We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Stay at Villa Vouno”
other traveller has booked this property
Villa Vouno, or Mountain Villa, as the name suggests is set high on the side of Cape Drapanos
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Vouno, or Mountain Villa, as the name suggests is set high on the side of Cape Drapanos
Side terrace and covered veranda BBQ terrace and pool area with 360 degree views over Souda bay and the Aegean.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Villa Vouno, or Mountain Villa, as the name suggests is set high on the side of Cape Drapanos
Side terrace and covered veranda
BBQ terrace and pool area with 360 degree views over Souda bay and the Aegean.
BBQ terrace seen from the large pool....only the goats will see you skiny dip!
Cape Drapanos sits high above the pool and BBQ area.
Huge BBQ terrace, lit up at night, set further up mountainside.
Midnight swims under the shooting stars, lights from Souda in the background.
Looking down into Souda bay, from here you can watch the NATO vessels and ferries pass.
Side terrace and covered veranda, the sunsets from the front of the villa are unbelievable.
Luxury kitchen, well equipped with s.steel appliances
Master bedroom with en suite wet room, opens out onto huge veranda
French doors lead out to the breakfast terrace from the comfortable living area.
Open plan living/dinning and kitchen area with one bedroom and a shower room also on this floor.
COvered veranda with swing seat and bistro set lovely for enjoying a quiet coffee in the warm breeze
Covered Veranda.....or my coffee stop!
Top veranda with comfortable furniture has two bedrooms leading out from this. Fabulous views.
Arrow shows where Villa Vouno is on Cape Drapanos
Beautiful little cove in Kokkino Chorio
Chania old harbour with the white mountains or Lefka Orea in the background
Chania seafront, with shops, restaurants, museums etc  (25 - 30 mins away)
Sunset from the harbour in Chania.
local church and ancient Monastry, 2 min walk away
Loutro harbour, only accessible by boat taxi, No Roads
Agia Triada monastery on the Akrotiri peninsula...well worth a visit.
Agia Triada Monastery
Naval base on Akrotiri. Loutraki beach also worth a visit.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Chania Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
groll4
lichfield
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great Stay at Villa Vouno”
Reviewed 8 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We returned from Villa Vouno almost 3 weeks ago and we missed it instantly. Our stay was everything we could have hoped for. The communication between us and Catherine was brilliant. She is a very nice, helpful lady who was full of information prior to our stay about the villa and area. This being our first time to Crete, this was very much appreciated. Her choice of hire car firm that she recommended was also good they were very friendly and also full of advice about the area.
The villa itself was lovely, the pool was idyllic and the views were amazing. Being there only a week it was hard to tear ourselves away from the pool and villa, the only times we did were to buy food from the local supermarket, buy gifts and leave! We had a very relaxing, wonderful holiday, we would go back in a heartbeat.
Thank you Catherine for everything, we hope to return in the future and definitely for a longer visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and location
Liked least: Mattress a little lumpy
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2013
Hi Dieter,

Many thanks for your great review....I knew you'd enjoy the place!
Definitely come back for longer next time as this area has so much to offer. I hope your holiday keeps you going until you can both make it out the next time.

Best Regards, Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parky1956
Holmfirth
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Another fabulous week at the villa”
Reviewed 9 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Mike and I returned to Villa Vouno for a second holiday and again had the most fantastic relaxing break. The villa was spotless and the welcome pack was more than enough. We spent most of our time relaxing by the pool enjoying the stunning pools.

We have booked to return in September and intend to explore the island further. That's if we can drag ourselves away from the pool.

Thank you Catherine for letting us stay in your wonderful villa. And thank you to Anne and Richard for being there if needed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: pool area and views
Liked least: coming home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2013
Hi Nicola,

Many thanks for leaving a review again after your week this year, I'm so glad that the place lived up to your expectations again and that you've decided to come back in September; hopefully the music festivals will be on when you're there!!
It's great when guests love the place as much as we do and want to return. I won't forget to mail you about the other great places to visit in September.
Many Thanks again,

catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niner1whi...
Elpersdorf, Germany
1 review
“Amazing!!!”
Reviewed 3 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

First time renting a villa on vacation and definitely have to think about doing this more now. Loved the location, weather, and the villa was amazing! Waking up in the morning to a beautiful scenery out to the master bedroom balcony was perfect. The pool was great and definitely spent most of the day lounging around there. You don't even need to go to the beach staying at this villa. (Do go to the beautiful beaches down south though.) Thank you to Ms Catherine for all the information. This is hands down the best place to stay in Crete.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool was out of view from all everywhere else.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2013
Hi Michael,

Many thanks for your lovely review, I knew you'd love the place. I know you didn't have too long to enjoy the place; maybe next time you're in Europe you'll come for a fortnight!! I hope your weekend keeps you going for a long time.
Do keep in touch and tell us about your exciting pilot training.

Best Regards, Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace
Liked least: Leaving it!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 May 2013
Hi Karen,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your holiday; I am so glad you enjoyed it and I really hope you do make it back with your daughters, there are so many activities that they would enjoy. Thanks for leaving your walking guide behind also, I've had a couple of guests use it since you stayed who really enjoyed the 'off the tourist trail' stuff!!

Thanks again, Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spectacular view!
Liked least: The matresses were a little firm for our liking, but nothing that couldn't be remedied by placing a couple of duvets underneath us!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Nov 2012
Hi Lori,

Many thanks for your review. I'm so glad that you all enjoyed the villa and indeed Crete and I hope that it will be the first of many visits.

I have loads of new things going on at the villa for next year and will hopefully have updated pictures as soon as I get a chance to get out myself in 2013.

I hope the memory of sunnier climes keeps you going through the dismal weather here in the UK and that you do indeed get back to see Villa Vouno again.

Thanks once again, Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Holmfirth
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Oct 2012
Hi Mike, I think yours goes down as the quickest review I've ever had!!
I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your time in Villa Vouno and of course we'd love to see you again. Crete is amazing isn't it? That combination of Venetian and Greek culture really can't be found anywhere else.
Thanks again for doing a review and I look forward to helping you arrange your next holiday there!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jeremybea...
herts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Peaceful away from it all villa with breathtaking views”
Reviewed 17 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Wonderfully spacious villa, great support staff for help and amazing mid holiday clean and linen change, also very welcome food pack.
May need powerful car/4x4 to access top of drive as steep incline we did just manage with 1.3 peugeot with a run up.
Large swim pool up steps behind villa very secluded. Newly opened evening restaurant about 30m to one side, Catherine hopes to plant trees for more privacy on lower terrace.
Excellent views over Souda Bay (binoculars provided to watch birdlife and Nato forces).
Owner provides much needed directions to villa and wide range of information on places to visit and activities tailored to your needs, if you email these to her.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location
Liked least: Being viewed from the restaurant although diners were probably more interested in their meal
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2012
Hi Mary
Many Thanks for your great review; As you say the drive is steep and hence the fantastic views, the trick is to let the car roll back to the electricity pillar (Stone pillar) and then take-off in 1st gear from there. I haven't seen the new taverna myself yet however if I feel there is a privacy issue I will certainly make some provision for screening.

I really hope we see you again and thanks again for the gifts you gave to the Sarah's Hope Foundation.

Best Regards,Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing