We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mondi-Holiday Seeblickhotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grundlsee
Certificate of Excellence
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great resort”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We had a great room only spoilt by noisey neighbours the resort moved us into the main building. The new room had stunning views very spacious. We could not fault the speed at which the resort rectified our problem. We had a great holiday and would return

Room Tip: If you experience any problems speak to reception who were extremely helpful. If you can pay extra f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mondigrundlsee, Hotel at Mondi-Holiday Seeblickhotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback!
Your MONDI-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    97
    33
    8
    3
See reviews for
81
105
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

A quality resort with all the usual features; pool, sauna, massage etc. We were there for 6 days, four of which it was raining. Made little difference since the view was always different each day and lots to do.

We had a studio which was larger than a normal hotel room and had a mini kitchen.it also has a view of the lake and the nearby mountains which you saw every morning - beautiful. The was a sort of washroom available but it was often fully utilised.


Very good restaurant on site with a different buffet each day, the Rustige Ankor at the end of the lake being another favourite. In the nearby town was the finest Kur cafe you will find; we "cured" ourselves to health each day with breakfast for 6 euros.. It was like a folk lore scene with everyone either wearing lederhosen or dirndles; it was fantastic and on the last day during breakfast there was a mini orchestra playing at 10 am including a harpist.

Places to visit are Hallstadt, a fantastic little town, Bad Ischl, the home of the Austrian Emperor and also the place when the first World war started ie between Serbia and Austria plus the nearby salt mines.

Room Tip: A view of the lake is best but these usually cost an extra 35 Euros.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ronn52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mondigrundlsee, Hotel at Mondi-Holiday Seeblickhotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Hello from Grundlsee,
thank you very much for taking the time for a feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We had a very spacious room with a balcony in building 5. Our room had breathtaking mountains and partial lake view. The rooms are very clean, the beds are comfortable and the service... they went way above and beyond to make our stay unforgettable.
Very good breakfasts with many options to choose from both for adults and children were well worth the price (14 Euro for an adult, children at no charge).
Internet is not free - 2 Euro per hour, with maximum of 5 Euro per day.
The swimming pool invites you to relax - with jacuzzi jets and large windows to fully enjoy the view. But with so many options to explore nearby who can find enough time for it? After one week we wished we could stay for another.
We would definitely return one day to this beautiful and welcoming place.

Room Tip: Choose lake or mountains view, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mondigrundlsee, Hotel at Mondi-Holiday Seeblickhotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Hello from Grundlsee,
thank you very much for your kind feedback.
Your MONDI-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This resort sits on a hill overlooking a small alpine lake. The view is breathtaking but you must have a lake-view room to enjoy that. Otherwise, you may well see lots of parked cars on spaces reserved for Mondi's elite members. We called ahead and requested an upgrade to a lake view in our RCI unit and were charged 35 Euros extra, an amount we gladly paid to be able to watch the ever-changing colors of the lake and the sky. We did not realize before our arrival that the lake, though beautiful to watch, is not accessible at the bottom of the hill; the little beach there belongs to the house immediately adjacent to the lake. The Mondi has a boat house there as well, but the water surrounding it was visited by no fewer then 8 dogs within the first half hour we were there, so we didn't dare go into that water. So where to swim? You can walk further down to the public beach in the village but it has no shade and the water is also not very clean. Fortunately we had rented a car and were able to take the small road along the 4-mile long lake, dotted with narrow strips of beach all along the lake. The further away you get from the Mondi, the cleaner the water and the fewer the number of people crowding the small beaches. Be aware, though, that the beaches are VERY rocky and you really need waterproof shoes to walk into the water. Overall, a car is absolutely essential, not only to enjoy the Grundlsee itself but also the many surrounding little alpine villages and lakes. Hallstatt, for example, is an absolute must-see and only a 20-minute drive away. This village was reproduced in China, is a world heritage site, and has ample numbers of Chinese visitors wishing to see the original Hallstatt village. When you get back to the Mondi from your trips you will encounter another problem, though: The parking spaces are located on three layered terraces along the steep road up the hill to the resort. The later you arrive back at the hotel, the scarcer available spaces and the further down the hill you have to park. For guests with mobility issues this is very difficult. There were only two handicapped parking spaces near the hotel. The resort rents out 10 parking spaces in an enclosed area next to the hotel at a cost of 10 Euros/day. Had we known, we would have reserved one of these spaces before arrival to avoid the long walk up the hill from the regular parking area. The restaurant serves excellent breakfasts but lunch and dinner meals are very average. What makes up for the mediocre food, however, is the sweeping view and the truly wonderful service. In fact, what makes the Mondi Grundlsee the most memorable (besides the view) is the staff: always helpful, professional and very, very nice.

Room Tip: If you want to enjoy the lake view from your room or apartment, call ahead and pay the extra 35 Euro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Angkor2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mondigrundlsee, Hotel at Mondi-Holiday Seeblickhotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Hello from Grundlsee,
thank you very much for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This resort hotel is opposite to Grundlsee (a village on the banks of a lake between two mountains of the Alps).
The rooms are well equipped, spacious and clean. You is able to cook if you want because there is everything. The hotel restaurant has good dining options and a hearty breakfast. The inhouse swimming pool is relaxing.
If you want a quiet stay in a setting of incomparable beauty, look for this hotel. It's what I do on my next visit to this place.
My kids loved the place because of the facilities for children (toys and games, zip line, park, etc.). I left there mesmerized by the beauty of the place.
The last drawback was the parking (too far from rooms). Maybe due to high occupancy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RT_sam_RT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mondigrundlsee, Hotel at Mondi-Holiday Seeblickhotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Hello from Grundlsee,
thank you very much for your kind feedback.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Your MONDI-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerusalem
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

the landscapes are like a postcard , the appartment very confortable, nice indoor swiming pool, very close to two beautiful villages, close to the lake , we enjoy very much our 7 days stay, traveling a lot in the area/

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaimitoJerusalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mondigrundlsee, Hotel at Mondi-Holiday Seeblickhotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time for a feedback.
Best regards from Grundlsee

Your MONDI-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaworthy, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We have not had a holiday like this before, so were a little apprehensive. We needn't have been, the location is something else.
There is plenty for the independent minded to do and see. We hiked mountains, hired a pedlo, the electric car 'Twizy' the 3 x lake trip and cycled.
There is no take aways, so you need to eat at Mondi or elsewhere or you can always cook in the very limited apartment kitchen.
We are vegetarians and when we asked what Mondi could offer us, nobody could offer us any kind of menu or even an idea of what we could get, so we can't offer any comments on the food in the hotel.
The bed was very comfortable, we slept well and the apartment was very clean. The main failing for a self catering apartment was the kitchen facilities. A microwave with a grill would be very useful.
All the staff we came into contact with were very friendly, couldn't do enough for you and all spoke English, which was helpful.
We arrived just at the start of a heatwave that was over 30 degrees for the duration of our stay. It was great, but was 10 degrees above average, so we were very lucky.
We drove from Devon to Grundlsee so we had our own car and it is needed for sure.
Trips I would recommend that you consider are:
Dachstein icecave and 5 fingers, Bad Ischl, Prugg medieval village, 3 x lake boat trip.
We booked the apartment via RCI exchange.

Room Tip: The extra for lake view was worth it for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonAddick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mondigrundlsee, Hotel at Mondi-Holiday Seeblickhotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Hello from Grundlsee,
thank you very much for your detailed feedback.
Kind regards
Your MONDI-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grundlsee
3.0 mi away
Hotel Seevilla
Hotel Seevilla
#1 of 3 in Altaussee
146 reviews
9.2 mi away
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
#2 of 4 in Hallstatt
593 reviews
2.2 mi away
SPA Hotel Erzherzog Johann
SPA Hotel Erzherzog Johann
#2 of 2 in Bad Aussee
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Resort Obertraun
Resort Obertraun
#2 of 4 in Obertraun
130 reviews
3.2 mi away
G'sund & Natur Hotel DIE WASNERIN
9.2 mi away
Seehotel Gruener Baum
Seehotel Gruener Baum
#1 of 4 in Hallstatt
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mondi-Holiday Seeblickhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondi-Holiday Seeblickhotel

Property: Mondi-Holiday Seeblickhotel
Address: Archkogl 31, Grundlsee 8993, Austria
Region: Austria > Styria > Grundlsee
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grundlsee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mondi-Holiday Seeblickhotel 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MONDI-HOLIDAY Seeblickhotel Grundlsee is situated in an ideal spot - on a hill at the head of Lake Grundlsee. Guests can enjoy the breathtaking view of the Lake and the surrounding mountains.Possibilities for sport- , adventure, ski - and leisure activities, a restaurant and spacious panorama wellness area await you; this is a fantastic holiday residence no matter what the season. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mondi-Holiday Seeblickhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondi-Holiday Grundlsee Hotel Grundlsee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing