocean; elegant public rooms leading onto a huge terrace from which to enjoy it, (and even spot the occasional whale in the right season and schools of dolphins year-round); a great breakfast which offers everything from a choice of cereals to egg dishes any way you choose, and the best homemade muffins ever; and, to top it all off, warm and knowledgeable hosts who were always available to help but never intrusive. Our room on the lower level was huge and opened out on to the garden. We never has a chance to swim but only because we were too busy - the pool is set in a private garden and is surrounded by a large patio leading straight into the house.
Durban is about a 40 minute drive away but it seems as if much of its business and shopping activity has moved north to Umhlanga which can be reached in about 15 minutes. No need to drive even that far though for great dinners - excellent restaurants, many serving fish caught that day, are close by.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank belmame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

I brought a small group here in October 2012 at the end of a touring holiday in Kwa-Zulu Natal and we all agreed that it was the perfect end to a fantastic holiday. Caryl and Errol were lovely hosts and their home was a delight to share, full of beautiful works of art. Our room was huge with beautiful views of the Indian Ocean, where we saw whales and dolphins, and the most comfortable beds. Caryl's scrambled egg at breakfast is to die for.

I'm sorry it has taken so long to write this review - I meant to do it as soon as I returned home but pressure of work etc. etc

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meadwaytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The South African Tourism and Grading Council has awarded 5 stars to his establishment - and more than deservedly so.
The owners Caryl and Errol are superb and charming hosts and a veritable fountain of information and conversation without being obtrusive.
The five very large and comfortable rooms are housed in a grand whitewashed Mediterranean-style villa situated in a quiet cul-de-sac. Three rooms offer a 180 degree view of the Indian Ocean (although very partly obscured by a building in front); the other two look out on a lovely almost Olympic-sized swimming pool with comfortable loungers and sitting nooks.
The rooms are very large, extremely well appointed, with beds fit for an emperor. They have a large flat-screen TV (albeit with a limited choice of channels) Wi-Fi and air conditioning, the latter is only needed in the S.A. summer. The full bathrooms are exquisite with all the knick-knacks you would expect in a top-notch hotel.
The extensive and beautifully presented breakfast is served on a (covered) deck. Throughout the year you can spot dolphins; and humpback whales during the season which runs from May to July for the northward migration to the tropical waters of Madagascar and from November to January for the return journey.
The beach is a short walk away. And the city of Durban and the airport are an easy ride.
There are plenty of eateries in nearby Ballito.
There is a large private and very secure parking area.
At the bottom of the villa runs a road but with little traffic. At any rate the sound is drowned out by the lapping of the breakers.
Lalaria is slightly pricier than the average B&B or guesthouse in South Africa but worth every extra penny. And if you book directly via the website www.lalaria.co.za, you may well obtain a discount if the lodge is not full.
During our stay we met a foreign business executive who returns to the place on a very regular basis. A better testimony to its high quality seems hardly possible.
Lalaria is a destination of choice, my choice certainly. And if you want to avail yourselves of its facilities, I suggest you don’t wait too long because the owners are contemplating retiring.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VanRiebeeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We spent a few nights at Lalaria Lodge on our arrival to Durban & found this a wonderful B&B we'll most certainly be returning to. Sitting partway up a hill, it's only a few minute's walk to the beach yet high enough to offer great ocean views. Our room was on the lower level leading out to a lovely patio and garden. The room was huge and tastefully decorated as was the rest of the home. The pool offered shady spots, and when it got too warm, I just walked through the house to the large terrace facing the ocean and enjoyed a cooling breeze along with that great view.

What made this place most enjoyable was the lovely couple who own and run the B&B. Both are knowledgable of the area, but also have a long history in South Africa and were interesting to talk to. I'll long remember our lovely evening under a starry South African sky, sitting around the pool chatting about life.

This was a very peaceful, quiet spot is a perfect place to stay--close to Durban, the airport & all the amenities found on the coast while allowing you to relax and enjoy a beautiful garden & ocean view!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ameribrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We found Lalaria on the internet. Very pleasantly surprised as usually the internet pictures are far better than the actual.. Large airey room with large bathroom. Beautiful sea views. Breakfasts really good - cooked to your personal likes.

Room Tip: There are a total of five rooms only. Must ask for a sea facing room! Panoramic 180 degree view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Unfortunately we only had one night here, the house and room was immaculate. We had a room on the lower level and the view was spectacular especially with the sun coming up in the morning!
The breakfast was good and plentiful. Would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We did stay there in Nov./Dec. 12 for two weeks. The location is very good, with full view to the ocean. Even a road is just going near but below the front of the gurst house, there are most times nothing to hear from any traffic. The room was large and comfortable. The owner couple is very nice and likes to communicate with their guests. We have been there mainly to play golf. Shaka's Rock is just perfect to play on the very good golf places: Princes Grant, Zimbali and Mount Edgecombe.
We did feel very well during our time there and will come back next year.

Room Tip: For my opinion all rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Urauber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shaka's Rock
3.2 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
#3 of 7 in Ballito
438 reviews
17.4 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#3 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,179 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ballito
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chaka's Rock Chalets
Chaka's Rock Chalets
#1 of 1 in Shaka's Rock
105 reviews
17.4 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,944 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Vineyard on Ballito
The Vineyard on Ballito
#1 of 23 in Ballito
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lalaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lalaria

Address: 25A Dolphin Crescent, Shaka's Rock 4420, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Shaka's Rock
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Shaka's Rock
Price Range: £124 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lalaria 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lalaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lalaria South Africa/KwaZulu-Natal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing