We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”
Review of Hotel Frontera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Frontera
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ocotal
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Although currently undergoing massive remodeling, the staff at Frontera are terrific, the location is extremely convenient for travelers headed toward the border, and the prices are amazing. Not long on amenities in the rooms, the property does offer a restaurant, bar, and pool, along with a strong security presence.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben_Malisow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 18 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

It's not the best hotel, at least for sleep not! The room were clean, but my bed was like a rock... I don't recommend this hotel, it doesn't even have connector to charge your cell phone or anything. You should look for another hotel if you want to sleep better at ocotal, Nicaragua.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Angel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed 5 nights at La Frontera this summer. Room was clean,spacious,hot water,wifi. Very friendly staff. This is a truly wonderful place.Clean swimming pool. When we come back to Nicaragua we will surely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

You wouldn't recognize Hotel Frontera that easy, it is a little bit at the back of the Panamericana. The general areas like reception, restaurant, pool, bar, rooftop terrace are excellent and first class constructions, tasteful. The pool is huge for Nicaraguan hotel standards. The breakfast is not included in the rate but of good quality. The rooms are just okay and overpriced for old furniture, noisy aircon (90USD rack rate, 76USD with discount). If the rooms would be renovated, this hotel would get a rating of 5 and be a perfect place for a few days to dos ome tours in the region of Las Segovias.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JohnLindhout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

The rooms are clean, the people are friendly, you get a hot shower, and they provide free wifi. It looks like they're doing some renovations/expansion so I'm looking forward to going back. If you want a great (and very sweet) cup of coffee, walk across the street in the morning to the little walk-up shop right across the street. They also have great pastelitos.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CoffeeBuyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed here during our recent visit to the Somoto Canyon. We had a wonderful time. The staff were very friendly. Excellent value for our money! :)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LigiaMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Friendly staff, nice swimming pool, free wifi; yet $90 a night for a triple bedroom, not including breakfast, is well over-priced. By comparison, in Managua, we payed $80 a night and got a much more comfortable room and breakfast was included.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dupa_1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hotel Frontera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Frontera

Address: Km. 226 Panamerican Highway, adjacent to Shell Ramos, Ocotal, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Nueva Segovia Department > Ocotal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ocotal
Price Range: £19 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Frontera is located in the city of Ocotal, 226 km from the capital city of Managua in the province of Nueva Segovia and just 25 miles from "Las Manos" border with Honduras. The mountains of this region, pleasant climate and warm reception of our staff will make your visit to Nueva Segovia memorable. We look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Frontera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing