We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommended without hesitation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
St. George's Retreat Village
Brighton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Recommended without hesitation”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We would echo all of the enthusiastic comments on here. We have just come back from two weeks at St George’s Retreat and found it one of the most welcoming and relaxing places we’ve been lucky enough to stay in with our twin boys. There’s two things that we think made this a really special place:
The first is the setting itself. The villas are comfortable and welcoming with a great view over the beautiful bay, (really amazing sunsets), and the pools are great for the little ones to enjoy. There are lovely fruit trees across the estate which the guests can help themselves to (fresh figs, warm off the tree with honey and greek yoghurt for breakfast!)
The second thing is that we found Stephanos and Roulla really to be the perfect hosts. They could not have been more helpful and are full of interesting information together with a real passion for this part of Crete. Talking to them gave us a great insight into Greek food, history and hospitality. We would like to come again and genuinely found it hard to leave.
I would recommend without hesitation.!

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Pablonsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We have recently spent 2 weeks at the Retreat Village during the end July/beginning August in Villa Calliope. As nearly all reviewers have mentioned, the real success of the Retreat Village is down to Stefanos and Roula. They make you feel so welcome and are very helpful!

The villas have been fitted out to a high standard, set in a beautiful location with fantastic views. All villas share two swimming pools (one with a children's splash pool) which was ideal for our 6 year old daughter, who learnt to swim whilst there. Plenty of sunbeds/umbrellas are situated at each pool.

As the villas are in the hills, they are so peaceful, however, only a short drive from the local villages/towns/beaches.

We stayed in Villa Calliope which had a playground next to it, equipped also with loads of childrens toys and a playhouse.

The grounds have various trees/vines bearing fruit - figs, pomegranate, plums, grapes - all of which you are allowed to pick and eat at your leisure.

For dining out, there are plenty of tavernas in Plaka (8 - 10 minute drive) and Almyrida (10 - 15 minute drive). There is also a newly opened Taverna (actually opened whilst we were there), situated at the top of the hill, just above the villas, which has steps directly from the Retreat Village to it's hilltop terrace - a short 2 minute walk. It has the most amazing views and fantastic sunsets. The setting, again, is beautiful and the taverna has been fitted out very tastefully.

In terms of sightseeing, we would recommend Aptera, an ancient city a few miles on from Kalives in the direction of Chania, Lake Kournas, Chania City and if you have children, perhaps Limnoupolis Water Park, about a 45 - 50 minute drive, just on the other side of Chania.

In summary, a great holiday and whether you're travelling as a couple or a family, the layout of the village is that that you can have as much privacy as you like, or choose to interact with other guests in the villas. We made friends with some other couples whilst there who also had children, so was great for them to play.

Thanks Stefanos and Roula for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babachimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem District, Israel
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We just returned from a wonderful stay at the retreat. The hosts , the views the location and the local taverna coupled with a very comfortable suite made it a memorable experience.

The location in the north west district of Crete is great for a veriety ao beaches towns and mountain vilages.

In short highly recommended (probably even better in fall or spring)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hale1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We just got back from a relaxing vacation at St. George's Retreat during school Easter break. All the earlier reviews reflect the same feeling we had during our stay - simply fantastic hosts and comfortable villas in a gorgeous setting. The graciousness of our hosts, Stefanos and Roula is what made the stay particularly memorable. In preparation for our arrival, the villa had been thoughtfully set up with every convenience we could need and the attention put into all the little details (toys for kids, items stocked in the kitchen and fridge, extra blankets, heater, bountiful welcome package etc) was evident. Roula also shared with us some of the most delicious Greek food we had during our stay in Crete. We stayed at Villa Urania, which is right beside the children's playground, has a wood burning fireplace and an incredible view. The kids loved romping around the playground and we could watch them from the kitchen - they also became great fans of the owner's pet dog Fluffy. There were various comfortable spots to sit back and enjoy the incredible views, while listening to the gentle bells of the mountain sheep and goats as they grazed the nearby hills and soaking in the smells and scenery of the flowering plants and trees. The supermarket, beaches and tavernas were a short drive away and it felt like we were at the perfect location - in terms of being close enough to everything and yet in a peaceful setting. A big thank you to Stefanos and Roula for their kind hospitality and making our stay a memorable one!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Millera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We were looking for somewhere to stay on Crete for our first visit to the island that would be in a quiet location, allow us to relax completely and give access to a swimming pool. St George's Retreat Village was the perfect setting. The villa was luxuriously furnished and had a fabulous view over Souda Bay. The design of the individual villas and the layout of the Village has been thought through with great care and attention to detail. Fruit trees, vines and flowering plants around the villas make it a delight to wander round. From the moment we arrived we were made very welcome by the owners, Stefanos and Roula. The fridge was well stocked with ham, milk, bread, eggs, wine, juice, honey and fruit. Stefanos and Roula kindly gave us a delicious homemade meal for our first evening and throughout our stay provided little homemade food treats and Cretan delicacies. They were very attentive but not intrusive, hosts, providing great recommendations for tavernas, restaurants and places to visit. The pool was absolutely essential to cool down in the fierce Cretan sun (and this was in the first half of September). The village is in a good location to explore the west of Crete: Elafonisi, the wild mountain countryside and the crystal clear waters of Chora Sfakion and Frangokastello on the south coast. Our son even learnt to dive at a school in Almyrida. Crete is a beautiful island and this was one of the best holidays we have ever had, and this in no small part due to the facilities at St George's Village and the kindness and attention of Stefanos and Roula. We intend to come back!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carthurjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Early this year we decided we wanted to go to a Greek island for our summer family holiday. We were undecided on which island until we found the website for St George’s Retreat – it looked so lovely and the two Trip Advisor reviews were glowing, this coupled with the guest testimonials on their website convinced us!

We were planning to holiday alone with our 7 year old, so wanted somewhere where he might make friends but not somewhere with kids clubs and loads of children, therefore St George’s Retreat looked ideal for us. So we picked the island of Crete on the strength of what St George’s Retreat promised!

Having just returned from our two week holiday, we were not disappointed with our choice in any way at all, in fact it exceeded our expectations in every way. Friends with their two boys decided to join us for our second week and they too were delighted.

The whole site is beautifully set on a mountain side, with gorgeous views of Souda Bay. There are two swimming pools, a children’s playground, communal BBQ and baking oven. The site is full of fruit trees and vines; while we were there we have had figs, plums and grapes from the trees each day. It is all extremely well maintained both the villas and the grounds.

The villa we had (Villa Clio) was really lovely, it was two storey with 4 verandas, three of which have fabulous views, it is one of the highest villas on the site and the sunsets you get from two of the verandas are really something else!

Everything was lovely and clean, with treats on the bed for both adults and children and fresh supplies in the fridge, eggs, cheese, ham, butter, juice, milk plus fresh bread and wine! What a really lovely surprise.

It is a 5 minute drive to the nearest taverna, 8 minutes to the nearest small supermarket and 10 minutes to the nearest beach in Almyrida (with a fabulous sandy beach – great for sandcastles!), lovely sea for swimming and easy parking right next to the beach even in the height of the season, tavernas all along the sea front, so you can eat dinner while the children play on the beach right next to you!

We had a great morning out on a speed boat, visiting caves, swimming and snorkelling in the beautiful clear waters http://villascreteholidays.com/content/view/293/77/ and also a fun afternoon at a local waterpark. Chania old town and harbour is very pretty and definitely worth a visit. Apart from that we simply visited the beach and sat by the pool, the children all entertained themselves and played, while we chatted and read books. Perfect!

We met some great fun people at St George’s Retreat and enjoyed their company enormously, both round the pool and dining out in an evening, and having BBQs at the communal BBQ.

However, the jewel in the crown has to be the owners of St George’s Retreat; Stefanos and Roula, the two most genuine, hospitable, hardworking and lovely people we have ever met. Without in any way being intrusive, they just wanted to ensure our stay was as enjoyable as it possibly could be. Stefanos’s command of the English language would put a lot of English people to shame! Nothing was ever too much trouble and they were both great company too. We had two BBQs with them while we were there and these were the two most memorable nights of the holiday.

We have had many holidays, Cape Cod, Outer Banks NC, Andalucía, Morzine, San Francisco, Tuscany and many other places, however this holiday has been our best family holiday and this has been principally because St George’s Retreat is such a very lovely and special place.

We really couldn’t recommend it enough – we will return!

Thank you Stefanos and Roula!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

What a lovely place, 2 nice pools for the villas to share, rarely was there more than one family at the pool at the same time, unless by choice. Fruit in abundance to enjoy. Fabulous views. Villas beautiful. Owners a delight. Cave in the cliff back drop with an old war bunker to explore and the most quaint little church, all 50 mts from villas.
Food pretty good everywhere! By car, 5 mins to local taverna, 10 mins to nearest village with half dozen tavernas, and then the beach is the next village on, and another beautiful beach the small town after that. All beaches are sandy, very unspoilt. Boat trip around caves and coast line a must! Couple tiny coves ideal for snorkling, easily reached, yet not particularly advertised. Airport in Chiana 22km, also boasting a fabulous harbour town. Magnificent at sunset with it many cobbled streets, shops and tavernas. Very nice water park and go Kart track, again, not overly busy. HIGHLY recommended for anyone wanting to visit this beautiful island, as a family or with other families too.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubblyfishmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chania Prefecture
0.0 mi away
Hotel Irini Stalos
Hotel Irini Stalos
#790 of 1,563 in Crete
16 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Emerald
Hotel Emerald
#1 of 2 in Plaka
62 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kalyves Beach Hotel
Kalyves Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kalyves
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Eriki Studios & Apartments
Eriki Studios & Apartments
#144 of 653 in Chania Prefecture
15 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zorbas Rooms
Zorbas Rooms
#269 of 653 in Chania Prefecture
11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chania Hostel
Chania Hostel
#171 of 653 in Chania Prefecture
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George's Retreat Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George's Retreat Village

Property: St. George's Retreat Village
Address: Kokkino Chorio, Crete 73008, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 653 Speciality Lodging in Chania Prefecture
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. George's Retreat Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About the Retreat: The Retreat Village is situated just below the famous St. George's Retreat cave. The complex benefits from extensive cultivated gardens, olive trees, a vineyard with its own wine press, and a large number of fruit trees, which the guests are free to taste. They are ideal for families and friends who would like to holiday together, but still maintain their private space. There are discounts available for groups who wish to book 3 or more villas. Contact the owner for details. There are two shared pools and a large BBQ area containing both a BBQ spit and traditional baking oven, while the tavern situated high up above the villas will take care of any appetite desire. The village of Kokkino Chorio is 5 minutes drive away while Plaka and Almyrida villages are a further 5 minutes drive each. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Booking.com so you can book your St. George's Retreat Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. George's Retreat Village Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing