We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value”
Review of Racehorses Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Racehorses Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Kettlewell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Louth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location and value”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel whilst on a walking weekend. We have stayed in many hotels over the years in Yorkshire and must say that the Racehorses is one of the best for both location - good rooms and great food. The owner Kevin and his staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: Would say that room 1 is a larger room that room 2 but all of the rooms are clean and modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlAnstice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    76
    18
    20
    29
See reviews for
67
129
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

First time in the Yorkshire Dales, the hotel was chosen by family. Rooms clean and comfortable, would have liked a mini bar but this was easily overcome. Staff friendly and very helpful, couldn't do enough for you. Food excellent, large portions which meant pudding could be overlooked. A great place if you're looking for a base for walks around the area. Worth a try.

Room Tip: If you have a dog, no worries, dogs are well catered for
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Excellent all round pub/ hotel. As a party of 4 we stayed a weekend in May. Kevin was very helpful and accommodating, and the staff were friendly. The food was excellent as was the real ale available at the bar. The rooms were clean and fresh, if a bit cramped, not that it really mattered as one was out all day and the downstairs bar area was cosy and comfortable. Nicely located in the middle of the village and right beside the river. Would be very happy to go back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ojelliven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We were staying in a cottage for a week in the village and therefore after a hard days slogging it up and down hillsides we ate out in the evening. The Racehorses was ideally placed with an excellent choice of dishes on the menu. I tried most things throughout the week and had no need to complain about any of them. Added bonus was the free wifi as the village had no mobile signal except for vodaphone i believe. Kevin and his staff were very accommodating and we would consider returning to kettlewell and staying in his accommodation

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taramayacus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We had a great break at the Racehorses Hotel - Kevin the landlord and his staff were very helpful .
The food was excellent ,especially the 'hearty breakfast' .
Kettlewell is perfectly positioned for discovering the Yorkshire Dales - Hawes and the cheese factory/antique shops are to the north ,Grassington and Pateley Bridge to the south .We also visited Skipton on the way home.
The room was first class - really comfy mattress ,great shower,coffee/tea making facilities and a large bathroom with an excellent walk in shower.Everything was really clean .
We loved walking around the village at night ,with some houses dating back to the 1600's.
The company in the bar at night is also excellent ,visitors and locals were very friendly and one even brought his guitar for a spontaneous sing song .
We can't recommend this gastro pub and hotel enough - we will definitely return.

Room Tip: All rooms have been refurbished so take your pick.We enjoyed looking over the small brook to the sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CBSmith15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I found this place online while looking for a quickie one night stay over for my husband and I. Its just forty minutes from home but still an unexplored part of the dales for us. We only had time for very short break and The race horses was perfect. Kevin the landlord was welcoming and helpful, Martina and all the girls were always cheerful and attentive. The meal was brilliant, definitely the best ever steak suet pudding i ever had. Sat by the fire in a nook all night and saw dogs were welcome too, many brought their own little rugs to lay on the flagged floor. A very laid back atmosphere but very attentive staff. Room very comfortable over looking the riverside. One of the best pubs we've stayed in and we'll be going again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrealouise68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We went in for a few drinks while staying across the road, very friendly welcome, nice beer garden round the back with plenty of tables. Dogs welcome. I would imagine that this would be a nice place to stay, kettlewell us a great base for walking.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruth186411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kettlewell
7.9 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
791 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
5.5 mi away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Blue Bell Inn
The Blue Bell Inn
#3 of 10 in Kettlewell
188 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 10 in Kettlewell
201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zarina's Bed & Breakfast
Zarina's Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 10 in Kettlewell
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Racehorses Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Racehorses Hotel

Property: Racehorses Hotel
Address: B6160, Kettlewell, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 5QZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Kettlewell
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Kettlewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Racehorses Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Racehorses Hotel Kettlewell, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing