We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again-Ripped Off”

The Cottage Tea Room B&B
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cottage Tea Room B&B
Ranked #6 of 9 Kettlewell B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Four of us stopped in after a wet walk on the 21st August 2014. Poor service-from the Basil Fawlty School of Charm. Dirty cup and £8.60 for a pot of tea for three and and a coffee. Also the table we sat at-not the only one- had four chairs which are fixed together and the ground- Unmovable so nowhere to hang our wet jackets on them- except on the floor. Was thinking about eating here but went to brilliant Cracoe Cafe -more like a restaurant instead.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank tutoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stopped to visit the tea room whilst cycling the dales. Wish I hadn't. Was served a very small mediocre sandwich accompanied by a tiny salad of two lettuce leaves, three cucumber slices and half a tomato. The only thing large was the price. This tea room serves mediocre food at high prices and is best avoided, there are many far better eating places in the dales.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank edward s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Once again another great stay with Mike and Janine . Always made to feel most welcome , bedrooms small but clean and cosy. Breakfast well made and presented with plenty of toast tea and coffee. A lovely village and was delighted to find the kings head once again back open.

Room Tip: Both good four poster room a bit bigger of the two
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank helena662777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Is a bit 80s chintz, is a bit tired. BUT it's got a whirlpool bath for goodness sake! Youngest son thought he'd died and gone to heaven. Most amusing. And there was free sherry in cut glass glasses and ferrera rochet chocs in a wicker duck. And a lot of curtains round the bed. And Janie and her family are lovely, she bent over backwards to look after us. Breakfast was great. Don't go here if you are into sophisticated style. But I really liked it, especially when youngest son was shrieking with joy as the bubbles in the bath speeded up when he pulled out the plug.

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank Anna-j-m-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Went to this tea room, the carpets were filthy,there were 3 flies buzzing round and the decor was very tired and needed a good scrub. In fact i refused to eat there, especially after picking up the sticky menu on our table. My husband however, had a tuna sandwich with side salad, minus any dressing and huge onion rings, any market gardener would have been proud of! The kitchen looked filthy too, with plates of food either already cooked or waiting to be cooked. Think this place needs a visit from food hygiene people.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geraldine w w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We visited Kettlewell during the Scarecrow Festival and stayed here overnight. The owners and their family were friendly and helpful. Service was fast and with a smile and we had our own key so could please ourselves when we came in. We stayed in the room with the half Tester bed with 2 quilts! a whirlpool bath and two fuffy white dressing gowns, Heaven. Television with plenty of videos and glasses of sherry and chocs. Breakfast - cereal, full cooked breakfast, toast, jam, marmalade, orange juice, tea and coffee. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners who were full of information about Kettlewell. Were even given our own "pass" to display in our car so did not have to pay to park. The only downside was that our room was above the Aga in the kitchen and rather warm but a bonus in the Winter. We felt at home here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brigantee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Arrived at said venue tired from ploughing our way through the first half of the TDF 2014 stage one. Greeted by Kevin the teenager with a tiresome grunt as he dragged himself around the tearoom! We rested our weary bones in the hope of sustenance served swiftly with a smile. Alas ney my fellow travelers; after ordering a Turkey sandwich (dry, meat stale bread), a bowl of soup (not the best), orange juice and cup of tea I respectfully requested a pint of cold tap water! only to be told that they do not do tap water only bottled! i thought, how do you flush the loo, do the washing up, mop the floor, cook, not to mention how on earth your B & B guests manage to shower in bottled water? must cost them the earth! In truth, I realise what the disgruntled youth meant! but once again just because they are out in the sticks it gives them licence to fleece Joe public and charge us £15. 75 for very sub standard and over priced food. seriously, not value for money. PS the said youth chased us out the door remonstrating we had not paid the correct amount? my friend looked at him in destain and quite rightly pointed out we had indeed left the correct amount; to which the youth failed to apologise, grunted and sloped off back in to the rip off cafe! pay attention boy!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kettlewell hotels
0.0 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kettlewell
223 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Blue Bell Inn
The Blue Bell Inn
#2 of 9 in Kettlewell
207 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Race Horses Hotel
The Race Horses Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kettlewell
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Zarina's Bed & Breakfast
Zarina's Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 9 in Kettlewell
97 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pennycroft Guest House
Pennycroft Guest House
#5 of 9 in Kettlewell
119 reviews
0.0 mi away
B&B Lychgate House
B&B Lychgate House
#8 of 9 in Kettlewell
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Tea Room B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Tea Room B&B

Address: Kettlewell, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 5QZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Kettlewell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Kettlewell
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jaynie and Michael Smith welcome you to the Cottage Tea Room Bed & Breakfast in Kettlewell, situated in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales. Where better to relax in a cafe, than in our beautiful countryside location? The Cottage Tea Room is positioned in the village of Kettlewell, in the centre of the Yorkshire Dales National Park. Kettlewell is the perfect location for your holiday or break away, whether you like to sit back and watch the world go by or be out on the fantastic dales way on a walking adventure. Here in Kettlewell we enjoy glorious views across the dale, both front and back. These views are further extended in our En-Suite rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Cottage Tea Room B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage Tea Room B&B Kettlewell, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing