We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in the West” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle View B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castle View B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Dromahair B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Susquehanna, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best in the West”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Wonderful place to stay in the west of Ireland. JJ O'Hare is a gracious host and a terrific cook! Well worth a visit - if I ever get back to Ireland, I WILL go back to Castle View.
Peaceful, serene..... words are inadequate to describe this B&B - absolutely the best!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    18
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
30
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Our tour group of 7 was booked into proprietor J.J. O'Hara's establishment & we had a blast. Set in the middle of Yeats country (W.B. Yeats), it overlooks Lough Gill which provided much of the inspiration for many of his poems such as "The Fiddler of Dooney" & "The Lake Isle of Innisfree".

J.J. is a wonderful host. He is engaging, personable & you feel at ease here right away. The place is about 6 years old. Our room, room 1, overlooked the lake & each morning we would look out to watch the mist rise from the lake & look off to Sligo in the West to check what the weather would be for the next few hours. Next was a full Irish breakfast of either oatmeal with honey, scrambled eggs with cheese or pancakes with strawberry jam. Also there was fresh fruit, yogurt, toast, juice, coffee & tea. If you come away hungry it really is your fault.

Our room had one quirk we never really solved. We just could not get the shower hot water adjusted but as with all things when traveling, we worked it out. Remember to bring your own wash cloth as it is considered a personal item in Europe & not supplied by most B&B's or hotels.

The area is not a big tourist location which is what attracted us in the first place. But it is the postcard Ireland everyone goes to find. We saw no big tour buses for the 7 days there.

As a base to operate while seeing the area, Castle View is one of the best you could ask for. And J.J. makes it that much better with his knowledge of the area since he was born & raised there. He is so generous in sharing where to go & what to see.

If you want an area with few other tourists, friendly people, beautiful scenery & a wonderful host, look no further.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank htownhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooksville, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We had the great fortune of staying at Castle View in July of 2013. JJ O'Hara the owner is a gracious host that went over and above to make our stay feel like we had come to stay with family. As for our room, it was great, well lit, spacious with a beautiful view of Lough Gill every morning. Because of the peaceful country setting sleep was a dream. Each morning we were cheerily greeted by JJ as he made breakfast for us. He is a great cook and can whip up a full Irish in a heartbeat. We intend to return and stay with JJ again. I Say stay with JJ and not at Castle View because it really did feel like staying with family. I would recommend Castle View to everyone that is traveling to the area.
Lucinda Wise

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lucinda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenties, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at this lovely B & B on Saturday 20th July to say that it was a fantastic stay is an understatement the proprietor J.J was a delight nothing was too much trouble the rooms were large & spotlessly clean & the view overlooking Lough Gill took your breath away, the breakfast made by J.J was superb freshly cooked to order without hardly any waiting time at all there was a large menu with great choices to choose from portions where great & food was lovely & hot, I am so delighted to have found this gem of place & look forward to my next stay if any of you get the chance to visit Dromahair with its beautiful scenery & the lovely Loch Gill and Parkes Castle be sure & book this lovely gem for your stay I can assure you that you will not be disappointed, thank you J.J for a wonderful stay you deserve 10 stars, Jackie Gallagher

Room Tip: this is a lovely place not to be missed it is a typically irish B & B with a huge warm welcome t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jackieg3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at Castle View B & B recently, and can not put into words what an absolute gem this place is.
The setting and scenery are breath-taking, overlooking Lough Gill, from arrival I felt like I had found a little piece of heaven on earth.
The atmosphere is very homely & relaxed & the host JJ is a gentleman.
The rooms are lovely & spacious, this B & B will suit families, couples and groups.
The location is excellent & the area is steeped in history.
I love this place and can not recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monahan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

I can't recommend this b&b enough, it's a hidden treasure, looking over lough gill, the owner Jj is the best host ever, you get the most warmest Irish welcome ever, hospitality is 10 out of 10, views are to die for, you could be anywhere in the world, enjoy

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelekmoffett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Bluffs, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

My stay at Castle View was great. Castle View has an amazing view of the surrounding area as well as a wonderful host . It has spacious, comfortable bedrooms en suite. Jj ,the owner /chief cook and bottlewasher does an amazing job making sure your stay is as comfortable as you would be in your own home.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dromahair
5.2 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
4.9 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
6.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
5.6 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#6 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle View B&B

Property: Castle View B&B
Address: Dromahair, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Leitrim > Dromahair
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dromahair
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle View B&B is overlooking Lough Gill, Parke’s Castle, Innisfree Island, Arigna Mountains, O’Rourke’s Table, Queen Maeve grave and St. Angela’s College. All rooms are en-suite, and have TV and internet access. Castle B&B is located outside Dromahair in Co. Leitrim within close proximity of Sligo City It is an inviting, three star registered bed and breakfast. Try our hillwalking and mountain walking tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Castle View B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle View B&B Ireland/Dromahair

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing