We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“magical stay in york”

Review of Renar Cottage

Renar Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Renar Cottage
First floor lounge - no dogs allowed First floor lounge - access to rear courtyard and parking space
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
Renar Cottage
First floor lounge - no dogs allowed
First floor lounge - access to rear courtyard and parking space
First floor lounge door with access to patio and seating area
patio and seating area
patio area with access to steps to parking space for one vehicle
First floor double bedroom
First floor bedroom as a king size
First floor bedroom as a twin room
First floor bathroom
Ground Floor bedroom
Ground Floor Kitchen
Ground Floor Kitchen seating area
Ground floor sitting room - dogs allowed in this area.
Swings at Kettlewell Childrens play area
Kettlewell Childrens play area about 5 mins from Renar Cottage
Bright and sunny day at nearby Kilnsey Cragg
Reflections in the Wharfe on the Dales Way near Kettlewell
Bridge over the River Wharfe into Kettlewell
Panoramic view of Kettlewell
Inquisitive Sheep on a hillside above Kettlewell
Winter Scene below the summit of Great Whernside
Winter scene above Kettlewell
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kettlewell, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kathy C
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“magical stay in york”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 for a stay in September 2013

I traveled to the Dales with my father and sisters and needed a house that would accommodate 4. Renar cottage was perfect. The house is cozy and tastefully decorated . Each room is so inviting, it made it hard to want to leave. We were met by Janet and her husband and a wonderful brunch spread with a homemade cake. The town of Kettlewell is beautiful with foot paths that take you up a hill that overlooks the area. If you are looking for a picture perfect vacation spot, I would highly recommend Renar Cottage. We all loved our stay there and if we ever get back to the area, Renar cottage is where we will be staying. Thank you Janet for making our Englad vacation the best ever.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the overall feel of the house, it felt like home
Liked least: no wifi
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate B
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simply perfect weekend had at Renar Cottage!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Tucked away in the beautiful village of Kettlewell, Renar Cottage has the perfect location for those wanting a city getaway!

5 friends and I have just returned from a 3 night stay over the bank holiday weekend to celebrate our joint 30th birthdays. 3 nights was not enough time for us!! Despite the village being quite remote, there is so much to do. We managed to fit in an 8 mile hike (with a 1 mile steep incline to kick start us directly behind the cottage), a 3 pub bar crawl (!) and some well earned R&R in front of the log fire with a selection of board games and DVD's courtesy of Renar Cottage!

The cottage is simply beautiful and it has everything you could possibly need. We stayed in and took it in turns to cook each night. The living room upstairs is so cozy and we all felt instantly at home.

I can't recommend the cottage enough! We plan to return later in the year. We were lucky enough to experience the May bank holiday festivities including Morris dancers and the annual duck race (sadly we didn't win!). I suspect that this buzzing little village has much more to offer throughout the year - we just felt too content to leave that homely living room to explore more!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The living room!!
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhian M
Wrexham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Superb, cosy, well equipped cottage - will be back next year!!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The minute we arrived at Renar Cottage we fell in love with the place. The location is great, just a 3 minute walk to the centre of Kettlewell, which is the most amazing village in all of the Yorkshire Dales. The cottage is incredibly welcoming and comfortable and a real home from home. The kitchen is equipped with pretty much everything you need, and there was also a bottle of wine waiting for us on our arrival! The children absolutely loved the quirky 2 sitting rooms, one upstairs and one down (although they did try to claim one as a child only zone!). The beds were comfortable and having linen and towels provided meant a lot less packing to be done. The views from upstairs were gorgeous, and I felt right at home.
Unfortunately, our son broke his leg shortly before our visit, so our plans to walk the Dalesway path and do some cycling went out of the window, but it gives us a good excuse to come again, which we definitely will do. Thank you Janet for a wonderful weekend to celebrate Mr M's 40th birthday, we will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homely feel, very well equipped and spotlessly clean
Liked least: Nothing!!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky T
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfectly cosy Easter retreat!”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Enjoyed a wonderful Easter weekend with friends in this lovely cottage in Kettlewell. The cottage is fully equipped with everything you could need for a self catering property and very clean. The location is stunning. Kettlewell, despite being very remote, has everything you could need for a relaxing holiday. We would recommend the waterfall walk over in Ingleton to anyone staying in this part of the world - well worth the short drive!

Finally, Janet was a pleasure to book with. She was incredibly helpful and quick to respond to any queries I had.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen_wil...
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“ANOTHER EXCELLENT STAY”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

This was our second stary at Renar Cottage and hopefully not our last. Excellent cottage with great facilities. Very clean and well thought out at a very reasonable price. Everything you need for a weekend away. Nice pubs within walking distance. Great walks on the door step, no need to drive once you arrive.
Thanks again and we will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim S
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Cosy country cottage in the dales”
Reviewed 26 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Spent a lovely 4 nights in this well equipped, warm and comfortable cottage in the lovely kettlewell village, ideally situated for short or longer walks in the dales or just around kettlewell.
Lovely views from the upper sitting room and bedrooms of the fells.
Our children came to visit for some of the time and it provided the perfect setting for this get together and for being able to have space to do our own activities if required.
Lovely kitchen and we had such fun sharing memories of there childhood holidays in this area.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Safari131
Wigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing weekend in a lovely cottage”
Reviewed 10 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Lovely cozy cottage with everything you need for a comfortable stay. The owners have put a lot of effort into making this somewhere you will want to come back to. Open fire was great after a day spent walking and exploring what Kettlewell has to offer. The food in the Blue Bell was really good and the staff were very welcoming. We will definitely be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Walking from the door
Liked least: Small dinig table could be an issue for large groups
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$115
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing