We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best day trips ever”

South African Adventures
Ranked #291 of 483 Outdoor Activities in Cape Town
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: South African Adventures are an established Tour Operator based in Cape Town, South Africa, that would like to share this Beautiful country with you. We offer tailor made Itineraries, adventures & Day Tours of Cape Town & up the Garden Route or choose one of our many Tours and Adventures listed on our website. We Offers Day Tours, Shark Cage Diving, Boat Based Whale Watching in Hermanus, Safaris
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Baby buggy parking, Lockers / storage, Activities for older children
Reviewed 12 September 2017

My family and I had a great time exploring Hermanus with Shane !

He made us discover authentic places and stopped us for some awesome points of views and to try some food along the way. We could ask all the question we wanted and his english was very easy to understand for us (we are french).

We had such a great time that we decided to book a wineland day tour and it was a perfect day.

I can only recommand Shane and South African adventure.

The only negative point is that, at the end of the day, you will feel like leaving an old friend behind...

Thank aureliebonal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane P, Owner at South African Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear Aurelie

Thank yo sooo much for such a great review. It is much appreciated!! You are too kind. Oui!

It was my pleasure to have take you and your family around Hermanus and the Cape Winelands area. I thoroughly enjoyed beIing with you and your family. I had such a great time myself. Thank you and your family for giving South African Adventures the opportunity to take you and your family to see the beautiful Cape. Oui-Oui ;)

We glad your are safe and sound at home and settled back into things. We hope that you and your extended family will come visit us here in South Africa one day again. Oui-Oui ;)

We have certainly gained more friends and hopefully me and my wife can come visit you and your family in France one day when I am in Wales next year. I look forward to having some Frogs Legs (Oui-Oui! ) and Braaiing for you and your Family. Something we just couldnt arrange while you were here. Pitty:( Anyway, there is always a next time. Oui!

All the best and take care. Please send our regards back to Fred and your Mom and Dad. Oui-Oui :))

Have a great day.

Kind Regards
Shane
South African Adventures
Oui-Oui ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

4 - 8 of 8 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2016

After causally meeting Shane in South Africa and finding out he was a guide, my girlfriend and I hired him to show us the sights for the next two days. It was like having an old friend show us their local town - it was fantastic and there is no way I could possibly recommend South African Adventures more than I do. We laughed for two days as we explored the area's highlights and little known secret gems. A quick breakfast stop was at one of his favorite bakeries that had pastries I will never forget and lunch supplied from one of the great fish and chip shops on the planet served on a picnic bench on a secluded park with a view of the Ocean worthy of a postcard. I'm the type of tourist that normally books with a standard group tour. Shane has changed that about me. I will now seek out private guides who can give me that personal touch and local knowledge - but I can never imagine finding another Shane. He was the absolute best :)

Thank ForeverPacking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane P, Owner at South African Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017

Dear Shari

I would like to thank you for such an awesome time. We laughed a lot. We loved your stories of your vast travels all over the world. We learnt so much from your experiences all over the world. It was a great pleasure showing you Cape Town and the surrounding areas. I am glad you enjoyed yourself and hopefully we see you and your family next time in South Africa. You are now our friend and we look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you so much for the above review. Have a great day and may your adventures continue!!

Kind Regards
Shane
South African Adventures

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

We had the most amazing day being shown around by Shane. His huge knowledge of the area enabled us to relax & enjoy the most incredible views whilst he shared with us the history etc about the various places. Never would we have seen so much if we had done this on or own without his expertise & guidance. Some friends also used his company for shark diving & had the same praise. Have no doubt whatever you want to do in the Cape area you will be dealt with in a very professional & friendly manner.

Thank Farchie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane P, Owner at South African Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2016

Dear Nigel and Gill Batten

Thank you for the kind words. It was just as fun for me too. Had a great time taking you guys around the Cape Peninsula. Was an awesome day.

All the best for Christmas and a Happy New Year.

Kind Regards
Shane
South African Adventures

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

After a huge debacle involving flights, my partner & I were in Cape Town wanting to drive to Gansbaii to go shark diving and on a whale tour. We had booked a hire car but our luggage got lost in Nairobi, which had my drivers licence in!

We found Shane through our hotel booked as a taxi & we got a whole lot more for our money.

He picked us up & we took the Garden Route to Hermanus stopping off for a Steers with an amazing view with an outlandish visitor before stopping off to see the penguins at Betty's Bay. (See below)

Due to bad weather, our whale watching tour was cancelled but fortunately, Shane was able to book us on to a morning shark dive in Gansbaii, get us transported to Hermanus & put on a trip where we had the opportunity to kayak with whales.

Without his excellent local knowledge & apparent vast amount of contacts, our trip to SA would have been a whole lot less enjoyable & memorable.

I would recommend to anyone to use Shane and his company and take the chance to meet such a passionate & likeable man, who really loves his country (and food)! Just don't mention the rugby!!

Tom & Gilly

Thank tombM7977XG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane P, Owner at South African Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2016

Dear Tom & Gilly

Thank you for the kind words. It was a great time had by all. I had a blast showing you the sites on our way to Hermanus. Letting you experience some of the S.A quezine. That being the best burger in Town from Steers and then sharing it with a Baboon sitting right next to the car window as he sat the all proud, with the nether regions on full display lol. Glad I could assist with organizing your Shark Cage Diving trip. Glad you got onto the earlier trip so you can come Sea Kayaking after. The Sea Kayaking trip was awesome. Hope you guys come back and join us for some more Adventures. All the best and take care. Shane - South African Adventures

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane P, Owner at South African Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed South African Adventures also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Table Mountain National Park, Cape Town
 
Table Mountain National Park, Cape Town
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 

Been to South African Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing