We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be more welcoming!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St. George's Retreat Village
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Couldn't be more welcoming!”
Reviewed 21 June 2011

My partner and I decided to go to Crete for a two-week holiday over Easter this year, along with our 6 month old baby. We chose St George's Retreat in Kokkino Chorio, as we wanted to be close to the beaches and have easy access to Chania.
Our trip, unfortunately, was a bit of a disaster, with the weather being less-than-spectacular, and my partner coming down with tonsillitis, which meant that we couldn't really do the beachy/active/adventurous holiday we had in mind.
It was a good thing we were staying at St George's Villa. The owners, Stefanos and Roula, made us feel immediately welcome, providing us with milk, fruit, and bread upon our arrival. The day after we arrived was Easter Monday and the local St George's holiday, so nothing was open. They kindly invited us to a barbeque with them, and were excellent hosts. They were also incredibly accommodating for anything we needed for our baby, and had even made up a travel cot for our arrival.
It was a lovely location, the villa was brilliant, the pool was amazing, and the views were spectacular, but it was all made 1000 times better by the friendly owners. I can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbbieG0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Outside Bath, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2011

My wife found this amazing resort after searching the Internet and what a great find it was.

The resort itself is made up of nine villas set around two swimming pools and lovely fruit trees & gardens on the outskirts of the village of Kokkino Chorio.

The villas themselves were newly built in 2009 and are just wonderful. They are fully equipped with air conditioning in the downstairs living area and the master bedroom, satellite TV, a fully equipped kitchen and there is even site wide free wi-fi.

However, what made our arrival even better was the thought and attention that had gone into making our arrival as comfortable as possible; the owners, Roula & Stephanos, had added finishing touches to the villa that would have done a five star hotel proud!! Enough basics and homemade food had been put in the kitchen see us through our first breakfast after arrival and the children had been spoilt with little packets of sweets on their beds.

The site of the retreat is at the base of a mountain and gives fantastic uninterrupted views over Souda Bay. The town of Almyrida is 10 minutes away where there are some great seaside restaurants and a lovely beach. There is a fabously stocked local shop within walking distance with the nearest supermarket is in Kalives about 20 minutes away.

We had such a great holiday that we are now planning to go back again this year - cannot recommend it highly enough.

The website is http://www.retreatvillage.com/en/home

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chiefoldmist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2010

We had a fantastic time at St.George's Retreat this year. The villas were beautifully presented, very clean and with many very thoughtful extra touches (fresh figs and honey in the fridge, wine and olives on the table). We went with other families and we all had young children who loved the two pools and the spaces to explore (like the cave at the back of the villa complex). The whole setting was very well maintained.

The owners could not have been more helpful or generous in their welcome and care of us whilst there. The only slight downside was the location, a steep down hill to the nearest village which has just one shop and one restaurant. Beaches were lovely, the nearest being a 10 minute car ride away. We hired a car and had no problems getting around but it does add to the cost of the holiday. However, I would not let this put me off returning to the Retreat, it was one of the best holidays we have ever had. Julie

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieVLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2010

High quality villas presented to a high standard. Excellent views over Souda Bay. Hosts went out of there way to make this a really enjoyable holiday. Peaceful location. We are going back

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lsinfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chania Prefecture
0.0 mi away
Hotel Irini Stalos
Hotel Irini Stalos
#829 of 1,537 in Crete
16 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Emerald
Hotel Emerald
#1 of 2 in Plaka
62 reviews
1.6 mi away
Niriides Hotel Apts Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Eriki Studios & Apartments
Eriki Studios & Apartments
#133 of 661 in Chania Prefecture
16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chania Hostel
Chania Hostel
#247 of 661 in Chania Prefecture
37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cretan House
Cretan House
#33 of 56 in Lasithi Prefecture
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George's Retreat Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George's Retreat Village

Property: St. George's Retreat Village
Address: Kokkino Chorio, Crete 73008, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 661 Speciality Lodging in Chania Prefecture
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. George's Retreat Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About the Retreat: The Retreat Village is situated just below the famous St. George's Retreat cave. The complex benefits from extensive cultivated gardens, olive trees, a vineyard with its own wine press, and a large number of fruit trees, which the guests are free to taste. They are ideal for families and friends who would like to holiday together, but still maintain their private space. There are discounts available for groups who wish to book 3 or more villas. Contact the owner for details. There are two shared pools and a large BBQ area containing both a BBQ spit and traditional baking oven, while the tavern situated high up above the villas will take care of any appetite desire. The village of Kokkino Chorio is 5 minutes drive away while Plaka and Almyrida villages are a further 5 minutes drive each. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your St. George's Retreat Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. George's Retreat Village Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing