We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chillin' is the way to go!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Secret Spot International Backpackers and Surf Camp
eMalahleni, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Chillin' is the way to go!”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed at the Secret Spot International Backpackers and Surf Camp from the 21 - 22 Macrh 2014. The first thing that you notice about this place, is that it is very quiet. Then you notice that it is the perfect place to relax. The staff was friendly, the service was great, and we had a great time. I would recommend this place to travellers that are looking for a different vibe / atmosphere; that would like to get away from the hussle of city life. Easily one of the best backpackers I have been to.

Room Tip: Rooms are generally quiet, and surrounded by trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pshemeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    2
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
4
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
utrecht
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This was the second time I stayed at this place in 1,5 months time and it was awesome! The dormrooms are clean, the cabins are very cosy! There is a pool with an adjacent bar on one side and a braai area and large open kitchen (with roof) on the other side. A little bit further to the back there is a lounge area with a table tennis table. It is close to the beach, there is an ocean view from several places and the whole place looks like a lush tropical garden. Above all, the people are so incredibly friendly and welcoming! They are willing to help you with anything and are enthousiastic to teach anyone how to surf. So a pretty amazing place so stay, very relaxed, I wish I could stay there forever!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Birdie1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The first time I stayed here was in January 2014. Right from the moment you walk in the owners and staff make you feel at home and provide you with absolutely anything you may need. The place has very homely feel to it and is situated not even 5 minutes from the beach and is also very close to nice restaurants/bars. We had an amazing time here and as such I just had to come back for more! The second time round our stay was even better, we seriously had so much fun! Did surf lessons with Charlie (the owner) in Durban and also went snorkeling in one of the tidal pools in Ballito. I can honestly say that if you stay at the secret spot you'll have an awesome time!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElisevanderHeijden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kwazulu natal
Level Contributor
110 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I quite like staying in backpackers and have done so all over the world. I enjoy the price, the travelers and the atmosphere which you do not get in a hotel. This place though is quite shocking. I cannot believe that the last lot of reviews are real??? Poorly signposted, ramshackle entrance. The reception looked like a dump site. I asked the owner as there were literally all types of things just dumped on the floor, from clothes, to appliances to garden tools and she apologized and advised they had just taken over. She then wanted me to make payment immediately and I had red flags buzzing around in my head and asked to see the room first. Thank goodness I had not already paid the booking agent as the wooden cabin did not look like the photo on the internet. The door did not even have a handle but a padlock just like a shed??? This place was the worst I have ever seen and cannot believe it is advertised with booking agents ect.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nataliekwazulunatal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles S, Owner at Secret Spot International Backpackers and Surf Camp, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
We would like to respond to the review as we are sorely offended. The guest arrived late at night spent a total of 10 min on our premises and walked out.Her husband loved the place and wanted to stay .We do apologize for the untidy reception which was under revamp into a surf shop to which she was informed and is now complete.For someone to write a review without staying or even entering the accommodation and say that this is the worst she has ever seen is out of order.Come and judge for yourself.Thanks, The owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shaka's Rock hotels

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I couldn't have wished for a better place to stay. The hostel is located right near the sea, surf lessons are offered. Diner and drinks are optional. The super friendly owners are always there to help you out and make you feel right at home.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serge p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marseille, France
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2013

That the most friendly welcome i never had. Charlie and Diane are lovely. The place is really nice and perfectly located, 5 minute by car from the bach and the surf spot. The atmospher is warm. I really enjoyed my stay in the secret spot

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TristanDelh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Great place in a beautiful location, very close to the beach with warm, generous hosts. Like the atmosphere, the accommodations are simple and laid back, in the best kind of way. And everything was clean and tidy. I was there by myself, but it didn't feel that way. Charles and Diane quite literally welcomed me into their own home. They only recently took over the property, so ignore all of the negative reviews. The new management has transformed The Secret Spot into a little piece of heaven. It's a wonderful place to stay. And if you want to learn to surf, be sure to sign up for a lesson! I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shaka's Rock
0.3 mi away
Chaka's Rock Chalets
Chaka's Rock Chalets
#1 of 1 in Shaka's Rock
75 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ballito Backpackers
Ballito Backpackers
#13 of 17 in Ballito
16 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lalaria
Lalaria
#1 of 3 in Shaka's Rock
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort House B&B
Comfort House B&B
#2 of 2 in Shaka's Rock
83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meander Manor
Meander Manor
#1 of 2 in Shaka's Rock
168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shaka's Seat
Shaka's Seat
#2 of 3 in Shaka's Rock
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Spot International Backpackers and Surf Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Spot International Backpackers and Surf Camp

Property: Secret Spot International Backpackers and Surf Camp
Address: Shaka's Rock Main Rd, Shaka's Rock, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Shaka's Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Shaka's Rock
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Secret Spot International Backpackers and Surf Camp 1.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Secret Spot International Backpackers and Surf Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Spot International Backpackers And Surf Camp South Africa/KwaZulu-Natal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing