We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tea Room”

The Cottage Tea Room
Restaurant details
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tea Room”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Friendly and helpful service, think this is family run?? At first thought formal as waited table, but this turned into casual service at the table by various staff (family??) Did not have decaffienated tea! Cream portion for cream tea very generous. Sat outside in the sun, nice location in the village.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Doranna776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    14
    12
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Reasonable place. Old fashioned type of establishment. Punt out the usual teas and coffees. Ice cream too. Decent toilets. Worth a stop. Lovely village

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BurmeseDaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
2,308 reviews
1,179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 969 helpful votes
“Very much below par. Try elsewhere.”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We parked in the car park opposite and decided to come in here for a change. The decor is very dated and not very clean but we just wanted a drink and to move on. The first thing I saw on the menu is that they do not provide tap water which I often like with my coffee so this did not bode well. We ordered 2 cafetieres of coffee, 2 hot chocolates and 1 piece of curd tart. The order came quickly but was slammed down on the table in a most unfriendly way. I noticed one of the mugs was chipped / dirty but we chose not to say anything. The coffee was actually quite good but the curd tart was very average and not home made. The hot chocolate however tasted as though it was made from powdered chocolate and water as opposed to milk which is not what you would expect. This place has little to redeem itself nd it is unusual to find such a poor tea room. There are a number of others within 3 minutes walk so try one of them (Zarina's used to be ok).

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sheepygold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“overpriced instant coffee and no tap water for thirsty cyclists.”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This cafe was the worst I've been to. We were in the middle of a long bike ride and wanted refreshment, but was rudely told we were not allowed tap water. When I asked why not, I received a curt reply 'Because we don't'. The coffee cups were tiny so we left thirsty. Granted she conceded to fill our water bottles. The toasted teacake was average but nothing special.
The place was tatty, and in need of a good clean. The carpet was dirty, with dog hairs, and the whole place needs a good refurbishment.
I would never go back there and would highly recommend people not to visit. The menu was boring and overpriced for what it was. Such a shame in such a beautiful location, this cafe could be amazing with the right menu, decor, approach and quality of service.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Isobel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull,England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“omg-they might want tap water!!”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

looked like a nice, quaint place to get refreshments after a walk - but take heed - don't dare to ask for tap water. You are advised about this several times on the menu in red print. For God sake. When people have been walking, cycling etc. water is a much needed refreshment and thirst quenched, it makes the food more enjoyable. In fact I think it makes it more likely that you will order more. Providing bottled water in plastic bottles is hardly environmentally friendly for dales folk - surely? Waiting staff are efficient but miserable - perhaps wary of being asked for water! Food is quite pricey too. My advice would be not to bother going there.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cottage Tea Room also viewed

Kettlewell, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Kettlewell, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Kettlewell, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Kettlewell, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Litton, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Grassington, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to The Cottage Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing