We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special”
Review of Marathi beach

Marathi beach
Book In Advance
More Info
US$72.94*
and up
Crete Coastline Sightseeing Cruise Including Marathi Beach
More Info
US$76.47*
and up
SUP and Snorkeling Tour Blue Lagoon - Loutraki Bay
More Info
US$88.24*
and up
4 x 4 Adventure on Mykonos
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Piraeus, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Marathi beach worths a visit when it's windy, is one of the few beaches (among with Loutraki) which the sea is always calm and you can swim. It is recommended when you have children. You can have them playing around without any problem. The bad thing is that is always crowded and full of families and noise. There are some options for good eating next to the beach. Overall not recommended for singles, couples or friends teens etc. maybe for families and if it's windy in other places.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Giroin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    95
    20
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Linconshire
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Fine place - worth finding”
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Dropped in here on the way home via the airport. Very pleased we did. A choice of shallow clean bays with a few decent eateries and free parking. Only 8kms from the airport - sets you up for the flight home and catches a few final rays.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Greeklover20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chania Town, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“super”
Reviewed 13 September 2012

very excellent beach with very clean water i suggest this beach if you are closed...nice restaurants and kantins

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank anna p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Do not go there!”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

There is nothing to see at Marathi beach.
We went there because of the wind and we were told that there the sea will be calm. It was calm but it was very crowdy.

Small sandy beach with sunbeds all over we've found two sunbeds to sit at a beach bar but we didn't order anything cause
there was no service at all.

The water was not clear at contrary to the majority of beaches in Crete.

I suggest you go elsewhere there so many places to go in Crete this isn't one of them!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ArgT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lovely beach”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

I love Marathi. It has got busier over the years, and fills up at lunchtime when the pirate boat arrives. You have an hour or two of bustle, and then everyone gets back on the boat and it's peaceful again... Water is clear, beach is clean, people are friendly and the restaurants are good too.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank katelilybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marathi beach also viewed

Marathi, Chania Prefecture
Kalathas, Chania Prefecture
 
Akrotiri, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Marathi beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing