We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for a great, relaxing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St. George's Retreat Village
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We were looking for somewhere to stay on Crete for our first visit to the island that would be in a quiet location, allow us to relax completely and give access to a swimming pool. St George's Retreat Village was the perfect setting. The villa was luxuriously furnished and had a fabulous view over Souda Bay. The design of the individual villas and the layout of the Village has been thought through with great care and attention to detail. Fruit trees, vines and flowering plants around the villas make it a delight to wander round. From the moment we arrived we were made very welcome by the owners, Stefanos and Roula. The fridge was well stocked with ham, milk, bread, eggs, wine, juice, honey and fruit. Stefanos and Roula kindly gave us a delicious homemade meal for our first evening and throughout our stay provided little homemade food treats and Cretan delicacies. They were very attentive but not intrusive, hosts, providing great recommendations for tavernas, restaurants and places to visit. The pool was absolutely essential to cool down in the fierce Cretan sun (and this was in the first half of September). The village is in a good location to explore the west of Crete: Elafonisi, the wild mountain countryside and the crystal clear waters of Chora Sfakion and Frangokastello on the south coast. Our son even learnt to dive at a school in Almyrida. Crete is a beautiful island and this was one of the best holidays we have ever had, and this in no small part due to the facilities at St George's Village and the kindness and attention of Stefanos and Roula. We intend to come back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carthurjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2011

Early this year we decided we wanted to go to a Greek island for our summer family holiday. We were undecided on which island until we found the website for St George’s Retreat – it looked so lovely and the two Trip Advisor reviews were glowing, this coupled with the guest testimonials on their website convinced us!

We were planning to holiday alone with our 7 year old, so wanted somewhere where he might make friends but not somewhere with kids clubs and loads of children, therefore St George’s Retreat looked ideal for us. So we picked the island of Crete on the strength of what St George’s Retreat promised!

Having just returned from our two week holiday, we were not disappointed with our choice in any way at all, in fact it exceeded our expectations in every way. Friends with their two boys decided to join us for our second week and they too were delighted.

The whole site is beautifully set on a mountain side, with gorgeous views of Souda Bay. There are two swimming pools, a children’s playground, communal BBQ and baking oven. The site is full of fruit trees and vines; while we were there we have had figs, plums and grapes from the trees each day. It is all extremely well maintained both the villas and the grounds.

The villa we had (Villa Clio) was really lovely, it was two storey with 4 verandas, three of which have fabulous views, it is one of the highest villas on the site and the sunsets you get from two of the verandas are really something else!

Everything was lovely and clean, with treats on the bed for both adults and children and fresh supplies in the fridge, eggs, cheese, ham, butter, juice, milk plus fresh bread and wine! What a really lovely surprise.

It is a 5 minute drive to the nearest taverna, 8 minutes to the nearest small supermarket and 10 minutes to the nearest beach in Almyrida (with a fabulous sandy beach – great for sandcastles!), lovely sea for swimming and easy parking right next to the beach even in the height of the season, tavernas all along the sea front, so you can eat dinner while the children play on the beach right next to you!

We had a great morning out on a speed boat, visiting caves, swimming and snorkelling in the beautiful clear waters http://villascreteholidays.com/content/view/293/77/ and also a fun afternoon at a local waterpark. Chania old town and harbour is very pretty and definitely worth a visit. Apart from that we simply visited the beach and sat by the pool, the children all entertained themselves and played, while we chatted and read books. Perfect!

We met some great fun people at St George’s Retreat and enjoyed their company enormously, both round the pool and dining out in an evening, and having BBQs at the communal BBQ.

However, the jewel in the crown has to be the owners of St George’s Retreat; Stefanos and Roula, the two most genuine, hospitable, hardworking and lovely people we have ever met. Without in any way being intrusive, they just wanted to ensure our stay was as enjoyable as it possibly could be. Stefanos’s command of the English language would put a lot of English people to shame! Nothing was ever too much trouble and they were both great company too. We had two BBQs with them while we were there and these were the two most memorable nights of the holiday.

We have had many holidays, Cape Cod, Outer Banks NC, Andalucía, Morzine, San Francisco, Tuscany and many other places, however this holiday has been our best family holiday and this has been principally because St George’s Retreat is such a very lovely and special place.

We really couldn’t recommend it enough – we will return!

Thank you Stefanos and Roula!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

What a lovely place, 2 nice pools for the villas to share, rarely was there more than one family at the pool at the same time, unless by choice. Fruit in abundance to enjoy. Fabulous views. Villas beautiful. Owners a delight. Cave in the cliff back drop with an old war bunker to explore and the most quaint little church, all 50 mts from villas.
Food pretty good everywhere! By car, 5 mins to local taverna, 10 mins to nearest village with half dozen tavernas, and then the beach is the next village on, and another beautiful beach the small town after that. All beaches are sandy, very unspoilt. Boat trip around caves and coast line a must! Couple tiny coves ideal for snorkling, easily reached, yet not particularly advertised. Airport in Chiana 22km, also boasting a fabulous harbour town. Magnificent at sunset with it many cobbled streets, shops and tavernas. Very nice water park and go Kart track, again, not overly busy. HIGHLY recommended for anyone wanting to visit this beautiful island, as a family or with other families too.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bubblyfishmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We went to St. George's Retreat in June after a friend had recommended it and it lived up to - well, actually exceeded - all expectations!
I spend a week on my own with my baby daughter before my partner arrived, and was so well looked after by our lovely hosts! They made us feel so welcome, were very attentive without imposing. They were also helpful in getting a rental car for a reasonable price.
The place is absolutely beautiful. Gorgeous views and so nice and quiet. The villas are lovely and feels private even though it is in a compound. The compound is so well looked after with flower, fruit trees etc. For a change it was as beautiful as it was picture on the website.
The place was very clean and had the essentials we needed until we could get to the shops the day after our arrival.
I have been to Crete many times and lived there for shorter periods. I don't know why I have never discovered this area though! It is authentic Crete which people who only go to the resorts or follow the beaten track sadly never see. At the same time it is easy to get to villages with restaurants or even to Chania or Rethymno.
If I had to comment on one thing that isn't ideal it;s the fact that the pool is quite deep, but as soon as our hosts realised that we couldnt swim with our daughter they provided us with a big inflatable paddling pool.
I cannot recommend this place enough and hope to return before too long!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louthulin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Missing your flight back home and being stuck at the airport with 3 kids on Friday evening is not something that comes top on my holiday to-do list. But sadly this is what has happened to us after our lovely 2 week holiday at St. George's Retreat Village. At that point Stefanos (the owner) seemed to be the only person on the whole island of Crete that cared about us. After frantic and fruitless 4 hour search to buy new tickets, when I called Stefanos he was quick to say "come back and stay at my place for as long as you need". I was moved. In the end we had managed to get new tickets via Berlin + 5 hour train commute, but this was something that turned this othrewise disastrous experience into something I now smile about. It felt as we had gained a very close friend in Greece. Thanks Stefanos!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klik2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

My partner and I decided to go to Crete for a two-week holiday over Easter this year, along with our 6 month old baby. We chose St George's Retreat in Kokkino Chorio, as we wanted to be close to the beaches and have easy access to Chania.
Our trip, unfortunately, was a bit of a disaster, with the weather being less-than-spectacular, and my partner coming down with tonsillitis, which meant that we couldn't really do the beachy/active/adventurous holiday we had in mind.
It was a good thing we were staying at St George's Villa. The owners, Stefanos and Roula, made us feel immediately welcome, providing us with milk, fruit, and bread upon our arrival. The day after we arrived was Easter Monday and the local St George's holiday, so nothing was open. They kindly invited us to a barbeque with them, and were excellent hosts. They were also incredibly accommodating for anything we needed for our baby, and had even made up a travel cot for our arrival.
It was a lovely location, the villa was brilliant, the pool was amazing, and the views were spectacular, but it was all made 1000 times better by the friendly owners. I can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AbbieG0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

My wife found this amazing resort after searching the Internet and what a great find it was.

The resort itself is made up of nine villas set around two swimming pools and lovely fruit trees & gardens on the outskirts of the village of Kokkino Chorio.

The villas themselves were newly built in 2009 and are just wonderful. They are fully equipped with air conditioning in the downstairs living area and the master bedroom, satellite TV, a fully equipped kitchen and there is even site wide free wi-fi.

However, what made our arrival even better was the thought and attention that had gone into making our arrival as comfortable as possible; the owners, Roula & Stephanos, had added finishing touches to the villa that would have done a five star hotel proud!! Enough basics and homemade food had been put in the kitchen see us through our first breakfast after arrival and the children had been spoilt with little packets of sweets on their beds.

The site of the retreat is at the base of a mountain and gives fantastic uninterrupted views over Souda Bay. The town of Almyrida is 10 minutes away where there are some great seaside restaurants and a lovely beach. There is a fabously stocked local shop within walking distance with the nearest supermarket is in Kalives about 20 minutes away.

We had such a great holiday that we are now planning to go back again this year - cannot recommend it highly enough.

The website is http://www.retreatvillage.com/en/home

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chiefoldmist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chania Prefecture
3.5 mi away
Kalyves Beach Hotel
Kalyves Beach Hotel
#2 of 6 in Kalyves
692 reviews
13.2 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#3 of 111 in Chania Town
895 reviews
2 mi away
Almyrida Beach Hotel
Almyrida Beach Hotel
#1 of 7 in Almyrida
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Zorbas Rooms
Zorbas Rooms
#186 of 689 in Chania Prefecture
16 reviews
82.2 mi away
Cretan House
Cretan House
#40 of 61 in Lasithi Prefecture
8 reviews
13.1 mi away
Hanim Lounge & Studios
Hanim Lounge & Studios
#1 of 142 in Chania Town
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George's Retreat Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George's Retreat Village

Address: Kokkino Chorio, Crete 73008, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 689 Speciality Lodging in Chania Prefecture
Price Range: £69 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. George's Retreat Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About the Retreat: The Retreat Village is situated just below the famous St. George's Retreat cave. The complex benefits from extensive cultivated gardens, olive trees, a vineyard with its own wine press, and a large number of fruit trees, which the guests are free to taste. They are ideal for families and friends who would like to holiday together, but still maintain their private space. There are discounts available for groups who wish to book 3 or more villas. Contact the owner for details. There are two shared pools and a large BBQ area containing both a BBQ spit and traditional baking oven, while the tavern situated high up above the villas will take care of any appetite desire. The village of Kokkino Chorio is 5 minutes drive away while Plaka and Almyrida villages are a further 5 minutes drive each. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your St. George's Retreat Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. George's Retreat Village Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing