We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, fresh & friendly”
Review of Castle View B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dromahair
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castle View B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Dromahair B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This place and host took us by surprise! We felt that we had landed an safe place and safe hands! You feel like at home directly, enjoy of the coziness of this place, friendliness of the family (inclusive the cute 4 year old "helper"). We recommend this place big time! It was also so wonderfully quiet by night time, so there is not trouble to get a good night sleep!
It is also suited in a beautiful surroundings and you got Parke's castle nearby that is also worth while a visit and a guided tour. Thanks JJ O'Hara for making our stay as comfortable as possible. It is a really good location for to start to discover all those tourist attractions nearby.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanisPanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

Wonderful place to stay in the west of Ireland. JJ O'Hare is a gracious host and a terrific cook! Well worth a visit - if I ever get back to Ireland, I WILL go back to Castle View.
Peaceful, serene..... words are inadequate to describe this B&B - absolutely the best!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johnine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Our tour group of 7 was booked into proprietor J.J. O'Hara's establishment & we had a blast. Set in the middle of Yeats country (W.B. Yeats), it overlooks Lough Gill which provided much of the inspiration for many of his poems such as "The Fiddler of Dooney" & "The Lake Isle of Innisfree".

J.J. is a wonderful host. He is engaging, personable & you feel at ease here right away. The place is about 6 years old. Our room, room 1, overlooked the lake & each morning we would look out to watch the mist rise from the lake & look off to Sligo in the West to check what the weather would be for the next few hours. Next was a full Irish breakfast of either oatmeal with honey, scrambled eggs with cheese or pancakes with strawberry jam. Also there was fresh fruit, yogurt, toast, juice, coffee & tea. If you come away hungry it really is your fault.

Our room had one quirk we never really solved. We just could not get the shower hot water adjusted but as with all things when traveling, we worked it out. Remember to bring your own wash cloth as it is considered a personal item in Europe & not supplied by most B&B's or hotels.

The area is not a big tourist location which is what attracted us in the first place. But it is the postcard Ireland everyone goes to find. We saw no big tour buses for the 7 days there.

As a base to operate while seeing the area, Castle View is one of the best you could ask for. And J.J. makes it that much better with his knowledge of the area since he was born & raised there. He is so generous in sharing where to go & what to see.

If you want an area with few other tourists, friendly people, beautiful scenery & a wonderful host, look no further.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
4  Thank htownhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We had the great fortune of staying at Castle View in July of 2013. JJ O'Hara the owner is a gracious host that went over and above to make our stay feel like we had come to stay with family. As for our room, it was great, well lit, spacious with a beautiful view of Lough Gill every morning. Because of the peaceful country setting sleep was a dream. Each morning we were cheerily greeted by JJ as he made breakfast for us. He is a great cook and can whip up a full Irish in a heartbeat. We intend to return and stay with JJ again. I Say stay with JJ and not at Castle View because it really did feel like staying with family. I would recommend Castle View to everyone that is traveling to the area.
Lucinda Wise

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lucinda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at this lovely B & B on Saturday 20th July to say that it was a fantastic stay is an understatement the proprietor J.J was a delight nothing was too much trouble the rooms were large & spotlessly clean & the view overlooking Lough Gill took your breath away, the breakfast made by J.J was superb freshly cooked to order without hardly any waiting time at all there was a large menu with great choices to choose from portions where great & food was lovely & hot, I am so delighted to have found this gem of place & look forward to my next stay if any of you get the chance to visit Dromahair with its beautiful scenery & the lovely Loch Gill and Parkes Castle be sure & book this lovely gem for your stay I can assure you that you will not be disappointed, thank you J.J for a wonderful stay you deserve 10 stars, Jackie Gallagher

Room Tip: this is a lovely place not to be missed it is a typically irish B & B with a huge warm welcome t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jackieg3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at Castle View B & B recently, and can not put into words what an absolute gem this place is.
The setting and scenery are breath-taking, overlooking Lough Gill, from arrival I felt like I had found a little piece of heaven on earth.
The atmosphere is very homely & relaxed & the host JJ is a gentleman.
The rooms are lovely & spacious, this B & B will suit families, couples and groups.
The location is excellent & the area is steeped in history.
I love this place and can not recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monahan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

I can't recommend this b&b enough, it's a hidden treasure, looking over lough gill, the owner Jj is the best host ever, you get the most warmest Irish welcome ever, hospitality is 10 out of 10, views are to die for, you could be anywhere in the world, enjoy

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelekmoffett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dromahair
5.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
503 reviews
6.2 mi away
Castle Dargan
Castle Dargan
#1 of 1 in Ballygawley
1,265 reviews
5.2 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,111 reviews
10.4 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
5.5 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle View B&B

Address: Dromahair, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Leitrim > Dromahair
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dromahair
Price Range: £44 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle View B&B is overlooking Lough Gill, Parke’s Castle, Innisfree Island, Arigna Mountains, O’Rourke’s Table, Queen Maeve grave and St. Angela’s College. All rooms are en-suite, and have TV and internet access. Castle B&B is located outside Dromahair in Co. Leitrim within close proximity of Sligo City It is an inviting, three star registered bed and breakfast. Try our hillwalking and mountain walking tours. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castle View B&B Ireland/Dromahair

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing