We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Kings Head Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Kettlewell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
skipton
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

Best pub food in the area. Restaurant quality food. Friendly staff and an owner who is clearly passionate about what he does. He cooks the food and finds the time to ask how the food is Excellent menu using local produce. And that rarest of things -lovely kids' food. Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    36
    12
    8
    4
See reviews for
43
77
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

We were in Kettlewell to celebrate a landmark birthday & were able to book a table for supper at the Kings Head the night after the birthday. It was even better than the meal we had for the birthday dinner.
The food was fresh, tasty & locally sourced. The dishes were imaginative without being too fancy. Really delicious. Would recommend for any celebration, but book in advance.
Staff were friendly & attentive but not intrusive.
Wine & beer were excellent.
Hopefully we will return.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Fantastic place to stay at. The food was excellent, friendly and efficient staff, the bedrooms were clean and beautifully set out.
Breakfast- continental was amazing, inventive and well thought out. Evening meals were excellent but book a table well in advance!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We recently visited kettlewell for the famous scarecrow festival. Having heard of a new pub that had opened we sought it out in the hope of some light refreshment. How wrong we were! Upon arriving we entered the establishment and was happy to notice it was busy. We were shown to a table by a member of staff who looked very flustered. We perused the menu and couldn't help but overhear how long some of the other customers had been waiting. We decided we would risk it and order. After a very long wait - which we expected and were happy to do - our food arrived!!! It looked as if it had been slapped on the plate there was no care given to how it was presented. We ate half our food and decided to give it up as a bad job. The whole experience was off putting we felt squashed into the place like cattle and the poor staff seemed to be running round but not achieving anything we felt like an inconvenience to them!!! Maybe for one of the biggest things that happens in kettlewell a little more staff would have been a better idea! There didn't seem to be any management available so we left and sadly will not be returning.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Plantladymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We were staying on a caravan site near Kettlewell and decided to pay a visit to the Kings Head after being told it was good. Food absolutely delicious. Met people who had already been for a meal and everyone had good comments about it. Recommended food to others on site. All the best Michael and Jenny - We will be back.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NE
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

My husband and i have just stayed 2 nights at The Kings Head and could not have been made to feel more welcome. The hospitality is second to none and all the staff were very attentive to make sure we were comfortable. Food is amazing and full English breakfast was the best ever. We did make the mistake of eating one night in a pub near and the food was awful. The staff here never stop and their politeness level does not drop even when obviously stressed at very busy times. 10/10. Would definitely stay here and eat here if return to Kettlewell.

Room Tip: stayed in King James 111 which was very comfortable and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sophiecatNe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

stayed one night here - great rooms with comfy beds and new bathrooms - all clean and fresh with home-made biscuits in the room. the food is superb verging on michelin star quality and the 'continental' breakfast was worth going back for. Brilliant experience.

Room Tip: top floor front room - can't remember the name but a twin room - excellent - only comment is tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kettlewell
7.9 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
5.5 mi away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grassington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Blue Bell Inn
The Blue Bell Inn
#3 of 10 in Kettlewell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Racehorses Hotel
Racehorses Hotel
#4 of 10 in Kettlewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zarina's Bed & Breakfast
Zarina's Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 10 in Kettlewell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Head Hotel

Property: The Kings Head Hotel
Address: The Green, Kettlewell, Yorkshire Dales National Park, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Kettlewell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Kettlewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Kings Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Head Hotel Kettlewell, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing