We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A classic hacienda in this region”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hacienda Temozon, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Temozon
Certificate of Excellence
Freshwater, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
576 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
“A classic hacienda in this region”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

A classic Hacienda in the Yucatan area that was once quite a grand property. These days it is a classy old hotel that, with just a little more work, would qualify as a really great hotel. The reality is that it is a little tired and really needs to be cleaned up just a bit to bring it back to what it claims to be. That said, the Junior Suite we had was cavernous (particularly the bathroom) quiet and very comfortable, the restaurant served really impressive meals with good service from waiters who really want to help, and the grounds are quite something to walk around and enjoy. The included breakfasts are a bit limited but more than adequate. This property is well away from anything that poses as an alternative for meals, but as mentioned the restaurant is quite good - we dined there three nights in a row and were quite happy with the service and quality of food. The mosquitos mentioned by most reviewers are not as bad as suggested and are easily dealt with by using a standard repellent, so don't let that put you off.

Room Tip: The Junior Suites are well worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrandsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    70
    29
    16
    9
See reviews for
88
184
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Beautiful place. We had private guided tour of the property by the manager Reto Kete, who is very knowledgable and kind. The foods there were delicious and I love there breakfast, fried eggs on the layers of tortillas and refried black beans covered by various sauces and ingredients you can choose. Four days of them, still yummy. The only thing made me want to leave the place is the mosquitos, I am happy to leave after 4 nights, arms and legs covered by bites, the physical memory will accompany me during my further stay in Cancun ;-)

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank toto2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemet, California
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This place is very romantic! the location is in the middle of the jungle, far from major attractions. This is a very serene, quite and just beautiful hotel. A former factory revitalized and turned into an impressive hotel. many US presidents have stayed here. If you are ever afforded the chance to stay here, I highly recommend it, it is truly unforgettable!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DreMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

My wife and I planned a trip to Merida, to see Uxmal, Chichen Itza and Celestun. We stayed three nights at Hacienda Temozon, one of the most special places we have ever stayed.

In the past, we have stayed at other Haciendas, but none of the scale and grandeur of Hacienda Temozon. The Hacienda is part of Fundacion Haciendas del Mundo Maya, an organization created by a group of architects to repurpose Mayan Haciendas as hotels. The organization requires each Hacienda be staffed from the local community. From the moment we arrived at the hotel the staff made our stay memorable, one night setting a special table just for the two of us in the Patron's quarters, another night setting up the outdoor bath for us.

Thank you to Hacienda Temozon and Fundacion Haciendas del Mundo Maya for saving these very special places.

Room Tip: Make sure to visit the museum, the senote and Uxmal
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MuseumDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We had a magical one-night stay in this hotel in June. There were very few guests and we were fortunate to be upgraded to the glorious presidential suite with our son. This included a private pool secluded amongst the trees and simply the most luxurious bathroom we have had in a hotel. The beautiful high ceilings and colonial-style furniture added to the feeling that we had stepped back in time and on our return from dinner, the surfaces of the entire room were strewn with white roses. The hotel itself is in the middle of the jungle with extensive, well-kept grounds and we were given an interesting tour of the property by the ancient and charming overseer who told us some amusing stories, including one about a crocodile who had shown up very unexpectedly in the cenote and had to be transported back to the nearest river.The hotel is very well-placed to visit Uxmal and the Puuc trail and we had no problems in finding it with our rental car from Merida. We ate dinner and breakfast here. Breakfast was particularly good and dinner by candlelight was, again, an otherworldly experience with the property outside lit by a myriad of lights. We wouldn't return, simply because we now have a perfect memory...

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tintorettoGranada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We have stayed in many places all over the world and few places can compare to the experience we had at Hacienda Temozón. From the moment you enter thru the gate you are going back in time to the slow life of the haciendas (plantations). The big house, the immaculate gardens, the old working tools, carriage, train, etc. This one was a henequen (a type of agave) plantation and a processing plant where they made rope, clothes, shoes, belts and everything you can imaging made of this fiber. The rooms are large, clean and the beds very comfortable with a private pool you can ask to fill it with hot water very nice and romantic. The staff as well as the manager are super professional and nice, very competent and attentive to us, guest, and willing to help and answer any questions about the hacienda and how life used to be. It has a large pool between the house and the old processing plant, also a cenote for massage. The food was delicious, the waiters very attentive and professional. Everything was exquisite!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nih61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

My wife and I have traveled extensively globally as SPG Platinum members and also in Mexico. Our experience at the Hacienda was probably among our top 3. The hotel is located in a non-discript place but was relatively easy to find. The restoration of this Hacienda has been done perfectly. They use a cenote as a venue for the spa, the fields still grow agarve, all the machinery of the hacienda can still be seen and the rooms have been perfectly blended with the old world charm combined with modern day amenities. But, most of all we enjoyed the tour that Spa Manager Reto Kate took us on - showing us each aspect of the carefully preserved monument with incredible enthusiasm. And, the F&B manager Ulises Ortega who organised a cooking class for us on the lawns outside the main suite of the hotel. Not only did we learn to make margaritas but also some delectable (even vegetarian) food with the careful supervision of 3 chefs! Overall this was an incredibly memorable experience for us - many thanks to everyone at the hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samvit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose P, General Manager at Hacienda Temozon, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear Samvit K,
It was truly a pleasure to have you and your wife with us at Hacienda Temozon.
I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular the beauty of the place, the tour of the Spa and the cooking lessons. I'll share your comments with Reto and Ulises, I'm sure they are going to be very please.
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for being part of Starwood Preferred Guest Program.
We look forward to welcome you back and show you our sister haciendas.
Warm regards

Jose Portocarrero
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Temozon
23.5 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum
13.4 mi away
Hacienda Santa Cruz
Hacienda Santa Cruz
#41 of 103 in Merida
170 reviews
19.9 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#7 of 103 in Merida
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Hacienda Misne
Hacienda Misne
#28 of 103 in Merida
182 reviews
19.8 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
23.6 mi away
The Lodge at Uxmal
The Lodge at Uxmal
#2 of 3 in Uxmal
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Temozon, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Temozon, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Hacienda Temozon, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: KM 182 Carretera Merida-Uxmal | Temozon Sur, Temozon 97825, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Temozon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Temozon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hacienda Temozon, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Temozon is one of the most valuable residencies built in the 17th century, located in the Yucatan Peninsula. Just a 35 minute drive from Merida’s International Airport, this place is surrounded by a landscape where henequen was formerly cultivated and sisal was widely produced. Among the natural attractions that surround the place are the Lol-tun cenotes and caves, and the Uxmal Mayan Ruins. Its high-elevated ceilings and the exquisite ambiance of its 28 guest rooms and suites evoke the splendor of the colonial times when these premises were built. The 37 hectares covered by the site, a large pool, the cenotes, wonderful paths, and a spa offering treatments inherited from the Mayan culture merge so that guests take a deep plunge into relaxation and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hacienda Temozon, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Temozon Merida
Hacienda Temozon Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing