We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice facilities but dirty beach”
Review of Ocean Queen Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ocean Queen Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good location, nice facilities but dirty beach”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

At the price we paid - 3000000 Rupiah for three persons/two nights, including return from Jakarta, this is a very good deal. The pool is very nice, and the beach is beautiful - at least from a distance. There's quite some garbage on the beach, also in the water, but if you can live with that this is a good place to relax. Next time I go I will rent one of the large bungalows, which have a barbecue and a large kitchen, instead of one of the rooms. The families with kids seemed to love it, at least considering the noise they made

Room Tip: Get the beachside bungalows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    49
    18
    8
    0
See reviews for
58
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Lovely resort. Assuming you're going there frome Jakarta as we did, the journey is quite long. Still, when it can take you two hours to go 10km in "normal" Jakarta traffic, you'll be used to it. Our timings, which I suspect are typical, were 6 hours there and 5 hours back. We set off at 6am on a holiday weekend Friday to get there. We came back leaving at 3.30pm. It was actually relatively traffic free on the way back, it's just the roads are so twisty and narrow.

So, enough about the journey, more about the place...

The staff are laid back, so laid back you often have to find them to order things. Forewarned is fore-armed as they say, and we'd heard this from reading reviews and so we'd set our expectations accordingly. The advantage of this is that you don't get hassled all the time! Also, they're not officious, so they let us check straight into our room even though we were early. Not all places do this.

Nice pool area with loungers; great for kids, but less perfect for those wanting total peace! The beach was not far from deserted though and it is a very, very short distance to the beach.

We stayed in one of the garden rooms. These are really big, with a massive bed and nice furniture but a bit stark in terms of the walls. If I were looking to improve the rooms in any way, I would first add a fridge, so you can keep your water cold.

Easy to get food and drinks from the cafe and looks like they're renovating the rooftop bar there. The food is simple fare and I've had much worse. Breakfast is quite good; really nice eggs and actual pig bacon and ham, rather than the beef equivalent so prevalent here. Saying this, it wasn't amazing bacon really.

All in all, we had a very relaxing and simple time here. Great escape from the city and worth the drive.

Room Tip: Unless you're watching your pennies, get a bungalow on the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAULeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

I'm not sure if anyone would review a resort based on the kitchen ;) I've been to several others budget resorts but this one's got an excellent kitchen! It has (about) a dozen set of plates, small bowls, small plates, spoons, forks; cooking utensils, knives, pan, gas stove. Oh, and the refrigerator is in a very good conditions, complete with ice cubes hehe..

I stayed in the 4-bedrooms bungalow. Bedrooms and bathrooms are good, large enough. You can see the beach from the dining room. If you're expecting a silent night, then you won't get it here because the beach in front of this resort is rocky so you'll hear the waves smashing the rock all night -- but I like the sound of it. In overall, this is a good alternative for getaway :)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pantarhei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

The quick review: Deceptive in advertisement. backpackers and adventurous travelers will enjoy.
Cash Only, More like cabin camping than a resort, Fis subpar, Bungalow is buggy, Beach is good, Back porch looking out to water is great for reading the day away.
Bring your own food & drinks; you have a fridge in your bungalow and BBQ out back.
Bring house shoes!

The Long Review: This is not a Resort as the western world thinks of a resort. Think of it more as a camping cabin on the beach.
If you come with that attitude you will have a lovely time, of course you have to survive the drive to the "Resort".
If you can't handle snaking roads up and down mountains you will be hanging your head out the window.
The drive is very scenic with many chances for pictures and rest breaks
It was 4.5 hr drive from Bogor; I can only imagine a drive from Jakarta.
It's Indonesia so there will be bugs, beetles at dusk, mosquitoes at night and the occasional spider in the bathroom.
Ask for mosquito netting and the bug bombs, you will need them. Still don't know what all the fuss was about the waves.
The bungalow was basically nice for what you got. The food is editable at the cafe but that's about it.
A group of friends could come down and have a great time if they were prepared and knew they were basically camping.


The Review from the rest of the family:
Daughter: Beach is nice, Bungalow is unhygienic, and I will never come here again
Son: Beach is not as good as grandpa's. "The Hamptons" He likes bigger waves.
Wife: It grew on me a bit, but it is not well managed "How do you not know how to put up mosquito netting?"
Husband: Deceptive in advertisement. Backpackers and adventurous travelers will enjoy.
Friends: Waaay over hyped!

Note to Owner: Have the people do a beach cleaning in the morning. You could really make it an "A" level beach if your people did a daily beach pickup. It's a beach so there will be ocean debris.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chuck&Jessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Cottages were not bad, but the locks should be in good condition, which were not at number 10. Kitchen staff not reflecting the status of this resort and its visitors (Lack of English language). Food takes too long to prepare and also here the service does not make a split between apetizer and main course when it comes to serving time of the food. Breakfast: Omlette with a baby piece of fried bacon and a charge (!) of the cheese on top of it: 8000 rp. They should have notified us, however There should be no charge at a resort of this level but only at an Indonesian street resto where all costs counts. Further, the ladies can be more friendlier and less commercial. For the rest nice locaton and the pool is a heaven for the kits.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vdongen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

I absolutely loved my weekend at the Ocean Queen. It's a chill, relaxing place right on the beach. Though the waves are strong and the beach is rocky right in front of the bungalows, if you go around the corner just past the hotel, there's a great swimming spot where the waves are much calmer, and it's also clean and uncrowded. It's quite far from most of the other hotels in this area, but I view that as a positive, because it doesn't feel very crowded, and you don't have to share the beach with too many people.

The people working at the hotel are extremely nice and helpful, and they offer cheap (and good!) massages and body scrubs. And for some reason, they use adorable sheep (yes sheep, not goats, not lawnmowers!) to cut the grass.

I ate at the hotel restaurant a few times and it was fine for a meal or two, but not recommended if you can avoid it. As others have said, you can go to the fish market or send the "house boy" to get fish for you and and bbq it. The fish is very tasty and fresh, and the fish market is a fun experience in itself. I highly recommend bringing groceries from Jakarta to go with it, such as bread and vegetables, or you can buy plain, cooked rice at the hotel restaurant. The bungalows have full sized kitchens with dishes and a large refrigerator and freezer. There are also plenty of great seafood restaurants along the beach if you go closer to the city. Don't expect fast service, but the food and the view are always good.

The rooms at the Ocean Queen were good enough, but certainly not luxurious. One of the showers had no hot water, and the other one had only scalding hot or icy cold, with nothing in between. There were plenty of geckos, and one much larger lizard, fat and about 8 inches long. Mosquitoes were everywhere, and they didn't have nets that fit over the beds. When we asked for nets, they put some up that left a full 3-foot gap between the net and the bed, completely useless. We were of course covered in mosquito bites all over our faces when we woke up, and that was after spraying plenty of mosquito repellent.

That having been said, I knew what to expect, and if you go into it with accurate expectations, you'll have a great time. I would definitely go back to the Ocean Queen the next time I'm in Pelabuhan Ratu.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nafa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

This place is great. We stay at 3 bedrooms bungalow and found it nice. The 2 swimming pools are also well maintained. And the best part is certainly the beach with gazebos. The beach is wide and clean.
Unfortunately the receptionists are not very friendly. It seems that they all are feel disturbed each time I communicate with them. I also don’t understand why they could not provide volley ball or an soccer ball while they have the courts and even put an “invitation” to join volley ball session on each bungalow. I also find that it is irritating that they charge us the drinking water they provide in the bungalow. It is a very small amount of money, but it is irritating.

Room Tip: Please ask for room that is not next to the main gate as it is a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RidyIndonesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pelabuhan Ratu
5.0 mi away
Inna Samudra Beach Hotel
Inna Samudra Beach Hotel
#3 of 8 in Pelabuhan Ratu
39 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Villas Lagusa
Hotel Villas Lagusa
#2 of 8 in Pelabuhan Ratu
21 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ketapang Resort
Ketapang Resort
#1 of 8 in Pelabuhan Ratu
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Karang Aji Beach Villa
Karang Aji Beach Villa
#3 of 3 in Cisolok
3 reviews
2.1 mi away
77 Sunset Plaza
77 Sunset Plaza
#120 of 333 in Jakarta
12 reviews
3.5 mi away
Cimaja Beach Club
Cimaja Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Pelabuhan Ratu
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Queen Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Queen Resort

Property: Ocean Queen Resort
Address: Rt 02 Rw 12 Jl. Banten, Cibangban | Cikahuripan, Cisolok, Pelabuhan Ratu 43364, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Pelabuhan Ratu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Pelabuhan Ratu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Ocean Queen Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Queen Hotel Pelabuhan Ratu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing