We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Racehorses Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Racehorses Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Kettlewell B&B and Inns
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We recently visited the racehorses with a group of friends on an overnight break , while walking in the dales .
If you want to stay in a traditional dales inn this has to be the place .
It's central position is ideal for most of the dales and kettlewell is a typical dales village , perfect .
The staff who are mainly from Slovakia are friendly and hand working ,nothing seems to be to much trouble .
The food is excellent ,I had a traditional steak pudding which was superb .
The pub has a good range of local beers ,mainly Timothy Tailors as well as a good wine list. Plus open fires ,
A perfect place to stay

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ajg49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    72
    17
    18
    28
See reviews for
63
121
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

I stayed here the last weekend as a weekend away and the hotel was amazing! The staff were very welcoming and friendly and couldn't do enough for us. The food was excellent and the hotel environment was great! We arrived at the room to discover we had a great view of the surrounding area which made the stay even better, the room was very clean and comfortable and I really couldn't think of a bad thing to say and cant wait to revisit in the future!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessical690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
69 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed just one night at the Racehorses Hotel and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Our room was very clean and had a superb shower, a large comfortable bed with plenty of pillows. There was even an extra duvet in the cupboard, although the room was warm enough for us not to need it. There was also a hairdryer, plenty of tea, coffee and milk and even a packet of biscuits. This all made for a very relaxing and comfortable stay.

As we stayed here on a Saturday night it was necessary to book a table for dinner and we were glad that we did this as every table was reserved. Our meal was excellent, washed down with the very tasty Timothy Taylor's Ram Tam. Breakfast was of an equally high standard - the sausages were fantastic!

Throughout our stay we received a high standard of service with a smile and it was obvious from the comments of departing guests that people return here time and time again. I could see why!

The only minor snag we found was that the car park is very small and cars get quite tightly packed in (our car actually got bumped but luckily for us the culprit owned up and it was all sorted amicably). It's worth asking at reception if you have trouble parking and something can usually be sorted out I'm told.

Kettlewell is an excellent base for walking and the Racehorses Hotel is the ideal place to stay. I'm sure this won't be the only time we visit!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PollyPix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Family group of 7 of us parked at Buckden and walked to Kettlewell and chose to eat here about 2pm.

We had 4 rounds of drinks, a starter and a main each, plus two desserts, a cheese board, and three coffees - £30 / head

The food is really sublime! Everything about it was excellent, taste, heat, speed of it coming to the table:

Starters - Goats cheese starter with caramelized walnut and red cabbage - amazing !

Carrot and ginger soup was nice by all accounts, I don't like ginger so didn't try

prawn cocktail was nice and the white bait was ok

Main courses - yorkshire hot pot, beef and venison goulash (they are separate but I asked to try both and not problem at all), steak and ale suet puddings, scampi and chips, pork belly - all really really good food, super super full customers!!

We missed the bus so the boss drove two of us back to Buckden to collect the cars - great service and great craic with the waitresses too.

HIGHLY RECOMMEND !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nedthewonderhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horley, Surrey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

This is a super little hotel in the picturesque village of Kettlewell. Fine views over the limestone hills and the hotel sits right on the fast flowing River Warfe. Good atmosphere inside the bars and an impressive and reasonably priced menu. The 'black pudding & haggis stack' with peppercorn sauce is amazing (if you like that sort of thing), and all our meals were of a very high standard during our evening. The rooms were very well equipped, clean and comfortable. The landlord is a friendly character and we felt very welcome. Oh, and the breakfast is excellent too! All in all a black-pudding fest!! Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HorleyDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

My family and I visited the Racehorses Hotel twice last week - at lunchtime and during the evening. On both occasions we were very impressed by the excellent service provided by the bar staff and waitresses - they were always smiling and made us feel very welcome. The food served was very well presented and of good quality, however I do feel it was a little overpriced and the children's portions were rather small and did not really provide good value for money. I would also like to request that hotels/restaurants and bars like the Racehorses provide greater range of meals for children, e.g. smaller portions of the 'main meals' on offer for adults. Nevertheless we enjoyed our visits to the Racehorses and we will return when we are next in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for a late lunch whilst on the way to another hotel. We received a warm welcome and service was very good. The food was fantastic, my partner had the hotpot and said it was the best he had ever had! I had a sandwich and chips which was lovely. Will definitely be returning!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank emlofty83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kettlewell
7.9 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
5.5 mi away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grassington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Blue Bell Inn
The Blue Bell Inn
#2 of 10 in Kettlewell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 10 in Kettlewell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zarina's Bed & Breakfast
Zarina's Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 10 in Kettlewell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Racehorses Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Racehorses Hotel

Property: Racehorses Hotel
Address: B6160, Kettlewell, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 5QZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Kettlewell
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Kettlewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Racehorses Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Racehorses Hotel Kettlewell, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing